Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Final League Fixtures 26/10

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts

Final League Fixtures 26/10

Shamrock Rovers one up on Sligo already, Twigg with a rather bizarre/excellent rebound effort. Waterford get an early goal against Longford, hard to see Longford getting back into it now.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Shamrock Rovers one up on Sligo already, Twigg with a rather bizarre/excellent rebound effort. Waterford get an early goal against Longford, hard to see Longford getting back into it now.

Rogers could have done better... I think he might just have got confused about where the ball went.

130 Posts
    Rovers fans acting the maggot.

583 Posts
    No guard of honour from Shams either. I know they don't HAVE to, but it's still a nice thing to do.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Rovers fans acting the maggot.
    Window smashed in Mooneys Pub apparently

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    No guard of honour from Shams either. I know they don't HAVE to, but it's still a nice thing to do.
    Was it done for them the last two seasons?

583 Posts
    No idea. Should have been. Dundalk, Drogheda winning too. Doesn't look like Shams will be getting an Europa spot tonight.

Classy as always Shams......

172 Posts
    Fair play to Drogs. Clearly the 2nd best team in the league and well worthy of all the praise.
    Mick Cooke should win Manager of the Year for his efforts, closely followed by Barraclough.

and again, well done to Sligo. fully deserving of the League this year.

And goodbye to the leagues best marksman. when will we see his likes again.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

131 Posts
    Drogs were excellent against Bohs - the best I've seen them play all season. Passed the ball sweetly at times - the two first half goals was outstanding. And missing two of their best players on the night - Fabio and Gavin Brennan.
    I also noticed the speaker system employed at Dalymount was 'Bose'. Very fitting.

I remember when we used to get a thrill out of pointless victories when the honours had already been decided.
    The only thing Shams did to "spoil our party" was break in the windows of the Local pub for reasons best known to themselves.
    The Hoops are Having a Party: The Leinster Senior Cup.

126 Posts
    We played OK last night, but our problem all season has been our lack of threat up front. Some nice build up play but never looked like troubling Clarke (?) in the Pats goal really.

Richmond Park still my favourite away ground to visit in Dublin, McDowell's is great for a few pints even if it's looking pretty shabby (sort of has a strange charm), generally a decent bunch of core supporters and away fans get a good view from the stand, much better than being stuck in the Des Kelly and less likely to catch tetanus taking a p*ss than in Tolka Park.

Can't believe we managed to get a Setanta Cup spot, expected Shels to beat UCD. But looking forward to being back in that competition.

As regards Drogs, I find it funny that they finished second and didn't have a single player in the PFAI team of the year. They've been overlooked all year. I hate the club but credit where it's due!
    Last edited by adamd164; 27/10/2012 at 3:37 PM.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Straightstory View Post
    Drogs were excellent against Bohs - the best I've seen them play all season. Passed the ball sweetly at times - the two first half goals was outstanding. And missing two of their best players on the night - Fabio and Gavin Brennan.
    I also noticed the speaker system employed at Dalymount was 'Bose'. Very fitting.

Yep, performance of the season against us from Drogs. They were applauded off the pitch by the Bohs fans at the end. Great crowd. looked more like 2,000 than 1600.

Quote Originally Posted by adamd164 View Post

As regards Drogs, I find it funny that they finished second and didn't have a single player in the PFAI team of the year. They've been overlooked all year. I hate the club but credit where it's due!
    Just as a matter of interest why do you hate Drogheda United? I have nothing but admiration for what they have achieved when it looked like they'd be back in the doldrums for years after their previous financial failures allied to the inability to get their new ground. About 16/18 months ago they were being described by many as the worst team to ever play in the Premier (GUFC comfortably won that award) but now they have proven everyone wrong and held off the two Dublin sides for 2nd as well as winning the League Cup and were more than a little unlucky in the cup.

The only criticism I'd have is that the fans haven't given them the backing they deserve in terms of numbers for most matches but then again Drogheda don't have a huge area around them to build a supporter base.

I'd fear they might lose the likes of Sava, Brennans etc. and may be back towards mid-table next year but Drogheda are back and imo its a good news story for the league.

447 Posts

447 Posts
    but we don't really care for any other LOI clubs.

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter
    This is top level professional sport. Sligo didn't offer us guards of honour at the 2010 Cup Final, which was the first game we played after winning the league then, and we didn't complain about it.

Different competetion. Why would we?
    Who's complaining? Nobody around here could care less.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    but we don't really care for any other LOI clubs.

Except Harps, everyone loves Harps. We never beat anyone......

96 Posts
    Shamrock Rovers supporters disgraced themselves yet again, after one branch of the Travelling community launched a planned and unprovoked attack on Mooney's Pub and then ran, their crowd inside the pub instead of hanging their heads in shame started to chant some vileness or other, who ever knew there was such minks.

67 Posts
    You seem surprised it happened?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast