Thread: Finn Harps (Home)

Finn Harps (Home)

Realistically we should be getting the 3 points here. At the start of the season it looked like a tough fixture but with their results we need to be taking maximum points. We said that against Wexford too and we know how that went. Finn Harps will start to pick up points somewhere we just need to make sure it ain't against us.

With Longford playing Shels away we could have a chance at overtaking them. A draw there would be a good result for us. Monaghan have their free weekend and Cork should take all 3 also.

I'll go for 2-0 Limerick.

These ones worry me more than most.

We've a record of erm... "generosity" against these kinds of underachieving teams stretching back years!

I'm gonna cross my fingers and say 1-0 Limerick.

1,524 Posts
    One of these weeks we're going to stop being completely pish.

Probably not this week though

We've a sprinkling of decent players but lack any real cohesion. Healy and Hutton have a hell of a job on their hands.

420 Posts
    It would be just like Limerick to beat Waterford then ddrop points to Harps.

Have to be taking all 3 in this anything else is not acceptable really.

Ill go for a nervous 1-0 o us.

Is O'Grady still missig for ye Mr.A?

1,524 Posts
    I expect he'll still be out yeah. Could really do with him being available.

238 Posts
    We're so raped with injuries that we probably won't even fill the bench again this week. The likes of O'Grady will train tomorrow night but they're not holding out too much hope of him playing on Fri.

The funny thing about our season, bad and all as it is, we actually should be sitting much healthier than we are. Only Cork has beaten us by more than one goal. We should have beaten Athlone, Mervue, Monaghan and Shels given the chances we had. We could have beaten Limerick at home but with the way the first half went we will just agree a point was a fair result.

Anyhow, Im going for a 1-1 draw. Im mental like that.

ill go lims 3 finn harps 1.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 17/05/2011 at 8:39 PM.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Heard today that if the weather is fine there'll be a bouncing castle on the grass area next to the toilets for children at this game on Friday evening
    68, 99, 08

No excuses - a must win game. reckon Stevo will net tonight.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    No excuses - a must win game. reckon Stevo will net tonight.
    Hopefully he will and it will be the start of a run for him. Thought he would have took off after getting two against Mervue. With the way our defense is performing all we need is the goals going in the other end.

1-0

A good 3 points against a Finn Harps team that can always be sticky. O Connor again tonight looked interested only in fits and starts. C.Tracey started off shaky but settled in very well. Frost O'Leary and Judge all excellent. Calla and Purcell solid too. Hynes worked hard again but tried to take it on a little too much and Quinn was ok. Coughlan did well when he came on and McCann even though he wasn't on long.

420 Posts
    Wouldnt have won thet game or last weeks one against Waterford last year team showing good spirit to keep going until they get the goal

Pity the football in last 2 games has been a bit crap so the crowds are going down but being honest dont care about the football being nice or crowds being big as long as we win.

John Frost Judge and O Leary very good tonight delighted that Dave O'Leary is finding his form now.

Paddy P showing why he is captain last 2 games.

Win against Salthill now sets up Cork very nicely.

57 Posts
    Good win and Harps won't finish bottom. Tough game and it was starting to look like another Wexford with their keeper on top form. Big save by Barry Ryan too from McHugh with ten mins to go when clean through. Paddy is a huge player now for us at both ends.

Salthill have tightened up under Ski and they will be tough on Thursday.

Cork's comeback was a blow but if we keep winning we'll be OK.

Very disappointing crowd again.

Good result last night,poor performance.Midfield seems to be sorting itself out with Judge & O'Leary running things.Up front is becoming a concern though.Can't see any of those guys banging in 15 plus this season and thats what we need if we are to get promoted. Was Stevo injured last night? Not sayin he'd have scored cause his current form is poor but he's certainly the only squad player capable of getting 15 plus. could be an area we need to address in the transfer window.
    Anyone got suggestions of who we could realisticly bring in?
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

420 Posts
    Good result last night,poor performance.Midfield seems to be sorting itself out with Judge & O'Leary running things.Up front is becoming a concern though.Can't see any of those guys banging in 15 plus this season and thats what we need if we are to get promoted. Was Stevo injured last night? Not sayin he'd have scored cause his current form is poor but he's certainly the only squad player capable of getting 15 plus. could be an area we need to address in the transfer window.

I dont think we were poor being honest but its hard when the other team just wants to sit back and defend.

Steve got a knock last week and was rested lastnight as a precaution should eb fine for Salthill.

As for who to bring in you wouldnt know really come July could be teams letting big players go becuase of money troubles or something. The thing is that even though he is not in the best of form there isn't many around that are better then Steve.
    Last edited by bluewhitearmy; 21/05/2011 at 12:04 PM.

Denis Behan was released last week but I assume he'll end up in Cork.

Stevo will do more than grand over the course of the year, best striker in the division. Hopefully get a dozen games out of Gary Sheehan aswell remember.

Realistically could we be looking at the end of August start of September before Gary is back? And if so that could be too late with the season over at the end of October. He is still on crutches and we are nearly in June. Then he has to get back up to match fitness.

Cork fans don't seem to like Behan and being a Limerick man i'd love to see him sign for ourselves.

Talking to Gary Himself, his cast is coming off Monday week and they are targetting early to mid August for his return so it'll prob take him two or three games to get back into it and we'll hopefully have him firing for the last (hopefully crucial!!) 8 or 9 games of the season, going to Cork, Monaghan and Shels in the final series with Gary Sheehan in our arsenal could be a huge deal.

Cork don't like Behan and Behan doesn't like Limerick.

420 Posts
    Id rather Cork get Behan then Gamble.