Thread: eircom League Characters

Exclamation Irish Football Characters

Lads,

Who are the characters in the league that we all know and love .... from the weird and wonderful to the zany and ... (whatever rhythms with zany)

First up .....

1. Tom the Gom (Dundalk supporter)

The guy is madder than a sack of badgers, there are countless stories around about this guy.

2. Alan Hunter

Need we say anymore on this guy !!

3. ???
    Last edited by A face; 04/02/2004 at 6:33 PM.

I don't think Hunter could be said to really have any association with de league.

Ollie Byrne.

Re: eircom League Characters

Originally posted by A face
    Lads,

You may add Kildare County, Dublin City, Bray w and Pat's supporter!

Can you spot him in the link?

Spot the cool Tom
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

Re: eircom League Characters

The guy is madder than a sack of badgers, there are countless stories around about this guy.
    He was telling me at the Dundalk game in Whitehall last October that he was planning to give up following football, and go to live in a country cottage where there were "no Guards, no nuttin" to bother him. I get the impression he says that all the time, though.

He's not a Dundalk supporter, surely?

Exclamation Re: Irish Football Characters

Well the characters involved in Irish Football is what i meant to say.

TTG ... I always thought he was from Dundalk, i could be totally wrong here aswell. He is alway shouts for the underdog apparantly.

1. Tom the Gom

2. Alan Hunter

3. Ollie Byrne

1. Tom the Gom

2. Alan Hunter

3. Ollie Byrne

4. Bray's "Seagull Muppet" - Tripped over a Kildare player last year (can be seen in the link above as well)
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

TheRealRovers

Re: Irish Football Characters

He also say's he support's Rovers. He used to be all the time in The Showgrounds but not as much any more. I think's he from Cork
    Last edited by TheRealRovers; 04/02/2004 at 7:19 PM.

Hes always in flancare.I heard he was from cork.Apparently he used to work with CIE and has a free train pass
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

boynesider

Tom is a legend

the guy is everywhere I was talking to him at united park,he's from Cork and " likes the ouldfootball" and yes always for the underdog. When asked what he'sdoing at a Drogs game
    he said he goes where the good footballers are .
    I once say him hichin a lift at 11:00 at night after a Night game at
    FINN PARK.
    Met him again at united park and asked him what game didhe goto the last weekend he said 2 on Friday and two on sunday
    first half at Dalymount then a quick bus tripto Tolka for the 2nd half of a shels game. What a charecter.
    I remember him givin out Sxxt at a Drogs and Dublin city game a couple of seasons ago at Whithall being a Sunday game Dermot keily, John gill, Stephen Kenny, Pat dolan, Joey Malone, eoin hand
    et all where all togher having craic with Tom

The guy should be honoured by the FAI as the greatest living EL supporter.

Long live TOM

cork

Hes from cork and always used to be in Rathbane when we played there. He burnned the ears off us in Kildare last season so much so that wait for it, LIMSFAN told him where to to...then he offered him a lift back to Dublin. LIMSFAN hs to be added to that list

gael353,

Are you the lad in the Limerick shirt in the above link (only one )?

Tom the Gom is from Cork, and used to follow Cork Hibs. Now lives in Bray apparently.... Never give him a lift, as he stinks... Never talk to him or make eye contact or else you're stuck for evermore (until you start "We Hate Cork Hibs" songs and then he leaves you alone). He's regular in flancare too, and does make some bizarre match choices....

Alan Hunter isn't a character, he's a cúnt.... It's not even amusing, as the media give the credibility and publicity he obviously craves. Not once has his credentials been questioned.

Not going to start on Oily for fear of legal action

Anyway one for the list - yer man from Pats with the butchers hat (even if he does only sing when they're winning)

Paddy Eccles

and he doesnt just sing when they're winning - he never shuts up!

Thats right

Originally posted by Macy
    Tom the Gom is from Cork, and used to follow Cork Hibs. Now lives in Bray apparently....
    Tom is from and follows Cork, and he live sjust up the road from the Carlisle Grounds. Can be found most saturday nights in the small hours hurling abuse at everyone outside henery and rose chippers ! i remember when he used to have a massive wog of hair, he was the spitting image of Donnadoni !

245 Posts
    "frytex"
    .shamrock rovers supporter from years ago.he used to wear
    a red plastic wind breaker and he wasnt too fond of washing his hair (which was long).the hair rested against the jacket leading to
    the grease from his hair soaking into the jacket.this resulted in a stain that got bigger each week.he just didnt give a toss even though they would shout out his name to his face.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 06/02/2004 at 6:50 AM.

Don't know what his name is but hes just a fella i'v noticed alot.Hes a rovers fan who looks like someone from hells angels,hes got long black hair,wheres a leather jacket over his rovers jersey and a bandana on his head and i tink he may have his nose pierced.Oh yeah and hes about 20 stone
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

we had a guy used to run 6 miles to st mels pk in wellies,when game kicked off he'd take out a matchbox ,slip one matchstick out the top(like an aerial)then proceed to commentate on the game.
    Then he'd run the 6 miles home.
    "tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!

Tom the Gom was at nearly all Dublin City's home games last year, I actually met him on the DART the night of the Pats V Kildare FAI Cup game last season. He's got a couple of loose screws, but a great supporter all the same.

I think Macy nailed Tom on the head, a legend as long as he's talking to somebody else but keep him away from me! I don't wanna here about how Shels and Bray are apparently trying to have us kicked out of the league while we're 2-1 down and trying in vain to find an equaliser away to Longford in the cup. I tend to leave him to gael353 to be honest.

Glass Eyed Kid in Drogheda could be future eL character