Thread: Your film taste...

Your film taste (the Survey)

Ok following on from the directors debate, and similar to Macy's music thread. Fill in the Survey about your cinematic tastes...

Just answer it, no discussion please

Favourite Film of all Time:
    Favourite Film since 2000:
    Favourite Director:
    Favourite Actor/Actress:

Apart from those already mentioned
    Favourite Comedy/Musical:
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi:
    Favourite Drama/Crime:
    Favourite non English language film:
    Favourite Animated Film:
    Favourite Irish Film:

Favourite Scene:
    Favourite Comedy moment:

Worst Film of all time:
    Worst film since 2000:
    Worst Actor/Actress:

Film you know is rubbish but love:
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great:
    Most overrated Film of all time:
    Most underated Actor/Actress
    Most overrated actor/actress

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)?
    Last edited by Dodge; 11/05/2004 at 12:20 PM.

Favourite Film of all Time: Dog Day Afternoon
    Favourite Film since 2000: City of God
    Favourite Director: Martin Scorsese
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Bill Murray

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Airplane
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: 2001: A Space Odyssey
    Favourite Drama/Crime: Goodfellas
    Favourite non English language film: La Haine
    Favourite Animated Film: Toy Story 2
    favourite Irish Film: The General

Favourite Scene: The shoot out in "Heat" (and I ****ing hate Shoot outs...)
    Favourite Comedy moment: Apart from Sideshow Bob stepping on the rakes in the Simpson's... The Gingerbread man torture scene in "Shrek"

Worst Film of all time: Urban Legends 2. (Worst two hours of my life...)
    Worst film since 2000: See above. Also the Butterfly Effect
    Worst Actor/Actress: Halle Berry

Film you know is rubbish but love: Charlie's Angels
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: 10 things I hate about you
    Most overrated Film of all time: The Shawshank Redemption
    Most underated Actor/Actress Brad Pitt/Cameron Diaz
    Most overrated actor/actress Tom Hanks

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? Cinema
    Last edited by Dodge; 11/05/2004 at 12:21 PM.

Favourite Film of all Time: American Beauty
    Favourite Film since 2000: Memento
    Favourite Director: Coen Brothers
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Jim Carrey / Frances McDormand

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Dumb and Dumber/wizard of oz
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Halloween/Donnie Darko
    Favourite Drama/Crime: Elaphant Man/Usual Suspects
    Favourite non English language film: City of God
    Favourite Animated Film: Shrek
    Favourite Irish Film: Butcher Boy

Favourite Scene: when Micheal kills the policeman and the other guy in the restaurant in the Godfather
    Favourite Comedy moment: when they put all the peppers in Mentals burger in Dumb and Dumber

Worst Film of all time: Silence of the Hams
    Worst film since 2000: Coyote Ugly
    Worst Actor/Actress: Ashton Kutcher/Penelopie Cruz

Film you know is rubbish but love: Scary Movie 3
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Cool Runnings
    Most overrated Film of all time: Star Wars
    Most underated Actor/Actress John Cazale / Brittany Murphy
    Most overrated actor/actress Russell Crowe /Julia Roberts

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? cinema
    Last edited by gustavo; 11/05/2004 at 11:00 AM.

Favourite Film of all Time:
    Favourite Film since 2000: Kill Bill 1+2
    Favourite Director: Coen Bros
    Favourite Actor/Actress:

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Zoolander/Oliver
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: HEllraiser/Star wars
    Favourite Drama/Crime: Godfather
    Favourite non English language film: No mans land
    Favourite Animated Film: a Nightmare at Christmas
    Favourite Irish Film: The Mission (Irish based) Eat the Peach

Favourite Scene: Bound nead I say more
    Favourite Comedy moment: Zoo Lander the petrol station "wake me up"

Worst Film of all time:
    Worst film since 2000: Too many to list
    Worst Actor/Actress: Too many to shoot

Most overrated Film of all time: Titanic
    Most underated Actor/Actress Tom hanks
    Most overrated actor/actress

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? Cin
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Favourite Film of all Time: This is Spinal Tap
    Favourite Film since 2000: The Royal Tennenbaums
    Favourite Director: Coppola
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Marissa Tormei/ Gene Hackman

Favourite Comedy/Musical: SHANGHAI NOON/Mars Attacks
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Alien/Escape from New York
    Favourite Drama/Crime: The Godfather
    Favourite non English language film: Ringu
    Favourite Animated Film: none
    favourite Irish Film: I went down/Point Blank/The Butcher Boy

Favourite Scene: Jack Carter: "You're a big man, but you're out of shape. With me it's a full time job. Now behave yourself." (Michael Caine in Get Carter) / Clint Eastwood as Man With No Name (Blondie): You see in this world there's two kinds of people my friend, those with loaded guns, and those who dig...you dig! Sound File

Favourite Comedy moment: Stonehenge scene in spinal tap

Worst Film of all time: anything with Tom Hanks
    Worst film since 2000: Jerry Maguire
    Worst Actor/Actress: Tom Hanks/ Tom Cruise

Film you know is rubbish but love: American Werewolf in London
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Escape To Victory/Kellys Heroes
    Most overrated Film of all time: American Beauty
    Most underated Actor/Actress : Ray McNally/Lee Marvin/ Jame Coburn
    Most overrated actor/actress: Buscemi

And Finally
    Last edited by wws; 11/05/2004 at 11:44 AM.

Favourite Film of all Time: Its a wonderfull Life
    Favourite Film since 2000: Donnie Darko
    Favourite Director: The Pressburger/Powell duo (known as "the archers"
    Favourite Actor/Actress: James Stewart/Julianne Moore

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Airplane/An American in Paris
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Alien/Blade Runner

Favourite Drama/Crime: The Life and Death of Colenal Blimp/ The Godfather
    Favourite non English language film: Three colours trilogy/City of god
    Favourite Animated Film: Bellville Rendez-Vous or Fantasia
    Favourite Irish Film: Felicia's Journey

Favourite Scene: The table tennis scene in a Matter of Life and Death
    Favourite Comedy moment: Frank drebbin saying "Nice Beaver!"

Worst Film of all time: The Blair with project
    Worst film since 2000: anyone one of thse crappy teen comedies
    Worst Actor/Actress: Arnold Schwarzenegger

Film you know is rubbish but love: star wars
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Brazil
    Most overrated Film of all time: The Lord of the rings
    Most underated Actor/Actress Burt Reynold or Roger Livesey/Drew Barrymore
    Most overrated actor/actress Tom Cruise/????

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? Both

244 Posts
    Favourite Film of all Time:alien(i know i will change this)
    Favourite Film since 2000:25 th hour
    Favourite Director:stephen spielberg
    Favourite Actor/Actress:sean penn/mrs warren beatty(cant think of name)

Favourite Comedy/Musical:high anxiety/moulin rouge
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi:hellraiser 1
    Favourite Drama/Crime:from hell
    Favourite non English language film:devdas(india)
    Favourite Animated Film:nighmare before x mas
    Favourite Irish Film:the nephew

Favourite Scene:frequency(where dennis quaid saves his son jim caviezel)
    Favourite Comedy moment:dan ackroyd in goat leggings in dragnet

Worst Film of all time:the courier
    Worst film since 2000:haunted house/eddie murphy
    Worst Actor/Actress:gerard deparidue/madonna

Film you know is rubbish but love:eating raoul
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great:ace ventura/when nature callls
    Most overrated Film of all time:2nd lord of the rings(edit :i meant the 3rd one)
    Most underated Actor/Actresshilip seymour hoffman;
    Most overrated actor/actress:michael caine/halle berry

And Finally
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 11/05/2004 at 12:11 PM.

Favourite Film of all Time: Once Upon as Time in the West
    Favourite Film since 2000: Oh Brother Where Arth Thou
    Favourite Director: Coen
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Pacino/Cate Blanchett

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Life of Brian/Blues Bothers
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Ringu/2001
    Favourite Drama/Crime: Once Upon a Time in America
    Favourite non English language film: Ringu
    Favourite Animated Film:
    Favourite Irish Film: Michael Collins

Favourite Scene: Long drawn out gunfight with harmonic soundtrack in Once Upon a Time in the West
    Favourite Comedy moment:

Worst Film of all time: Dude Wheres My Car (Srill don't understand how watched past first 20mins)
    Worst film since 2000: Dude Wheres My Car
    Worst Actor/Actress: Ben Affleck

Most overrated Film of all time: Donnie Darko, The Royal Tenenbaums
    Most underated Actor/Actress
    Most overrated actor/actress: De Nero post 2000

And Finally
    Last edited by pete; 11/05/2004 at 4:09 PM.

Favourite Film of all Time: American History X
    Favourite Film since 2000: Donnie Darko
    Favourite Director: Kevin Smith
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Johnny Depp/Natalie Portman

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Mallrats
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Willow
    Favourite Drama/Crime: Heat
    Favourite non English language film: Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon
    Favourite Animated Film: Watership Down
    Favourite Irish Film: The Disappearance of Finbar

Favourite Scene: Very open to change, at this second in time it's probably the montage in 'The Crow' where Eric Draven relives the murder of his girlfriend and himself.
    Favourite Comedy moment: My Cousin Walter... 'Mallrats'

Worst Film of all time: Tomb Raider
    Worst film since 2000: See above
    Worst Actor/Actress: Gwyneth Paltrow.

Film you know is rubbish but love: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Vanilla Skies
    Most overrated Film of all time: The Blair Witch Project
    Most underated Actor/Actress: Adam Sandler
    Most overrated actor/actress: Nicole Kidman

Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? Depends...

Favourite Film of all Time: The Godfather part II
    Favourite Film since 2000: The Royal Tenenbaums
    Favourite Director: Kevin Smith
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Robert de Niro

Favourite Comedy/Musical:
    Trading Places (Eddie Murphy's only decent film IMHO)
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Twelve Monkeys (Terry Gilliam)
    Favourite Drama/Crime: Primary Colors (though not as good as the book...)
    Favourite non English language film: Talk to Her (Pedro Almodovar)
    Favourite Animated Film: The Chicken Run (Aardman Animations)
    Favourite Irish Film: The Crying Game (Neil Jordan)
    Favourite Scene: "That's my bad muther f***er" - SLJ in Pulp Fiction
    Favourite Comedy moment: "It's a zit - geddit?" - John Belushi in Animal House

Worst Film of all time: Any Hollywood action film "based on events" that reinvents history. Tell the truth next time.
    Worst film since 2000: Enigma. See above.
    Worst Actor/Actress: Leo di Caprio. The Michael Owen of acting. Everyone loves him but he's crap and still dining out on one good performance right at the start of his career.

Film you know is rubbish but love: Escape to Victory
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Animal House
    Most underated Actor/Actress: errr...
    Most overrated actor/actress: Leo di Caprio. See above

And Finally
    I normally fall asleep at the cinema, so it's home in front of the TV for me.
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

3,314 Posts
    Favourite Film of all Time: Akira
    Favourite Film since 2000: Lost In Translation
    Favourite Director: Spielberg
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Tom Hanks/Julia Roberts

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Psycho/Star Wars
    Favourite Drama/Crime: LA Confidential
    Favourite non English language film: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon
    Favourite Animated Film: Shrek
    Favourite Irish Film: The General

Favourite Scene: Anthony Perkins running into the room in his mother's clothes brandishing a knife in Psycho
    Favourite Comedy moment: The fight between John Cusack and his ex's new boyfriend in High Fidelity

Worst Film of all time: The Transporter
    Worst film since 2000: Charile's Angels: Full Throttle
    Worst Actor/Actress: Ben Affleck(lately anyway)/Jennifer Lopez

Film you know is rubbish but love: Chasing Amy
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Dazed and Confused
    Most underated Actor/Actress: John Cusack/Emily Watson
    Most overrated actor/actress: Noone comes to mind

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? Half and half. Cinema if I had to pick one

Favourite Film of all Time: blues brothers
    Favourite Film since 2000: american beauty
    Favourite Director: hitchcock
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Robert de Niro

Favourite Comedy/Musical: animal house ( good choice from above )
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: abyss
    Favourite Drama/Crime: seven
    Favourite non English language film: ireversable
    Favourite Animated Film: shrek
    Favourite Irish Film: eat the peach
    Favourite Scene: tunnel scene in blues brothers
    Favourite Comedy moment: toga toga toga ( animal house )

Worst Film of all time: matrix revolutions
    Worst film since 2000: matrix revolutions
    Worst Actor/Actress: jennifer lopez
    Film you know is rubbish but love: Escape to Victory ( how true )
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: man on the moon
    Most overrated Film of all time: all star wars
    Most underated Actor/Actress: jim carrey ( hes not just a funny man )
    Most overrated actor/actress: woody allen

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? well i have a full cinema in my gaff, 130" high defination projection screen and thx sound system ( thats for macy )so home every time
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? well i have a full cinema in my gaff, 130" high defination projection screen and thx sound system ( thats for macy )so home every time
    Jeez, how much did that cost?

No wonder you have your bank account details below every post, you need the money

Favourite Film of all Time: Casablanca
    Favourite Film since 2000: The Man Who Wasn't There
    Favourite Director: Alfred Hitchcock AND Stanley Kubrick - don't ask me to leave either out
    Favourite Actor/Actress: James Cagney and Audrey Hepburn (with emphasis on favourite)

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Chopper / My Fair Lady
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Chopper / Hate Sci-fi but other people have put in Donnie Darko so i'll have that please
    Favourite Drama/Crime: Chopper / Scarface the original with Paul Muni
    Favourite non English language film: Les Amants
    Favourite Animated Film: ?
    Favourite Irish Film: The Committments

Favourite Scene: Casablanca where Laszlo gets Rick's band to drown out the Nazis' singing with 'La Marseillaise' and the slutty one by the bar with tears in her eyes is singing poorly but passionately and then at the end she's screaming 'Vive La France!'. Shivers every time. Or when Mary says "Look George, it's a miracle" in Its a Wonderful Life. Or when the little boy in La Vita e Bela sees his mother and shouts "Look mama, its true, we won, we won!" - in Italian.
    Favourite Comedy moment: Big Lebowski where John Turturro playing the convicted paedophile Jesus is telling Walter that if he tries to pull a gun on him during a bowling tournament, he'll stick it up his ass and pull the trigger until "it go click" - Jeff Lebowski gape mouthed replies "Whoah!" - Jesus: "You said it man" and when he's gone, Walter consoles his worried buddy: "Eight year olds dude" ALSO Pulp Fiction's "Man I don't EVEN have an opinion" before getting his head blown off by accident by Vince

Worst Film of all time: ?
    Worst film since 2000: I have seen a couple of scenes of Spiderman but that was enough to get it in here.
    Worst Actor/Actress: ?

Film you know is rubbish but love: Goldmember - worth it for those golden moments, excuse the pun
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: The Castle
    Most overrated Film of all time: Scarface with Pacino and Lord of the Rings
    Most underated Actor/Actress: John Garfield or Frank Sinatra - both rated but not as much as they deserved
    Most overrated actor/actress: Most of them nowadays

And Finally
    Home TV - I'd be lying if i said anything else

That was way too stressful

Favourite Film of all Time: Cinema Paradiso
    Favourite Film since 2000: In America
    Favourite Director: Speilberg
    Favourite Actor/Actress: Matt Damon

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Analyze This
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Starship Troopers
    Favourite Drama/Crime: The Rainmaker
    Favourite non English language film: The Passion/ La Haine
    Favourite Animated Film: Monsters Inc
    Favourite Irish Film: The Van

Favourite Scene: The hit scene in Pulp Fiction where Vince and Jules come in to the lads apartment, Jules has some burger and recites his bit of Gospel etc.
    Favourite Comedy moment: The scence in Analyze This where Jelly is outside listening to the Doc taking off his wire, thinking he has serious bowl problems.

Worst Film of all time: The Recent Cop one with SLJ and Colin Farrell, cant even remember the name.
    Worst film since 2000: Maid in Manhatten
    Worst Actor/Actress: J.Lo

Film you know is rubbish but love: Dirty Dancing
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Water World
    Most underated Actor/Actress Claire Danes
    Most overrated actor/actress Colin Farrell

Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? Cinema, has to be a decent one though, UGC in Dublin or Gate in Cork.
    Oh no not them again

Favourite Film of all Time: Goodfellas
    Favourite Film since 2000: 28 Days Later
    Favourite Director: Scorescsi
    Favourite Actor/Actress: De Niro / Eva Mendez

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Dumb and Dumber / Chcagio
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: 28 Days later / Starship Troopers
    Favourite Drama/Crime: se7en / Heat
    Favourite non English language film: cant remember the name, french black abd white about a group of friends getting into trouble etc.... class
    Favourite Animated Film: Finding Nemo / Shrek / Osmosis Jones
    Favourite Irish Film: The Field / The Commitments / Intermission

Favourite Scene: Scene from Wild Things, you know the one im on about !

Favourite Comedy moment: Several from Chopper, Dumb and Dumber and Happy Gilmore

Worst Film of all time: Rollerball: The Re-make
    Worst film since 2000: Rollerball: The Re-make
    Worst Actor/Actress: Di Caprio

Film you know is rubbish but love: Love Actually
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: The Great Escape
    Most overrated Film of all time: Star Wars
    Most underated Actor/Actress: Brendan Gleeson / Cate Blanchate
    Most overrated actor/actress: Colin Farrell

Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? Depends on what im watching

Favourite Film of all Time: Rebecca / The Princess Bride
    Favourite Film since 2000: Being John Malkovich
    Favourite Director: Coen Bros
    Favourite Actor/Actress: John Malkovich / Julianne Moore

Favourite Comedy/Musical: Airplane / My Fair Lady
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: Ringu / The Matrix
    Favourite Drama/Crime: The Godfather 2 / Dog Day Afternoon
    Favourite non English language film: Three Colours Red / Lagaan
    Favourite Animated Film: Spirited Away
    Favourite Irish Film: I went down

Favourite Scene: Tough, The police station assault from the Matrix maybe or the Tennis scene from ‘Strangers on a Train’
    Favourite Comedy moment: ‘May I go to the bathroom’ Steve Martin in dirty Rotten Scoundrels or the pictionary game from ‘When Harry met Sally’

Worst Film of all time: Texas Chainsaw Massacre
    Worst film since 2000: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen
    Worst Actor/Actress: Nick Nolte / Andie McDowell

Film you know is rubbish but love: Starship troopers
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: Dangerous Liaisons
    Most overrated Film of all time: Gone with the wind /Titanic
    Most underated Actor/Actress: John C McGinley / Bonnie Hunt
    Most overrated actor/actress: Ben Affleck / Jessica Lange

And Finally

If I were to include most over rate director I'm going for Spielberg.... everything has to have a happy ending with him even in Shcindlers list I'm suprised anyone died in it..

Worst actor/ess J Lump or all the spice girls every one of the slappers
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

244 Posts
    lads,there is another thread going for our/your discussion on choices etc

Favourite Film of all Time: le vanishing (not the ****e american remake. the original french one)
    Favourite Film since 2000: lord of the rings
    Favourite Director: martin scorsese
    Favourite Actor/Actress: de niro

Favourite Comedy/Musical: dumb and dumber
    Favourite Horror/Sci-Fi: the sixth sense
    Favourite Drama/Crime: goodfellas
    Favourite non English language film: la vita et bella (life is beautiful)
    Favourite Animated Film: finding nemo
    Favourite Irish Film: the general

Favourite Scene: the end of le vanishing
    Favourite Comedy moment: dumb and dumber made me laugh like no other movie before or since

Worst Film of all time: 2001 space odyssey
    Worst film since 2000: matrix
    Worst Actor/Actress: arnie/lopez

Film you know is rubbish but love: the running man
    Film everyone else thinks is rubbish but you think is great: star trek movies
    Most overrated Film of all time: 2001 space odyssey
    Most underated Actor/Actress: brad pitt
    Most overrated actor/actress: will smith

And Finally
    Cinema/at home(video/DVD/TV)? at home mostly (tv)
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)