Thread: rockmount 2 up

rockmount 2 up

against waherfur

fcuking brilliant 15minutes go

stephen hurley and pat keane with the goals
    Last edited by thecorner; 10/09/2004 at 8:06 PM.

1-2 now.

Waaherfurh have had 2 disallowed.

EDIT : 2-2

EDIT 2: Replay Wednesday night @ the Cross. I think Rockmount had a goal disallowed in injury time.

Can a mod move this to General???
    Last edited by Gary; 10/09/2004 at 8:28 PM.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary
    Can a mod move this to General???
    I reckon it's grand here, Rockmount are from Cork afterall and City fans would be taking an interest in their progress.

It's a great result for Rockmount and by the sounds of it they were unlucky not to have won the game. However, I've got a feeling that they missed their chance tonight and that the sheepshaggers will beat them well on Wednesday. Still, hopefully they'll get a good crowd at the Cross and give it their best shot.
    Champions!

144 Posts
    Was listening to it on Radio 1. Great game.
    Rockmount had 2 goals disallowed by the Dublin referee.
    The first goal was for hand ball when they were 2 up and the second one was in the 48th minute of the 2nd half just before he blew up.

Fierce unlucky not to win it, heres hopin they do them at the Cross.

Playing at the Cross?

I thought they wanted to play it at Whitechurch if they got a home draw.
    The Cross will be like an away fixture for them.
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

43 Posts
    We would deffo want to play at home, but not allowed by the powers that be. Security reasons and all that.

Just feeling raped this morning, a disgusting display by a brutal ref.

Rockmount did Cork proud, fair play to them. Competed very very well, at no time came under serious pressure, if the ref has slept a decent night last night then he is the sick creep I had him down for.

Heads held high for the boys, Weds prob a bridge too far, but we'll see.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    I thought they wanted to play it at Whitechurch if they got a home draw.
    The Cross will be like an away fixture for them.
    I'd imagine the lack of floodlighting woud be a factor as well as they can make tidy little sum by playing it at the Cross.

As above, last night was probably the big chance. Waaherfurh are no bad side, and wont make the same mistakes twice. No fault to Rockmount though. At least one Cork team did well in this years cup!!!
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

30 Posts
    Well lads the romance of the Cup....after beating Shelbourne 3-1 last week you get this result. It was a typical Cup game and as you all know all League form goes out the window. The conditions on the night suited Rockmount, howling wind and rain, they played a very physical approach, well marshalled, 10 men behind the ball and they hit us on the break twice to go two up before we hit back.

I think Rockmount blew their chance last night and should have wrapped it up. Agree the ref was woeful, to both sides.

Pscycholigically, we have them and I believe have expended everything.

Roll on Wednesday night.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    Well lads the romance of the Cup....after beating Shelbourne 3-1 last week you get this result. It was a typical Cup game and as you all know all League form goes out the window. The conditions on the night suited Rockmount, howling wind and rain, they played a very physical approach, well marshalled, 10 men behind the ball and they hit us on the break twice to go two up before we hit back.

I think Rockmount blew their chance last night and should have wrapped it up. Agree the ref was woeful, to both sides.

Pscycholigically, we have them and I believe have expended everything.

Roll on Wednesday night.

That's it, get nice and cocky again!!! Physical approach? You must be joking. Completely outplayed ya for the last ten in 1st half and first 20 mins of the 2nd. Talk about arrogance. Yeah, we had had a man hauled down clean through on goal and 2 disallowed for no reason, yee had a couple of corner appeals turned down. Shockin ref to the minnow only.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

I was at the game last night, Rockmount were excellent, they were the better team, fair enough for the first goal to be disallowed but the second goal into the last minute of injury time should not have been, it was disallowed because the ref said Pat Keane pushed, there was no such thing happened

Waterford only scored once, it was Paul O'Brien who scored an og, which was no fault either, I'm proud out of the lads and of the performance they put on last night, they should now be qualified for the Semi's, but that can be done on Wednesday night, I don't think anyone had any confidense of Rockmount winning last night but they've proved everyone wrong with their play and have shocked a whole Waterford team

Never be cocky when it comes to a Cork team, we're full of suprises Come on the Mount, I hope we'll have all your support Wednesday night behind the lads and give them the support they truely deserve after last nights game

Quote Originally Posted by pope john paul

BRING BACK JIMMY MCGEOUGH

Fat chance of that happening as hes with the 'mighty' Larne in the Crappy Irish League.

Come on Rockmount, Come on Athlone, Come on UCD
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach