Thread: GUFC V. Cobh

37 Posts

GUFC V. Cobh

I was in Cobh on Wednessday. There is a great deal of expectation about the game in the town. There are posters everywhere and the local media are demanding that the locals come out in force to support The Rams in this 6 pointer.

Ramblers must come up with a lot of cash this week to avoid trouble from the Revenue Comissioners. The need a big crowd to show the world that Cobh is good enough to sustain a club in the Premier Division.

Cobh have been a bogey team for United over the years and JK will have his work cut out for him.
    Last edited by Paddyfield; 28/08/2008 at 9:47 PM.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

We need a win, I don't care how we get it, all we need is three points.

Need a win.

Its not a TOTAL must win game but its pretty close to it.As long as we do better then Harps,UCD for the next few weeks and then beat them when we play them.So with both of those having tough matches this weekend if we could win it would be huge.Cobh are the worst team in the division though and so surely if we play some decent stuff and actually shoot we should nick it.
    1-0 or 2-1 to us.

I feel at ease about this game and a 2-0 win is on the cards with Jay having one of those games where he will run the defence all over the park .
    Jay to score both goals also .

74 Posts
    we never get anything easy down there so all this talk of winning it easy is way overboard.If we play like we did against Derry we will get something probably a win but anything less than 100% commitment by everyone and we will end up losing this one.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

im hopeful for a torturous 1-0 win - awful tight game i reckon - provide we dont give our usual first 5 mins gift
    more water!

64 Posts
    2-0 down. Updates on www.galwayunitedfc.net

64 Posts
    4-1 loss

That's that anyway.

An insult to the supporters who travelled to Cobh.

Appalling rubbish.

Quote Originally Posted by Maroon 7 View Post
    That's that anyway.
    Ya, we can now look forward to another 5 years in the first division.
    Dont anybody even think of saying otherwise

otherwise

Wow.

Thats as poor a result as ive ever seen from the club.Even i may now utter the words "we are gone"(i know i just did).Its not technically over,4 points off from 9 games left but really you have to think how will the lads pick themselves up from this.Also with the games we have coming up too it looks like one more nail in the coffin.
    Seemed to be a weird formation Jeff had out tonight or was it just the way MIKe Raf described it,was jorgensen playing wide right??Surely Jay was playing there??
    Poor stuff tonight,no heart,no passion,the amount of times i heard Mike Raf say "and one of the Utd lads has just been out muscled to that ball" or "out fought for that ball" was so sad.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Seemed to be a weird formation Jeff had out tonight or was it just the way MIKe Raf described it,was jorgensen playing wide right??Surely Jay was playing there??
    It was 4-4-2 afaik.
    1 Rogers,
    25 Conneely, 33 Kenna, 5 Fitzgerald, 3 McCulloch
    19 O Shea, 9 Murphy, 24 Russell, 14 Davoren
    10 Jorgensen, 28 Molloy

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    I feel at ease about this game and a 2-0 win is on the cards with Jay having one of those games where he will run the defence all over the park .
    Jay to score both goals also .
    hehe..

Mr. Kenna learned a harsh lesson tonight on management, saying midweek that we were relegated and he wouldnt worry bout us, totally ****ed him up, he didnt acknoledge hendo b4 the match, not once, bang out of order IMO, and after the match he got so much abuse from our fans, he'll never forget our place.

Have to say ye were **** poor, being honest, dont know what happened us but we were on fire in front of goal, 3 of the 4 golas were screamers, cant wait to watch MNS.

Ye're support tonight was fantastic and very friendly group of lads to be fair, whoever the langer supprting ipswich was i felt sorry for him. Ipswich and Galway?? Poor ****er..

Well done to the galway fans, and jeff, unlucky lad
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Didnt see that where he said ye were relegated but he was probably right about that anyway, but very much wrong not to worry about Cobh. Very bad night for Galway United.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Well done to Cobh on your win.

No-one from United or Jeff Kenna ever said that Cobh were relegated. This was just mind games from Henderson, which obviously worked.

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Well done to Cobh on your win.

No-one from United or Jeff Kenna ever said that Cobh were relegated. This was just mind games from Henderson, which obviously worked.
    Na he was quoted on it during the week in the press, irrelevant really, hes a credit to the league, we were very happy to have a man with his footballing CV, play in St.Colmans

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

If you can produce this quote, I will donate E20 to the "Save Ramblers" fund !

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    If you can produce this quote, I will donate E20 to the "Save Ramblers" fund !
    *******, hit me where it hurts anyway.. I'llget back to you tomorrow on that..