Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Sean Connor

69 Posts
    Connor confirmed as new Dundalk manager.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    My commiserations

1,524 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    My commiserations
    Isn't it true that most Southport fans thought very little of Paul Cook?

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Isn't it true that most Southport fans thought very little of Paul Cook?
    Good point we`do have an excellent eye for a manager.

I honestly could not care how Connor gets on just think about Europe

Adds something to our Dundalk games now, can't wait to see the runt back in the Showgrounds again.

I didn't think any club would be foolish enough to appoint Connor again.

81 Posts
    Thats funny because in these two threads all but a few of you thought he was a great manager and didnt want him to go.
    If he gets us to the same level as he got yous and fecks off to another club i'll be more than happy.

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=42912&highlight=connor
    http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=45282&highlight=connor

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Thats funny because in these two threads all but a few of you thought he was a great manager and didnt want him to go.
    If he gets us to the same level as he got yous and fecks off to another club i'll be more than happy.

To be fair to Sligoman and did not see too much there. Anyway no fans wants to see their manager walk out on them. I don't blame him for going to Bohs at the time but the way he went was very disrespectful and that more than anything is what got people's backs up. Looks like he can stilll talk bull though if he got a job bar Harps. Check up on his footballing career

Hindsight is a great thing. Dundalk had the benefit of it, we didn't, yet ye still appointed him.

How long is his contract? Just the one year I hope because if it's much longer ye could be in trouble when it comes to buying it out.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lilywhites View Post
    hard luck!expect allot of falling s out and the constant name dropping.

151 Posts
    Has Steve Bruce been on yet, or old friend, Mick McCarthy, begging to be put on the list for a pre-season

Try not to be as ignorant as the Bohs fans. We tried to tell them when they appointed him.....but would they listen
    "Overwhelmed"

NEWSFLASH:

Dundalk announce new Youth Link with Wigan.

Connor: "Steve Bruce is my pal"

85 Posts
    How long is his contract? Just the one year I hope because if it's much longer ye could be in trouble when it comes to buying it out.
    It's a one year contract.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    It's a one year contract.
    Full-time.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Listen lads, I as much as everyone else was left feeling a little bitter towards Sean Connor because of the way he left us for Bohs despite the fact that by that stage I had lost a lot of faith in his abilities as a manager but all that is in the past now and I think we should all move on from what seems to be something of an obsessive and in many ways pitiful loathing of the man and everything he has done since he left the club.

We as a club have moved on and its time to let him move on. We have all have made mistakes in our past and Sean Connor certainly has made a lot of mistakes but what remains to be seen now is has he learned from those mistakes.

The bottom line for us is that Sean Connor was the manager who got us back into the top division in Irish Soccer after years in the wilderness under managers who are a lot more deserving of our ire than he is.

Time to cut the guy a break and wish him luck!

38 Posts
    Well said Redie, he did a decent job for Sligo and was hounded out of Bohs,deserves a chance and his teams try and play the game the right way!

Quote Originally Posted by Blackcastle View Post
    his teams try and play the game the right way!
    No they don't

Unless the right way is booting it up the pitch like it was a grenade

Still I bear him no ill will at this stage

was sure Kenna had the job wrapped up....oh well

Best of luck Sean, ya we jippo

Interesting that Dundalk only offered a 1 year deal, maybe they're not sure what their getting in to?

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blackcastle View Post
    Well said Redie, he did a decent job for Sligo and was hounded out of Bohs,deserves a chance and his teams try and play the game the right way!
    Howya, Seanie, long time no see. Watch d'owl kneecaps about Dundalk.

Kenna was offered the job first but declined!

SC was offered the job but there is a clause in his contract that he must report to the board about team selection if requested according to the papers?

Seems strange but who knows?

As for SC being a good manager - for us he was a necessary evil - his ego is something to behold and he has left his previous two clubs under a cloud (no smoke without fire) - but he got us where we needed to be and done a runner which was a blessing in disguise so this gives us rovers fans an excellent chance to be abusive to him in the dug out and we are grateful for that as well!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123