Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Michael Keane

By "fallen out" do you mean he has overlooked them for squads? He had a few words to say about Brady in public but he's since stepped up to the 21s anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by [B
    Top Drawer[/B];1539790]Can I mention a few / Mc Ginty, Brady, Duffy, O Brien these are a few that he has fallen out with in 12 months as well as "allegedly" making little of Keane on the last away trip.

Why would anybody want to play for him.
    Good man, Top Drawer. Would ye check to see if I left my passport with you??? I've tried the side press, the bottom shelf and the overhead cabinet to no avail. Plane leaves in 2 hours.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Michael Keane has told the new edition of 'Inside United' that he has switched his international allegiance from Ireland to England.

Source is: Sky sports reporter Enda Brady

646 Posts
    Best of luck to him. Hope he makes it.

Had read somewhere, could of been redcafe or somewhere, that Michael couldn't understand William playing for England because they were brought up Irish but obviously that could of been hogwash, in recent foot.ie lingo.

It could be the same influences in the United youth set up that see us lose out on mcginty.

1,102 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Best of luck to him. Hope he makes it.

Had read somewhere, could of been redcafe or somewhere, that Michael couldn't understand William playing for England because they were brought up Irish but obviously that could of been hogwash, in recent foot.ie lingo.

It could be the same influences in the United youth set up that see us lose out on mcginty.
    Kevin Gallen syndrome strikes again!

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    Kevin Gallen syndrome strikes again!
    Can't find any reference to it, so we'll just say I made it up. Disregard.

1,102 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Can't find any reference to it, so we'll just say I made it up. Disregard.
    I actually think I remember reference being made to it. There's actually quite a few parallels with a recent article I read about Kevin Gallen who was pressurised by people within his club to play for England under-age (manager Gerry Francis due to some rule on foreign players in the squad, if I'm correct), even though his background was distinctly and proudly Irish. He expressed a degree of regret and even attempted to go back on the decision but his time had passed.

Michael Keane is taking a big risk declaring for England. If Gallen is to be believed, then Keane's decision appears more to be of his own accord. The amount of players that make the grade with both United and England is very small. Fair play to him for taking the risk. But if the risk fails I wouldn't be particularly happy to see Keane welcomed back into the Ireland set-up (if he is even still eligible to switch allegiance back).

Given that McGinty and Keane are of a similar age, position and profile, do they honestly think that both of them will be heavily involved in the English set-up for the next 10 years without their progress being to the detriment of the other, given the amount of players their age and position with premiership clubs harbouring England ambitions also? Best of luck to them either way.

I'm not sure either if McGinty has switched his allegiance. We'll wait and see, I guess.

131 Posts
    Surely we can all be a bit more bitter and twisted on this forum regarding Keane's decision considering all that money we paid into his development. This needs to be taken to CAS and Keane should be dragged into the dock to explain his treacherous actions.
    Last edited by youngirish; 12/01/2012 at 9:07 PM.

459 Posts
    Best of luck to him. At the end of the day if you feel irish play for us if you dont play for england. If Keane feels english then Im sure one under 21 england cap will mean more to him than 30 senior Ireland caps and rightly so I think. Well played young man

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Surely we can all be a bit more bitter and twisted on this forum regarding Keane's decision considering all that money we paid into his development. This needs to be taken to CAS and Keane should be dragged into the dock to explain his treacherous actions.
    We had a nice multicultural thing going on here too until the FA came meddling, but I heard Keane couldn't even find it within himself to wear shamrock last St. Paddy's Day so maybe we're best rid of the bigot.

208 Posts
    Compensation! Bigotry!
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

366 Posts
    Treachery!

1,813 Posts
    Time to get onto the EPN for some tips to sort out this debacle.

It's rather hilarious the difference in tone from here to the OWC regarding "defections".
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

357 Posts
    Dirty rotten Ba***ard leaving us to join England. P**ck. I hope he gets injured early in his career, the dirty rotten Mancunian turncoat. Along with McGinty they should be never be allowed to enter Ireland again.

Bonnie, is this the tone you want because if it pleases you I can continue and even bring it lower. Just let me know. I think the OWC posters are on to something!

208 Posts
    I can tell you something: this isn't over!

and to paraphrase a well known chairman

You wonder what influences young players and their families come under when deciding their international future... The FA is undermining a cross community team and those who support this practice are sectarianising the argument. Froth. Not. Making. Sense.
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    It remains to be seen if these guy are good enough to play international football at a senior level.

Yes they could turn out to be the next Leon Heskey but nothing is proven yet.

No point in crying until some milk is actually spilt.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    I can tell you something: this isn't over!

and to paraphrase a well known chairman

You wonder what influences young players and their families come under when deciding their international future... The FA is undermining a cross community team and those who support this practice are sectarianising the argument. Froth. Not. Making. Sense.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    Dirty rotten Ba***ard leaving us to join England. P**ck. I hope he gets injured early in his career, the dirty rotten Mancunian turncoat. Along with McGinty they should be never be allowed to enter Ireland again.

Bonnie, is this the tone you want because if it pleases you I can continue and even bring it lower. Just let me know. I think the OWC posters are on to something!
    Well. You know, It's like the love that dare not speak it's name. Thanks for the insight into how it could be over on OWC. I wish I could play too.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    Best of luck to him. At the end of the day if you feel irish play for us if you dont play for england. If Keane feels english then Im sure one under 21 england cap will mean more to him than 30 senior Ireland caps and rightly so I think. Well played young man
    Exactly this. Well said.

85 Posts
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast