Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Drogheda in trouble?

Suppose that's why you could only get five fans down to the ground for a piece with the local paper, is it?

Adds a whole new meaning to "Famous 4 5 ultras"
    Failing miserably there again ucd boy .5 16 year old lads who are passionate about there local club wrote letters in to the local paper and were asked to pose for some photos at the last min by the paper .Whats your point then ? A large protest was/is planned but we were asked by the club to wait for more details from them before we go ahead .Lots of things going on behind the scenes that the likes of you no nothing about .You seem to be absolutely chuffed that real football clubs are in trouble .Even if we do end up going bust at least we will have experienced what its like to win a leauge and had some great days out in europe etc .Something you and the rest of the ucd muppets on here will never get

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    And still they come................

UCD lads - get over the fact that Paul Doolin wanted to go to a proper club and win trophies.
    Ah, now. We don't mind that he left. We were bloody delighted he left. One of the club officials has even gone so far as to say that we'd happily have paid Drogheda to take him off our hands, as it saved us a fairly expensive sacking.

We'd have forgotten him by now if it wasn't for the fact that he's refused to accept that he left the club in ruins (can you actually imagine a UCD unable to field an U21 side?), with a good squad umpteen points adrift of safety. We can see him for what he is - an arrogant, s*** manager who can only achieve anything at a club running millions in the red each year.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    One of the club officials has even gone so far as to say that we'd happily have paid Drogheda to take him off our hands, as it saved us a fairly expensive sacking.
    Actually, we did pay Drogheda to take him off our hands.

Quote Originally Posted by CelDrog
    Don't know about you StamullenDrog, but I'll depend on Vincent Hoey, if he asks for help I do whatever I can. He hasn't let us down in 46 years.
    Exactly what Shels fans said about Ollie Byrne.

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog
    5 16 year old lads who are passionate about there local club wrote letters in to the local paper and were asked to pose for some photos at the last min by the paper
    Nope; cosmo was one to send a letter in, for example, and I know he's not 16.

And by the way, I'm as jealous of youz as I am of Shels. It's just pathetic that people continually focus on short term gains, think they're doing great things for the league and having some sort of superiority complex and reckoning everyone's jealous of them and anyone who criticises them is just bitter while all they're donig is trading their club's future for one small bite of success while doing nothing to prepare for the inevitable bump.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 12/09/2008 at 12:25 PM.

Any chance ye could take a break from the usual UCD-Drogs bickering?

Have Drogs offered contracts to players for next season? Are many players still out of contract at the end of the season?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Any chance ye could take a break from the usual UCD-Drogs bickering?
    Have Drogs offered contracts to players for next season? Are many players still out of contract at the end of the season?
    In fairness Pete - its a Drogs forum - its not like we are going to a UCD one (if it exists) and acting the maggot. I don't see any other clubs fans coming on here and revelling on the difficulty of a club. How would you like if we went to the Cork forum and started spouting ****e about hoping no buyer is found, all your players are released and your club folds. Think you'll find the vast majority of Drogs fans hope Cork are as strong at the start of next season as they were at the start of this season. Imagine four from Bohs, Derry, Cork, Pats and Drogs in Europe next year, all as strong as ever. Imagine then if we let UCD back into Europe????

Some players are not out of contract - not sure who, but I think its a lot. Adam Hughes and Faz obviously. Ollie and Robbo signed new deals a few weeks ago.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

811 Posts
    In fairness Pete - its a Drogs forum - its not like we are going to a UCD one (if it exists) and acting the maggot. I don't see any other clubs fans coming on here and revelling on the difficulty of a club. How would you like if we went to the Cork forum and started spouting ****e about hoping no buyer is found, all your players are released and your club folds. Think you'll find the vast majority of Drogs fans hope Cork are as strong at the start of next season as they were at the start of this season. Imagine four from Bohs, Derry, Cork, Pats and Drogs in Europe next year, all as strong as ever. Imagine then if we let UCD back into Europe????
    Nice strawman there. Read the posts from UCD fans here. Not one of them expresses an opinion along the lines of "hoping no buyer is found, all your players are released and your club folds." Most of us are curious about the state of the league (and yes, the league champions possibly going tits up is pretty relevant to that) and a little irked that the same old pattern of overspend and bust is still in place, for all the FAI promises. In return, we get jibes about our attendences.

Actually, I just read the thread again. I've been slightly misleading here. It's just Celdrog stirring ****. Sorry Drogs fans, for tarring you all with the same brush.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

3,488 Posts
    How would you like if we went to the Cork forum and started spouting ****e about hoping no buyer is found, all your players are released and your club folds.
    Show me where anyone said that.

Imagine four from Bohs, Derry, Cork, Pats and Drogs in Europe next year, all as strong as ever.
    See, this is the overall problem. I'd love if teams that strong could compete in Europe on a regular basis. The problem is that all those clubs (Derry to a much lesser extent) are completely and utterly unsustainable. People have gotten a taste for European success and getting to touching distance of the group stages in Europe and now think that the league as it stands has a right to expect that. That's all nonsense. Structurally, the league has no more suddenly improved than the Irish economy did in the late 70s/early 80s, and we all know what happened next. Anyone who thinks it's wrong to point that out, preferring to believe that what we have will remain unchanged (like your post I've just quoted), is a fool.

What have we here? - an accountant who cannot read. I never said UCD fans were saying you hoped we went bang. What I said was that you were revelling in the difficulties we have. Read a few of your posts and then get someone to explain it to them.
    Stu, if you think its funny that I am not doing anything to save the club, read this and you might see where I'm coming from.
    http://www.droghedaunited.ie/news/single/id/1448
    I'd point you to a few of your posts on DrogsWeb, but of course, you were banned almost twelve months ago for being a wum and persistent personal abuse towards Drogs posters

And John83, if you think I'm **** stirring and don't like it then **** off away from a Drogs forum.

Pity there is no ignore button on here.
    Last edited by Celdrog; 12/09/2008 at 3:59 PM.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

3,488 Posts
    All is well...

I'm not revelling in Drogheda's problems; I'm dismayed that no-one's doing anything to stop the next embarrassment to the league.

Mod hat - try discuss things without resorting to telling people to **** off.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 12/09/2008 at 4:11 PM.

All is well...

I'm not revelling in Drogheda's problems; I'm dismayed that no-one's doing anything to stop the next embarrassment to the league.

Mod hat - try discuss things without resorting to telling people to **** off.
    Fair point, ok for a UCD fan to accuse me of **** stirring, though.

Giovanni di Stefano attempting to buy Shels is a long way from Vincent Hoey pursuing plan B. One is a lifelong fan and chairman of a club in his heart, never mind close to it, the other is, well, di Stefano. Shels had to get to the group stage sof the CL, we have to get a stadium built.
    So you need not be dismayed, as we keep telling you Vincent Hoey (and Chris and Eugene) are trying to find a solution. They are better placed than any of us.

And - are you seriously a mod?

3,488 Posts
    My point wasn't about di Stefano; it was about Ollie saying that everything'd be OK, so could everyone go away and leave him to it. That's the basic message from the article I linked. Same as Hoey's statement.

Suppose that's why you could only get five fans down to the ground for a piece with the local paper, is it?

still done well last minute thing the lads were only asked to go down monday evening on monday afternoon and still we managed to get the equal of ucd's traveling support to show up

WTF are you on about?

are you on a wum? Any mods watching this thread cos youre defo on a wum?

For the record, and I shouldnt even bother responding to wumming like this, the DI asked a couple of young lads to pose outside the ground as they were doing a pice on the stadium problems? Like wtf is your point? Eh, they shouldve asked for more to pose for their photo or what to amke their picture in the paper better?
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Stu your constant sniping and criticising is becoming a real pain in the hole FFS . Do you really think we are all as happy as larry and doing nothing about the situation ? We are not , we as fans are distraught about the current situation . We also know alot more about what is going on than is being publicly talked about on websites , but for obvious reasons cant say anything about it .And it " really " comes across like you are revelling in Drogheda's problems big time ! You talk about things being unsustainable , we know this as a club and are trying to change the way our club is run in the future but is being fcuked over by various people in the process .And one last thing STOP comparing Vincent Hoey to Ollie Byrne .They couldnt be any more different .

What's the latest news from the club.?
    I see a statement on the club official web site from the chairmand which doesn't say a lot.

Any additional information on top of that?

Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    What's the latest news from the club.?
    I see a statement on the club official web site from the chairmand which doesn't say a lot.

Any additional information on top of that?

rumours apparently that i personally dont know any of and to be fair i wouldnt put them up if i did as it wouldnt be fair on the club anyway mr morgan how dare you ask a civilised question you should be sniping like stu and his cronies there

Quote Originally Posted by stamullendrog View Post
    you should be sniping like stu and his cronies there
    PS is a f***** wum when it comes to the drogs- its very boring readings his posts on us.

Anyway todays business post http://www.sbpost.ie/post/pages/p/st...934-qqqx=1.asp
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog
    How would you like if we went to the Cork forum and started spouting ****e about hoping no buyer is found, all your players are released and your club folds.
    http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=102661

Quote Originally Posted by Pineapple Stu
    I don't care to predict when we'll go down, if indeed we do (though I think we will). I'll try and garner what enjoyment there is to be had from the remaining games, and then enjoy being at the top of the table scoring goals for a change. Meanwhile, I'll (hopefully) enjoy clubs going boom in the top flight, meaning it'll be easier for us to stay up next term.
    That good enough for you Stu - at least you realise the only way you will be a real club is if others go bang. Pity we are not playing you near the end of the season

3,488 Posts
    Obsessed...

Obsessed...