Danny POTY

are they haven a laugh given danny player of the year

It was Forza Rovers player of the year, it wasn't given for football skills etc. etc. one of the other lads might explain it better. He deserved it, he's an absolute legend.

Danny was Forza Rovers player of the year. Its based on who shows the most commitment to the shirt and consistently comes over to the fans after games to appreciate their effort. The requirements aren't necessarily looking for the most skilful or versatile player, its just coincidence Danny V falls into both categories.

Quote Originally Posted by roversman View Post
    He got it cos he's class. Simple really.

You dont have to be the star player every week to be the fans POTY. And Danny is a prime example of a player who gives 100% in every game he plays, he plays for Rovers as if he was born,lived in Sligo his whole life and dreamt of playing for us. He goes out, gives 100% all the time and thats all fans ask for, hes not the most skillful or fancy style footballer, but his commitment and appreciation of fans is really top notch, and to think if not for Rovers he would not be the fine player he is today .
    Coleman for Ireland

well done Danny, thoroughly deserved in my book,take you back earlier in the season when results were going against us,he was always consistant,always trying and motivating the others especially when heads were dropping, Danny was always driving the boys on.Good on you forza boys he may not be he most skillful player but if its heart and guts you want Dannys your man!.....quick mention to the forza lads well done, the singing and the flags...superb!

I don't think the club have an official POTY. FR, DSC have one alright so i presume as things are, Danny is the SR POTY??

Well done Danny.

32 Posts
    He played some decent football at times last night. Always showing for the ball in midfield and using it wisely ,and a great ball to put Cash in for the first goal. I was delighted when i heard he got it, fair play to Forza for not just going for the obvious choice of Raf or Boco but for giving the recognition to a player who really deserves it.
    Well done Danny.

He got it cos he's class. Simple really.
    Class???????????????????????????
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    Danny was Forza Rovers player of the year. Its based on who shows the most commitment to the shirt and consistently comes over to the fans after games to appreciate their effort. The requirements aren't necessarily looking for the most skilful or versatile player, its just coincidence Danny V falls into both categories.

if i come over and clap ye after games can i start up front next season??

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    It was Forza Rovers player of the year, it wasn't given for football skills etc. etc. one of the other lads might explain it better. He deserved it, he's an absolute legend.
    well they should have called it their favourite player of the year because theres no way he was player of the year
    he might give his all but player of the year and being class not

to be fair i can see both views in one sense he has improved a lot and his attitude is top notch but he is limited and can be a liability. ventre has improved fair enough but i would say keane put in as much if not more effort plus blinkhorn works his socks off. to say its given for who acknowledges forza the most is a bit ridiculous to be honest as how can ya give poty for that. at the end of the day its forzas choice who they give the award to but still cant get my head round why ye worship him so much and call him a legend.......... maybe i just cant see what ye do. the lad is honest and hard working and must be commended for that cos we seen a few who wouldnt play for the jersey this year but him ability is limited. well done to him all the same

151 Posts
    Still, you'd gave to say that he was lucky Shaun Holmes left. Holmes used clap louder than Ventre.

dannys my favourite player by some distance. anyone see the dummy in the brandywell, the cruyff turn last night or the goal in drogheda? he is the white pele after all

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by roversman View Post
    Well considering you're not a member of our group its none of business who choose is it?

Quote Originally Posted by CarrickFan View Post
    if i come over and clap ye after games can i start up front next season??
    Good one.

Look, this was our choice. Ye disagree, fine. But no need to take yere opinion as fact.

Danny has been one of the most hard working, committed and important member of the squad this year, not to mention he has played very well. If ye don't like it, do ye're own POTY.
    Last edited by MMVIII; 08/11/2009 at 4:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Good one.

Look, this was our choice. Ye disagree, fine. But no need to take yere opinion as fact.

Danny has been one of the most hard working, committed and important member of the squad this year, not to mention he has played very well. If ye don't like it, do ye're own POTY.

Ah relax the smiley faces denote joke /sarcasm!!...i was just having a laugh.

Ye lads are great for the club and are totally right to have yer own POTY award and to give it too whoever ye see fit...as ye go to more away matches then i do im sure a players commitment etc is more obvious there.

For the record i like Danny as a player and he does give his all every match with what he has..and is indeed an important and versatile member of the squad....
    but IMO from the 25 or so games i got to this season Bocu,Raf,Keane,Peers,Blinks(in his half season) and even Dickie B would be ahead of him FOR ME.

In the heights of elation since 7.18pm 14/11/10
    Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Good one.

Cant believe ye gave it to Danny
    Seriously, Danny is a smashing lad who you know what you are going to get from him every time he takes to the pitch. Delighted he got ye're award. Its great to see a player get recognition who wouldn't traditionally get a POTY award.
    Well done lads.

Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Well considering you're not a member of our group its none of business who choose is it?
    well if you think he is poy then i am glad i am not one of ye
    poy is about football not clapping hands