Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Spain V Republic of Ireland - Thursday, 14th June 2012 - Euro 2012 Group C

Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    ... and kick the living daylights out of them. Dosent matter what strikers we play cause if youre not in the game you cant win it. Play 6 in the middle like them and turn it into a war. They wont like it and if you sneek a goal, you sneek a goal.
    Could work. You could call that the "Mick the Bull" approach to beating Spain.

"Ye line up 6 mad Irish Fella's against 6 Feckin Spanish Quares and ye bate the livin sh*te outta dem while singin Rebel songs at the top of their voice!!!"
    Quoting years at random since 1975

672 Posts
    The Cox start is a bit mystifying but we know he doesn't play Long/Keane together and Trap must see Walters as having better impact off the bench.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Lads a bit off topic but does anyone know if we're in Green strip or White strip tonight? Cheers

Quote Originally Posted by keenanboy View Post
    Lads a bit off topic but does anyone know if we're in Green strip or White strip tonight? Cheers
    we're the nominal away side so we'll likely be in all white or maybe have green shorts
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Cheers for that. Pub time, my nerves have gone.

Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaFox View Post
    Cox has mentality. We watch him at West Brom. We watch. He is strong. We cannot change the system. Maybe in friendlies, we try Cox behind the striker, like Totti, but competitive games, it is important not to change.
    Cox haz men-tal-it-eee.

130 Posts
    Nearly sure we are in green but could be wrong. I know it was meant to be white as we are away team but think we are still allowed wear green as no clash.

About to make my way to stadium now. Its been raining with the last hour, a very Irish day. Everything points to a Spain win and I'm going with hope rather than optimism. Last time i felt like this going to a game was before the playoff in paris and look at our performance that night! We need a lot of luck but I think we are due some after Sunday. I ask that we start well, keep it tight and get to half time at least nil nil. Let's be in this game right to the final whistle this time.

Great support out here and although there is a decent Spanish contingent, we vastly outnumber them and this will be like a home game support wise. Haven't heard about the suggested Cox change, would be surprised and prefer to see Walters but let's wait and see. Come on Ireland, let's get a point out of this game tonight and keep us in it for next Monday.

2,631 Posts
    I heard a rumor that Trap likes Cox in the hole...

(well someone had to!)

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shakermaker1982 View Post
    Cox has personality
    It's the European Championships, not Britain's Got Talent.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Do we have a player called Towell?

Apparently trap was overheard saying "I think we shoudl throw in the Towell"

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Nearly sure we are in green but could be wrong. .
    I thought that was the Italy game where again we're the nominal away team but for some reason we're gettin to wear green
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Every inch of sanity and logic in me is saying we're going to get hammered but there's always that sliver of hope that I'm clinging to!

As Robbie says it's 11 v 11 for 90 minutes COYBIG

130 Posts
    cox will start through the middle but lean to the left

20 Posts
    Let's give it a proper go lads!
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

48 Posts
    I like how everybody is being realistic/borderline pessimistic. Usually we are all wrong in our pre-match sentiments, so maybe that means we are in for a great win!

The Cox thing is odd if true but I guess it's not the time for questioning things. COYBIG!

Can't wait for this game, stuck in work, just want to go to the pub now!

107 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Do we have a player called Towell?

Apparently trap was overheard saying "I think we shoudl throw in the Towell"
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richie_Towell

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    Torres starts?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

162 Posts
    Given, O’Shea, St.Ledger, Dunne, Ward, Duff, Andrews, Whelan, McGeady, Cox and Keane
    Casillas; Arbeloa, Ramos, Pique, Alba; Alonso, Busquets; Silva, Xavi, Iniesta; Torres

214 Posts
    Cox & Keane start. Does that mean we won't be lumping it long?

Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast