Thread: Betting League Rules ?

Betting League Rules ?

guys these are the rules we planned to start with last week i thought they where ok but im putting them out there again for more imput. I don't want this to be overrun with pointless over bearing rules its just a little bit of fun. I'm hoping this will be self regulating but myself and the Boss will be in charge for now.

Rules

1. For football bets use Irish, English, Scottish leagues and international matches.Golf Snooker and Rugby for big tournaments also aloud.
    2. Use Oddschecker.com to get the odds
    3. Starting kitty 20 points
    4. Minimum bet 0.5 points, Max no restrictions as long as you have that amount in the
    kitty. when your kitty reaches 0 you are out.
    5. Bets can be posted up to 1/2 hour before kick off.
    6. I was hoping to have 1 post that you would update but i dont think we can do that so just quote your own post with your results.
    7. Top of the post should show your present and previous kitty amounts
    8. Bets posted like this :
    game : result : odds : where did the odds come from : amount staked : result :
    profit/loss
    Ie
    Man utd V Chelsea : Utd win : 2/1 : paddy powers : 2 points : Win : +3
    9. it will have to work on the honour system so any one found cheating will be kicked out straight away.
    10. No talking about bets or anything else in this League thread please use the betting league ? one instead

Now the main questions that came up where do you want to open up the betting to all sports or keep it to the few mentioned.
    do you want a maximum number of bets per week or leave it open to the punter to decide ( with in reason )
    do you want some one to get deducted points if they dont bet in a week or to have them kicked out for not betting for 2 or 3 weeks running ( with out letting me know they are on hols or something )

For people that want to join later in the year how do ye want to run that ?
    i was thinking -1 point per week they miss so if they want to join in 8 weeks time they would start on 12 points.

Anything else you can think of now is the time to post it, please leave a post even it its just to say you think the rules are fine we need to get everyone agreed and get this up and running this week.

we will close the rules on thursday morning then open the betting thread.
    Last edited by anto1208; 25/08/2008 at 5:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    5. Bets must be posted 1/2 hour before kick off.
    Can you post a few hours before a game? Like to you mean at least 30mins before kickoff?

Would it be an idea to get this stickied all over the forum to try and get more people involved?

Btw fair play for organising it!!

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Can you post a few hours before a game? Like to you mean at least 30mins before kickoff?

Would it be an idea to get this stickied all over the forum to try and get more people involved?

Btw fair play for organising it!!
    Thanks for replying this is what we need to get the rules right.

yip thats what it means at least 30 mins before kick off. you can post the bet at any stage upto 30mins before ( but i wont be too fussed if its 25 mins before ).

i think there is quite a few interested as the last thread got over 200 views but the amount of people replying is quite low and to tell the truth a nice handy number 10-20 people involved would be perfect and easier to manage.

462 Posts
    I would propose these rules:

1. Start with €50, Each Player must only use 1 Bookmaker all the way through (If you choose PaddyPower for first bet, you must them for all bets)
    2. Bet on any sport but must mention the date and time of the event
    3. You must bet at least €5 per week, week begins Monday, ends Sunday. Fail to do this and you will be deducted 15% of your Balance(23:59 on Sunday).
    4. You can do as many bets as you want providing you are within your balance.
    5. If you become bankrupt, you can leave the game or come back into the game, in one of 2 ways, get a loan from another player but must pay back the player 14 days later with 10% Interest. Take money from the bank which will be regulated by the runners of the game, the bank will be set at €250 and you must pay the bank interest of 25% 21 days later.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    1. Start with €50, Each Player must only use 1 Bookmaker all the way through
    That makes no sense at all, you should be able to take the best price available.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    That makes no sense at all, you should be able to take the best price available.
    Agreed.

3. You must bet at least €5 per week, week begins Monday, ends Sunday. Fail to do this and you will be deducted 15% of your Balance(23:59 on Sunday).
    5. If you become bankrupt, you can leave the game or come back into the game, in one of 2 ways, get a loan from another player but must pay back the player 14 days later with 10% Interest. Take money from the bank which will be regulated by the runners of the game, the bank will be set at €250 and you must pay the bank interest of 25% 21 days later.
    I don't think there should be a requirement to bet every week. If nothing looks good, why risk your money? I wouldn't do it in real life.

If someone goes through the season, makes 3 big bets, and ends up as the winner, I think that's just as valid as someone making a bet every week.

I would propose these rules:

1. Start with €50, Each Player must only use 1 Bookmaker all the way through (If you choose PaddyPower for first bet, you must them for all bets)
    1. I think if we are going to use one bookie everyone should use that one to keep it uniform or else leave it open
    2. I think this is prob the best option
    3. maybe introduce a holiday pass so if some one is going on hols for a week they could request a holiday pass for that week to avoid loosing points.
    4. agree with this
    5. very good idea i was wondering how to handle people going out of the game and wanting to get back in we could add if you go bankrupt while owing money to the bank your out completely to stop people betting ridiculous amount borrowing and doing it all over again and again.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    1. I think if we are going to use one bookie everyone should use that one to keep it uniform or else leave it open
    Part of betting/tipping is getting the best price availble. put a link to oddschecker or bestbetting at the start of the forum. Also, what if what someone wants to bet on isnt covered by the bookmaker your going with?

Blog

462 Posts
    I understand when say to best odds, but in general, do any of you have about 5 or 6 accounts from other bookies with roughly the same amount of money in them, I think not, its like choosing a betting website to deposit your money in.

65 Posts
    So basically you couldnt be arsed going to bother opening more than one account?

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by centre mid View Post
    Part of betting/tipping is getting the best price availble. put a link to oddschecker or bestbetting at the start of the forum. Also, what if what someone wants to bet on isnt covered by the bookmaker your going with?
    Yea i think its what you would do in real life so i think using oddschecker is fine seems to be a lot of support for this way.

How about we start using oddschecker and if its causing problems we ll restrict it later.

462 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    I don't think there should be a requirement to bet every week. If nothing looks good, why risk your money? I wouldn't do it in real life.

If someone goes through the season, makes 3 big bets, and ends up as the winner, I think that's just as valid as someone making a bet every week.
    Yes, very true. But it is to allow for the fact of players that will not come back, like they only play in week 1+2 and then, you never see them again posting in the thread or even forget about the game.

how about a 3 or 4 week cut off point for dead accounts

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    To be honest I don't know whats all the problem. Whatever format seems fine to me. Come on lets get it rolling

462 Posts
    We need a final set of rules to begin

Rules (2nd draft )

1. you can bet on any sport just name date, time and place.
    2. Use oddschecker.com to get your odds
    3. Starting kitty of 50 euro
    4. Minimum bet size 1 euro
    5. No max bet size as long as its covered by your balance.
    6. No min or max number of bets (within reason) but If your account
    goes dead for 4 weeks it will be closed.
    7. Bets can be placed up to 30 mins before kick off.
    8. Quote your previous post with the updates results etc
    9. We will use an honour system so be honest don’t cheat if you get
    caught cheating your gone.
    10. No talking about any thing in the thread just place your bets
    11. If you reach 0 you are out of the league you can buy back in with a
    loan from another player or bank. Player loans must be repaid
    within 14days at 10% interest and Bank loans must be repaid
    within 21 days at 25% interest.
    12. Betting is opened at 10 am Monday until 9 am the following Monday.
    13. Posts should look like this

Present Kitty 20
    Previous Kitty 20

Bet
    Game : Your bet : Odds : Bookie : amount staked : result

Total profit/loss this week +2

Ie

Man Utd V Chelsea : Utd win : 2/1 : paddy power: 1 point : win : +3
    Liverpool V spurs : spurs win : 4/1 Paddy power :1 point : Lose -1

Total profit/loss this week +2

462 Posts
    Everyone happy with the Rules ?

We need a roll call of entrants, We need a minimum of 10 players imo.

65 Posts
    I'm In anyway

Blog

i guess im in

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    I am in
    (by the way you know i wasnt really trying on the other thread, right)