Thread: You can stick your Premiership where the sun don't shine.

151 Posts

You can stick your Premiership where the sun don't shine.

The Showgrounds tonight was what real football is about. Two top class team at it hammer and tongs with little rancor on or off the pitch and The Real Rovers managed to beat Shams with ten men for the first time in history. Some extraordinary performances with Richie, Conor, Rambo and Padraig being the heroes in front of Gavin and Derek, who has now played himself into this side.
    Pete Mahon was at the game tonight and he must be making novenas that Rovers play that clown in goals on Friday night because if they do, Mulcahy will help himself to a hat tick and we will let in five. The earlier reference to having only ten men refers to this.
    Cookie, Ciaran Kelly has to play or else get on to Nick Leeson and sign Barry Ryan.
    Tonight was the Waterford semi all over again. The place was rocking. Too much at stake now to go on without a goalkeeper.

delighted withthewin and the performance

hard to fault any of the lads most of whom were outstanding

Fair play to the Forza boys too for the Not Bitter just Better banner

445 Posts
    Whats wrong with Brush??

For the record i think youse will beat us on Friday followed by a defeat to Fingal on Monday to mess up our whole season
    Here on a technicality.

151 Posts
    Brush out for season after hand operation. Cook not convinced about Kelly so Bishop came in from Dundee. He should have brought a Cardinal instead.

Nice one. Another cup final. Now all that's left is the straightforward task of sweeping aside the form team from Division 1.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Brush out for season after hand operation. Cook not convinced about Kelly so Bishop came in from Dundee. He should have brought a Cardinal instead.
    Bishop??? Is there some joke I am unaware of as his name is John Gibson.

Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    A freudian slip? John Bishop is a scouse comedian
    "Overwhelmed"

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    A freudian slip? John Bishop is a scouse comedian
    I think that could be another freudian slip there. John Bishop isn't funny

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    Well, ok, he should have brought in Mel Gibson (Braveheart). I'm subconsciously trying to erase that guy from my memory. If he plays in the Showgies again, i demand that a mobile coronary unit be in the ground.

Freudian slip, I reckon - you just called him Bishop as you wound up to give him a good bashing.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

very poor goalkeeping

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Well, ok, he should have brought in Mel Gibson (Braveheart). I'm subconsciously trying to erase that guy from my memory. If he plays in the Showgies again, i demand that a mobile coronary unit be in the ground.
    i agree with avvenalaf. Gibson is a disaster waiting to happen. Everytime the ball was sent into the goalmouth last night my heart skipped a beat because he fumbled it nearly every time. He should have done better with the Shams goal. I, like others, would have a lot more confidence in Kelly. He never let us down. Last night was a brilliant display from the other players and an exciting game to watch, played by honest players on both sides. Premiership!. Forget about it when you have entertainment like this on our doorstep. Full marks to Cook for putting together a great panel.