Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Weekend games 22/23/24/25 April

36 Posts
    Drogheda are as good as relegated.
    doubt that... bray are a shocking team..... drogs we edge them in a playoff again when it comes down to it

3,232 Posts
    Bray straight down (or so I thought before last night).

Drogheda to lose the play-off. I can't see any of the other Premier teams losing to them over two legs, or indeed the likes of Derry, Monaghan, Waterford, etc.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bray-Z View Post
    Hopefully not!
    Im afraid the sending off was possibly the worst ive ever see in over 40 years of going to soccer games. I missed the sending off as I was opening up the exit gates but the rte cameraman showed us the footage directly after the game and the ball didnt go within 5 yards of Mr. Doyle never mind strike him. The referee was also shown the video so if the red card stands there is something seriously wrong.

Also Dodge the challenge the ref blew for wasnt a foul but a bit of high diving from Cash. Not a single mention of the stonewall penalty the officials missed in the 36th minute but after seeing the sending off no wonder the ref didnt see it because his eyesight is definitely bad.

We were poor last night but we were missing 3/4 of our starting midfield and the schedule of games we have had in the last 3 weeks is madness for such a small squad. The amount of midweek games is crazy this season.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

They'll lose the play-offs.
    ha its a shame to hear you thinking that they will finish above you

Surprisingly I didn't think the pen was stonewall at all. Seen worse given though. Pats should've had one too in first half when Byrne was hauled down.

The point I was trying to make though is that the only posts I read from Galway fans last night were ones attacking the ref (who was crap, no argument there) when his performance didn't affect the result at all. His fussiness was unreal, and he made loads of errors but he didn't make galway play as poorly as thye did last night

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    The amount of midweek games is crazy this season.
    Midweek games just do not work. Clubs lose out big time on gate recipts.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Surprisingly I didn't think the pen was stonewall at all. Seen worse given though. Pats should've had one too in first half when Byrne was hauled down.

The point I was trying to make though is that the only posts I read from Galway fans last night were ones attacking the ref (who was crap, no argument there) when his performance didn't affect the result at all. His fussiness was unreal, and he made loads of errors but he didn't make galway play as poorly as thye did last night
    Wouldnt blame the ref for our loss but we had Ciaran Foley,Bobby Ryan & Derek O'Brien missing from our midfield and we have the smallest squad in the league so its very hard to cover that many 1st teamers missing.

The video of the sending off (and I presume RTE will show it) is just a vindication of how poor our current set of Referees is and after Mr. Tomney's howler against Fingal leaves a very bitter taste in the mouth for Galway fans.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

44 Posts
    The ref in Oriel was absolutely shocking last night...handing out yellow cards like there was no tomorrow and just showing total inconsistancy in decision making.

Not making excuses...we were sh*te last night...but it just adds to the frustration.

Also one of the lads who records the games has watched Tiernan Mulvennas disallowed goal from the rebound of Fenns strike of the bar and he was yards onside. This would have put us 3-2 ahead.As i say not trying to take away from Brays spirited display but i think even Roo69 would agree the officials were shocking
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

3,232 Posts
    Actually, while we're moaning about refs, our one last night missed two elbows by Drogheda players; either could easily have been a straight red. Supposedly one of the Drogheda players had a go at one of our players after the whistle as well. All's not Hunky Dory in Drogheda.

(Sorry bout that...)

I thought Bobby Ryan was on the bench last night? It was particularly noticeable how small your squad was when Sheppard was clearly struggling with an injury but "forced" to carry on. Pats might be in a similar position if either of our centre halves get injured.

Drogheda to lose the play-off. I can't see any of the other Premier teams losing to them over two legs
    It's only 1 leg, or at least it was last year.

3,232 Posts
    Oh yeah; final's two legs.

So Drogs would be away for the Premier tie, which makes it slightly harder for them again.

UNless they're playing Pats

Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Do you still think Amond isn't the player we thought he was and doesn't give a sh1t? Who is your scapegoat going to be next time we lose?

Whomever doesn't look up to it...obviously.

141 Posts
    No way did Neil Doyle cost us points last night . . . but he might cost us points on Friday by sending off Ryan last night. Dying to see the replay, didn't think the ball hit the ref . . . but at the same time, Barry Ryan is one of our most experienced players and should have known better than to kick the ball like that.
    As for the United 'peno' personally I wouldn't have given it, and would have gone ape if it was awarded against us. The Pats defender was only a couple of feet away from King when he crossed, don't think his hand was raised, and would have had no time to move it out of the way.
    We were brutal last night, never looked like breaching the meanest defence in the league, and very concerned about Sheppard - tells you how small and average our squad is when he picks up what looks like a back injury but is asked to play on for a while
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

3,232 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    UNless they're playing Pats
    This is true. I would love to know how they managed to beat ye.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    We deserved a win from Tallaght tonight, put alot of pressure on Shams once we scored. They resorted to hoof tactics, and I don't think stringed together four passes in the second half. Murray is one of the most shocking defenders in the league, once a cheat, always a cheat, eh? The man cannot play football. Shams 'fans' went very quiet after Amond scored his wondergoal, didn't hear a peep out of them second half. Think tonight proved too that Richie Ryan is the best midfielder in the league. Didn't put on foot wrong all night, and was at the centre of everything.

Bit of trouble on the luas machine on the way home too, little Shams hooligans banging on the roof and being disruptive according to my source. Heard the tram stopped at Cookstown for nearly a half hour waiting for the Garda to come and repremand the Shams 'fans'.
    Yeah was on the luas last night when we were stuck at Cookstown for probably 20 minutes waiting for the gardai to turn up. Didn't hear what had happened at the time and didn't see them taking anyone away. Just arrived, went to the top of the tram and headed off again a few minutes later from where I was sitting

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post

Bit of trouble on the luas machine on the way home too, little Shams hooligans banging on the roof and being disruptive according to my source. Heard the tram stopped at Cookstown for nearly a half hour waiting for the Garda to come and repremand the Shams 'fans'.
    Yet your mate Nah Nah Nah Nah who was on the tram saw and heard nothing mmmmm I thought the "according to my source "lark was no longer good enough to substantiate such stories on here,Pinapple do enlighten me please.

387 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RoversHead View Post
    Yet your mate Nah Nah Nah Nah who was on the tram saw and heard nothing mmmmm I thought the "according to my source "lark was no longer good enough to substantiate such stories on here,Pinapple do enlighten me please.
    He's no mate of mine!

I was down the other end of the Luas with my ipod on so have no idea what was happening up there but I do know that the tram was delayed for 20 minutes and so and the cops were called.

This is true. I would love to know how they managed to beat ye.
    Well everyobne keeps saying we're mediocre...

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast