Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier Division 2009

Mayo Premier Division 2009

Its a bit early maybe but just curious as to what preparations the other clubs are making ahead of the new season?

Are any clubs back training yet??

any word on who made any of the teams of the year?

Teams were emailed to all clubs today - here is the Premier Div Team Of The Year:

Danny Kirby-Castlebar Celtic,

Willie Monaghan-Kilmore, Michael Costello- Straide & Foxford Utd, Joe Keane-Fahy Rovers, Ashley Atkinson - Straide & Foxford Utd,

Patrick Gilbert - Kilmore, Gerry Gaughan - Straide & Foxford Utd, Alan McDonnell - & Foxford Utd, Gary Goggins - Fahy Rovers,

Paul Fitzpatrick - Straide & Foxford Utd, Johnny Jordan - Straide & Foxford Utd.
    Last edited by Footy Mad; 12/01/2009 at 6:59 PM.

Super League Team Of The Year

James Jennings - Manulla,

Tom O’Connor - Ballina Town, Peter Burke -Ballyheane, Declan Flynn - Castlebar Celtic, Joe Lawless - Westport united,

David Cameron - Westport United, Stevie Gavin - Snugboro, Gary Grant - Ballina Town, Andy Neary - Castlebar Celtic.

Sean McHale -Castlebar Celtic, Dessie O’Malley - Westport United

Division 1 Team Of The Year

Shane Nallen - Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’

John Gill - Kiltimagh/Knock Utd, Noel Cooney - Achill Rovers, Tom Gruddy -Iorras Aontaithe ‘B’, Mark Ginnelly - Inver Utd.

Dean Connolly - Ballyglass, Colm English -Achill Rovers, Ross Kenny - Ballina Town ‘B’, Gary Brett - Ballyglass

Alan Coyle -Inver Utd, Krzysztof Tablonski - Achill Rovers
    Last edited by Footy Mad; 12/01/2009 at 7:12 PM.

Division 2 Team Of The Year

Martin Staunton - Clew Bay Utd.

Jonathan Beckett - Clew Bay Utd, Johnny O’Donnell -Mulranny Utd, David Maye -Cross Celtic, Enda Shield - Snugboro Utd. ‘B’

Barry Redmond -Castlebar Celtic ‘C’, Charlie O’Donnell - Mulranny Utd, Noel Mullen -Cross Celtic, Tommy Gill - Clew Bay Utd.

Johnny Oosten -Ballyheane ‘B’, Ronan Glynn - Glenisland Utd.

Quote Originally Posted by Footy Mad View Post
    Teams were emailed to all clubs today - here is the Premier Div Team Of The Year:

Willie Monaghan-Kilmore, Michael Costello- Straide & Foxford Utd, Joe Keane-Fahy Rovers, Ashley Atkinson - Straide & Foxford Utd,

Patrick Gilbert - Kilmore, Gerry Gaughan - Straide & Foxford Utd, Alan McDonnell - & Foxford Utd, Gary Goggins - Fahy Rovers,

Paul Fitzpatrick - Straide & Foxford Utd, Johnny Jordan - Straide & Foxford Utd.
    What do people think of that team? It seems that the promoted teams took serious precedent.. I know that S+F deserved to get the lions share but I´d say that Castlebar Celtic B and Westport B fancied something more considering they both finished ahead of Fahy and Kilmore. Delighted to see two Fahy players there anyway, especially Joe Keane, who deserved it last year too. I think Gary has made divisional teams about three or four times now, so well done to him as well for consistently high performances over the seven years we are up and running.

Has anyone got suggestions for people who may deserve an honorable mention from their club or any other in the division last season?

I was impressed with the Westport B Right back, think his name is Ray Kelly?? Still in school and really solid. Greg Reape might consider himself hard done by too..

Also, fair play to Johnny Beckett who got named on the division two team for Clew Bay, he might be persuaded to come to a higher level yet!!

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    What do people think of that team? It seems that the promoted teams took serious precedent..
    Partry got promoted and has no player on the team.

do players get any award for for making these teams ?

Quote Originally Posted by The Don View Post
    Partry got promoted and has no player on the team.
    That seems strange. Maybe ye didnt deserve one. I see Achill had 3 & Inver had 2. Who picked these teams or were the names pulled out of a hat.

Nice to see we got two, but it would also be nice if they got the names right. Willie, ha, ha. Yep you sure do get a prize. You get a nice certificate.

lads sometimes you would wonder where these team come from. 2 years ago a player was named on the super league team of the year. the lad played 7 games for his club and was taken off at half time 7 times. intresting

Has anyone got suggestions for people who may deserve an honorable mention from their club or any other in the division last season?

I suppose you would have to put in joe keanes smaller brother an peter drevins and mark towey of castlebar celtic.

Quote Originally Posted by kingkong View Post

I suppose you would have to put in joe keanes smaller brother an peter drevins and mark towey of castlebar celtic.
    Dont know Mark Towey but would agree with Tomas Keane and Peter Drevins...

Quote Originally Posted by walshek View Post
    lads sometimes you would wonder where these team come from. 2 years ago a player was named on the super league team of the year. the lad played 7 games for his club and was taken off at half time 7 times. intresting
    Wow, he must've been some player!!!!!!!!!!!
    Is he still playing????????

fully agree that reape from s and f should have been on the team as i felt that he really held the line together.anything that costello missed he swept up.arguably their player of the season in my opinion,possibly in the division.but as always teams will feel that they've been hard done by and that they've a player or two that should be on the team.haven't a clue how the teams are picked-does every team nominate a few lads in the division?

As far as i know its the ref's that pick them teams and maybe the reports that do be at the games.

with regards to the team s&f deserve as many players as possible on the team, ive seen them play alot last year between cup finals etc, i thought there keeper and that reape lad should have been on it, but next year will be a different story for them. but danny kirby had a good year as well. gary goggins also had a very good year. all in all i think the team looks the part.

all ye need now is a one day special, super league team vs premier team of the year!!!!!!

Who was he?

Quote Originally Posted by walshek View Post
    I wonder who that might be. Seeing that you have the facts of the player in question, he must be from your club or either that you saw that team playing on all those occasions, even the away games. Maybe you should name the player.

Its crazy Craig Reape isnt on the team of the year.. Very consistent and solid all year and i hear he has continued that form for Galway United..

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    Its crazy Craig Reape isnt on the team of the year.. Very consistent and solid all year and i hear he has continued that form for Galway United..
    fair play to him if he's on Galway united team didn't think he was gonna be on team of year though.

Best player not on that team is colin Napier who plays left back for fahy. He was outstanding all year.

Refs pick these teams so fair reflection cause f all others watch all games

Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast