Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Cycling 2012

1,524 Posts
    Roche seems to feel good about his Tour build-up: http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/12...oNation.com%29

Has been doing wind tunnel work to improve his TTs, let's hope it pays off.

2,696 Posts
    Does anyone think TTs should play a role in major tours? I suppose they break the day in / day out regularity of stage races, give TT specialists something to shoot for rather than just the sprinters or climbers, they create a chance to split the riders and they're entertaining. Despite all that I just don't think they really fit.

For what it's worth, I think ITT's should be there. Grand Tour winners should be an alrounder rather than a specialist climber or specialist TTer. I also think the grand tours should include stages like the roubaix ones a few years ago, or the puncheur suited stages of last year, and stages where the wind can rip the race apart.

I'd more question the Team Time Trials to be honest, as I feel it leads to a more focussed team make up rather than all round team make up, and can distort the individual standings a bit much for my liking (even though my favourite team is good at them!).

Agree with Macy. ITTs definitely have a place. It's not like a dominant TTer has had a shot at a grand tour since Indurain (maybe Armstrong).

Need to be an all rounder these days

1,524 Posts
    Decent start in Switzerland for Roche.. 25th in prologue and 6th on mountaintop finish. 5th overall currently. A good indication of decent form ahead of the Tour, let's hope he can keep it going.

Olympic team was selected. Martin, Roche and David McCann. Cycling Ireland's points system was ridiculous and meant Brammeier missed out. He's appealing. Hopefully they re-consider (if unlikely)

1,524 Posts
    I like Peter Sagan- but this is getting boring. 3 stages in four days in Switzerland. Roche still 5th overall.

Martin still upbeat with just having finished Dauphine.

Armstrong charged by USADA. Not just a simple doping charge either. http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/arms...oping-by-usada

Kimmage welcomes it http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/12...the-truth.aspx

Also optics bad for Contador in terms of dot joining.

2,696 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Also optics bad for Contador in terms of dot joining.
    What are the dots? Same doctors / team mnager (Bruyneel)?

2,696 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    What are the dots? Same doctors / team mnager (Bruyneel)?
    One of the trainers listed was also his personal trainer for a period.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    425 Posts
    I see Brammeier won the national championship. What's the story with the apparent dislike for him? Even on the article I read the first comment was by someone saying they can't take to him and they were dissappointed that he won. Can any of you dedicated cycling fans shine any light on this? It seems he should have been a cert fot the Olympic team and he's only being left out for some sort of personal reasons.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I see Brammeier won the national championship. What's the story with the apparent dislike for him? Even on the article I read the first comment was by someone saying they can't take to him and they were dissappointed that he won. Can any of you dedicated cycling fans shine any light on this? It seems he should have been a cert fot the Olympic team and he's only being left out for some sort of personal reasons.
    To start from the last point - the reason he wasn't selected was because of the (ridiculous) points system used. Never going to suit a rider who's essentially a domestique. There seems to be some debate on how hard Box Hill actually is, but if it was on the easy side of the commentary he'd probably be the best suited of our top riders. I think it's still in the appeal process though. Dan Martin was giving out about the points system earlier in the season too.

Never met the guy, so unless it's his personality, I'd say any ill feeling is because he was a very late decision to represent Ireland. He was born in Liverpool, represented Wales in a commonwealth games and now represents Ireland. Must admit this type of nationality hopping doesn't sit too well with me, but thems the rules in cycling, so he's one of us now. Also, would've been nice to see Roche take it for the simple fact he'll be in the tour.

Didn't realise there was any dislike for him. In fairness to Brammeier he's attended every National Championship (winning the last 3 and a TT one too) and rode for the Sean Kelly team. Think he left GB as he asn't happy with how they treated him after injury.

He absolutely should be on the team ahead of McCann. he didn't win any points because he raced pretty lightly (as a domestique) as he's expected to race the Vuelta.

Anyway, Tour starts on Saturday. Roche's diary returns in the Indo. Dan Martin has one in the IT too. He seems as frank and opinionated. Really looking forward to this Tour

And just like that brammeier confirms he's heading to Vuelta

http://www.velonation.com/News/ID/12...onals-win.aspx

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Didn't realise there was any dislike for him.
    Hadn't really myself until recently, but he certainly doesn't get the attention or support the other guys get.

I have seen a few people comment on things he said after the timings debacle in the TT championship as not really being acceptable if someone does actually consider themselves Irish, but that's purely going on others opinions as I didn't see anything untoward in what I've come across tbh.

good start for the Irish lads. Not a bad prologue. Martin 8th, Roche 18th today. Few top 10 hopefuls lost time (Froome, Kessiakoff)

773 Posts
    Sagan won his second stage today, Roche 7th - lots of crashes and can't find any word on Martin.

1,524 Posts
    Just over 5 minutes down.. think he got caught behind one of the crashes/ had to go back for Danielsen.

25. Thanks From:

Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast