Thread: lfc to play home games on saturday afternoon

Thumbs down lfc to play home games on saturday afternoon

I see in the Limerick Leader that Limerick fc are to play their home games on a Saturday afternoon, who came up with this ridiculous decision, I cant see them getting many people at the gate for this season as they will be competing with the English premier games again, isn't that the reason they went to Friday evening games in the first place, even Saturday evening games would be better that Saturday afternoon games, was this decision made because they are moving to a ground that has no flood lights or something cause I cant think of any other reason, ticket sales will be down next season because of this stupid decision....

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/L...and.4874838.jp
    Last edited by lfc at heart; 14/01/2009 at 7:29 PM.

537 Posts
    does that mean ye would be in market field next season if the deal goes through??

Quote Originally Posted by lfc at heart View Post
    I see in the Limerick Leader that Limerick fc are to play their home games on a Saturday afternoon, who came up with this ridiculous decision, I cant see them getting many people at the gate for this season as they will be competing with the English premier games again, isn't that the reason they went to Friday evening games in the first place, even Saturday evening games would be better that Saturday afternoon games, was this decision made because they are moving to a ground that has no flood lights or something cause I cant think of any other reason, ticket sales will be down next season because of this stupid decision....

think all first division games are going to Sat as its a league directive as 5 plus teams in first are going to be amateur. nothing to do with limerick what so ever

afternoons a joke though
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

agreed, but we're in jackman so there aint no need to play on the afternoons

I can see why Limerick would be playing on a saturday afternoon if its in the markets field (no lights) but i just can't understand them playing at that time if its going to be in jackman park, clashing with premiership soccer and club rugby in ireland. So silly. Also i see they are trying to get in on the matches in thomond park, i hope they do and that it benefits the club in some shape or form.

Thats the crowds down to half so. This is a ridiculous decision if it's true.

We will drop to 150 or less on Sat afternoons. Does this League actually want to just close down altogether ?

Face Facts LOI/Limerick FC we cannot compete on Saturday now that Setanta are showing 2 live premier games. Fri night is our only hope and if it's a case of no lights being the reason then we should not move until they are in place.

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

I'd say John that you're even pushing it at estimating a crowd of 150 for a Saturday afternoon game. Work, weekend activities, and the Premiership will easily see to that. Even a Saturday evening game would be badly affected, what with people using Saturday as the main social night. And I know that people should be making Limerick FC part of their Saturday night social scene, and that 'real' supporters will go no matter what blah blah blah and all that but no matter what spin you put on it, its Friday or bust I feel.

Thumbs up Nice one!

Quote Originally Posted by lfc at heart View Post
    I see in the Limerick Leader that Limerick fc are to play their home games on a Saturday afternoon,

Fridays can clash with Magners league, heavy traffic the late late show and shopping, and considering the barstooler/armchair fan brigade and your average AIL follower have very little interest in going to Jackman Park anyway at anytime Id love to give Sat Afternoons a go. (thats not to say it will work mind)

Anyone who goes to away games will agree. (getting back to Limerick at 2am aint a lot of fun)

Seeing as its only the leader thats said anything about changing to Sat afternoons I wont get too excited yet though but fingers crossed.

I'm inclined to agree with Monkfish. Saturday afternoon would probably suit me better personally as well so I'm being a bit selfish I must admit.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Munster play 5 or 6 Magners League games in Limerick each season, and 3-4 of those are during the close season for EL. What I can't see is how this is going to attract new support. Its going to make it harder to maintain what support was there, but sadly its a fact that people have more on their minds on a Saturday afternoon (Shopping, family commitments, socialising, DIY) than being attracted to a club that hasn't exactly endeared itself to anyone over the past few years.

The Friday night gig was working fine. It would continue to work fine. Why break something that already works and has shown potential and move to something that has 'DISASTER' written all over it?

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I'm inclined to agree with Monkfish.
    Its the only way to go. (agreeing with Monkfish that is)

We had a routine of going to the matches on Friday evenings as the start of a night out, though we went to fewer matches last season than the season before.

As an Aston Villa fan I'd like to see them visit.

I might surprise myself and go to some Saturday afternoon matches.

Do you think a return to the Markets is worth spending €40,000 on dressing rooms?

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post

The Friday night gig was working fine. It would continue to work fine. Why break something that already works and has shown potential and move to something that has 'DISASTER' written all over it?
    It might and it mightn't. Fewer midges on a summer afternoon than early evening in Jackman too. Jackman can be like Borneo for the midges at times.

Just looking for upsides and pluses.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Handy for away games as the Monk says. As a student in Cork it suits me down to the ground and if you pick EPL over LOI then, frankly, I don't want you at LFC games.
    We tend to believe that words enable thought. But words can also substitute for thought.

- Richard A. Posner

people have more on their minds on a Saturday afternoon (Shopping, family commitments, socialising, DIY) than being attracted to a club that hasn't exactly endeared itself to anyone over the past few years.
    A game is only 90mins out of a whole day Joe.
    Shopping? theres the rest of Saturday and indeed the week for that.
    Socialsing? strange as it seems this can be done before, during, and after games.
    Family commitments? while I sympathise with the man who only gets his kids one day a week......hang on, heres a suggestion, bring em to a game (loads already do)
    DIY? your having us on at this stage! if you decide/or get bullied by your wife to hang that shelf during a Limerick game then your no more a Limerick fan than Mick Wallace.

And what do you mean the club has not endeared itself to anyone recently? should we be giving out little toyota flags and sheets of paper with the words of a Galway song on it for everyone to sing? over and over and over.
    Last edited by Monkfish; 15/01/2009 at 12:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    A game is only 90mins out of a whole day Joe.
    Plus time getting to and from there...bringing it up to perhaps 3 hours for some people, people simply won't do that on a Saturday.
    Shopping? theres the rest of Saturday and indeed the week for that.
    Again, it may shock you, but the majority of people use their Saturdays for this purspose.
    Socialsing? strange as it seems this can be done before, during, and after games.
    See above
    Family commitments?. while I sympathise with the man who only gets his kids one day a week......hang on, heres a suggestion, bring em to a game (loads already do).
    Theres a lot more to do with your family on a Saturday afternoon as opposed to a Friday night.
    DIY? your having us on at this stage! if you decide/or get bullied by your wife to hang that shelf during a Limerick game then your no more a Limerick fan than Mick Wallace..
    Just an example...

And what do you mean the club has not endeared itself to anyone recently
    Tell me how it has??? It's doing a good job at the moment, but theres still a huge feeling of apathy for the senior soccer situation in Limerick. And my opinion, for what its worth, is that Saturday afternoon football will be a total flop.

Saturday afternoon football will be a total flop.
    Your probably right, considering the town is full of excuse makers.

I think if you read the full article it seems very likely that we will be returning to the Markets Field for the new season.This in itself will attract a lot more people initially and if we get off to a good start we should hold onto those fans.Also if they can get access to the bar on match days it will also be an incentive.
    Lads this is a lot better than the situation we were in this time last year.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

I don't see why people are not happy with Saturdays. If all First Division clubs change to Saturdays as proposed, it will improved attendances. I have met many people who say they were following Limerick but never make it to matches on Friday nights because of work, working or in college outside of Limerick.. etc The excuses for people not going to matches such as socialising, shopping can also be used on Friday evenings as well as Saturdays.

If people want to go to matches, they will go. If they don't they will make excuses. Simple as. While I understand some people work Saturdays (including myself) but that is also the case on Friday's. If it is takes 3 hours out of someones day to get to a match then surely Saturday games suit someone better than Friday evenings.

Someone who is going to watch a English match on TV over a Limerick match, is just as likely to go shopping on a Friday evening over a Limerick match. I think its worth a go anyways.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie