Thread: Where were you 24 years ago today?

51 Posts

Where were you 24 years ago today?

The goal that started it all....

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...307370176.html

I remember it well, was going to the RTC in Galway at the time, watched it Flannery's hotel next door with about 20 people. Couldn't believe that it happened. We finally got a bit of luck.

"Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

130 Posts
    at my second birthday party

646 Posts
    Probably being collected from Baby Infants.

51 Posts
    jeez I'm old
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

49 Posts
    cant remember i was 5, im going to say at home..

10 months before I was born!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    780 Posts
    Took the day off work and watched the game on TV. Sent Gary Mackay Christmas cards at Hearts for a number of years (I joke not).

The minutes after Scotland scored were the longest in my life BAR NONE. Wave after wave of Bulgarian attacks with balls cleared off the line and George Hamilton almost putting the hex on us about cracking open the Champagne bottles as the Bulgarians bore down on the goal.
    Last edited by OwlsFan; 11/11/2011 at 1:42 PM.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,693 Posts
    Watched the game in the UCD bar but left early as I was supposed to have a date in The Buttery bar in Trinity that night.

I left with 10 mins to go thinking it'd be same-old, same-old

I walked home to Rathfarham to save bus fare (10 smokes equivalent). I got home and dad asked me if I knew the final score. When I said no he turned on the VHS and showed me. I was just waiting for it to be disallowed. Then I remember Bulgaria flashing the ball right across Scotland's line in injury time.

A couple of hours later I met up with the girl I was supposed to be seeing. However, one of my old football mates was in the bar too.

Date over.

82 Posts
    Thought you were setting us up for a generic Rom Com style "Meet-Cute" with the Wife to be.....

I was only just gone 10... Don't recall much about it other than me oul lad Telling me and the Brother. It only really started for me at Euro 88 itself.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

504 Posts
    Half of me was in my mothers ovary's, I was born the day of the romanian game in italia 90!

82 Posts
    Ha!!.... A nation held it's breath for your arrival!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

2,629 Posts
    I was 10 but i remember watching it and thinking how epic it was when it flashed back to Dunphy and Co in the studio when McKay scored. I also remember McKay beig interviewed after and asking for a few free pints of Guinness next time he was over. Great times - it was the first Irish group consciously remember following. I think we were in Group E or something and thinking that meant we were in the 5th ranked league until my school friends gladly corrected me!

I was 12 years old and the Euro 88 qualifiers were the first full campaign of games I'd really followed with a real vengeance.

I'd seen Ireland beat Israel 5 Nil earlier in the week at Dalymount - Dave Kelly Hat-trick, Mark Lawrensons last game for Ireland (I think).

Given my age, I was entertaining mad notions of Scotland nicking a win but nobody, i mean noone, really gave us an earthly.

Watched the game at home with my family and can still vividly recall the moment of the goal.

I remember we got a delivery of a video cabinet with about 10 minutes to go (it was 1987 after all). The delivery man enquired what the score was. I remember him saying "Ye can never rely on those feckin Scots".

That feeling of incredulity and sheer joy when we knew we'd qualified. Just brilliant.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

366 Posts
    I think I was being picked up from baby infants with joe_denilson. Always slightly envious of the lads who had the cognisance to experience the thrill of '88. Must have been like the Yanks watching Armstrong and co. land on the moon! (Allegedly)

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Half of me was in my mothers ovary's
    Barstooler.

2,693 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    Always slightly envious of the lads who had the cognisance to experience the thrill of '88.
    What you wouldn't appreciate is all the years of hurt beforehand. Heysel, Sofia and others.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    Half of me was in my mothers ovary's, I was born the day of the romanian game in italia 90!
    Barstooler.
    They have seen their fair share of punters......

1,813 Posts
    Absolutely no idea but as u was three I reckon I was watching TCC.

290 Posts
    I was s***ting myself to be honest.

But then, I was only two years old.

24. Thanks From:

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Im envious of you mate - screw been born on Xmas day or the likes.............born on a momentus day for Irish football, thats where its at .

Is your middle name Timofte by any chance ? (guessing you have been asked that alot)

I was 8 .....didnt see the game .....just remember the next day and the surreal hype around the country that we had actually qualified for something huge
    Last edited by back of the net; 11/11/2011 at 4:59 PM.
    My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

445 Posts
    In my dad's ballbag
    Here on a technicality.

27. Thanks From: