Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Thread: Tonight's latest

48 Posts
    First of all, a massive well done to Wexford in one of the biggest upsets in LOI history.

But AFAIK the toss of the coin has been done at a football match the following friday to decide the venue.

We lost the toss to UCD 4 years ago and we won the toss which happened at our game V Bohs at Dalyer the following year with Shels having to travel to the Brandywell.Last year we won the toss for the 2nd time out of 3 to host Bohs.

Unless something has changed without Derry being informed, and considering we were the only team who were in the final until the game tonight then I very much doubt it has been decided yet.

I'm sure if the game was in Wexford we would take at least 1,500 down as it's on a friday this year. We took 1,300+ to the UCD game which was on a monday.

How many can Wexford cater for as I'm sure they would get the barstoolers out for this game, 4,000? If so it won't make any difference to the gate as thats probably how many would be at the Brandywell.

So either a toss of a coin or possibly a big day out in Tolka on a weekend might bring a bit of extra glammour for Wexfords biggest game in their history.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohemian1890 View Post
    Great result for the Wexford would be great to see them go on to beat the whingers.
    The same way as you's failed for the 2nd year in a row to beat us in it
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    You having a giraffe??? For an away fan it's one of the worst in the league, disgraceful treatment of away fans down there too.
    Absolutely wrong. Already one of the best away trips in the league, a great place to go, and we'd have had a big crowd there both times with no problems at all. No problems with away fans sitting anywhere they liked, the stand for both our games had both sets of supporters well mixed all through the middle (we had an end each). No hassle at all with stewards, and why would you get chips when you can have a panino? Nothing but good memories of the place from both our trips there. Since most others say the same I wonder why you don't.

Fantastic result for the Youths, wonderful achievement, delighted for ye. Will be more delighted when ye win it now.
    Last edited by stann; 26/08/2008 at 6:38 AM.
    more bass

Well Done to the Youths and fair play to the travelling support, a credit to the club. Good luck in the final and for the rest of the league season.

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Absolutely wrong.
    Actually you're right, yeah none of it happened at all, i must have imagined it

I don't think the venue for the final is decided yet. There's an interview with Mick after the game on www.wexfordyouthsfcsc.com. He's kinda like "we were lead to believe we might get a home fixture if we won".

If we win the toincoss we'll definitely want to play it in Ferrycarrig and not Waterford/Tolka/Wherever. At the minute we've only a temporary stand holding 600-odd though so it could be a bit of a problem! Lets just wait and see what happens.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaWexford View Post
    "we were lead to believe we might get a home fixture if we won".
    The FAI in a nutshell.
    If we win the toincoss we'll definitely want to play it in Ferrycarrig and not Waterford/Tolka/Wherever. At the minute we've only a temporary stand holding 600-odd though so it could be a bit of a problem! Lets just wait and see what happens.
    Whats your safe holding capacity?

Doesn't sound like the ground is up to it, although given they allowed Belfield a few years ago, anythings possible.

115 Posts
    Actually you're right, yeah none of it happened at all, i must have imagined it
    Well if you say so.
    What I was saying, I would have thought quite obviously but there you go, is that you are absolutely wrong to make the sweeping claim that 'for an away fan' the Youths complex is one of the worst in the league, when you're clearly basing it on one occasion when you were there, which coincided with the p***ed-up carry-on of a bunch of your fellow fans that necessitated Garda involvement, and that if you read the various testimonials over the last couple of seasons from people who've been to games there you'll find very few of them, if any, to join your bandwagon. That's all.
    Last edited by stann; 26/08/2008 at 10:10 AM.
    more bass

I don't think the venue for the final is decided yet. There's an interview with Mick after the game on www.wexfordyouthsfcsc.com. He's kinda like "we were lead to believe we might get a home fixture if we won".

With Mick's contacts in the construction/building industry. I can see him get more temporary seating if the draw came to be we played the final at Ferrycarraig. It can cater for this kind of game, more food needed though. Standing wise Ferrycarraig could bring in a crowd of a 1000+. If worse comes to worse, the RSC would be the only alternative, close for our own fans and convenient too.
    Last edited by 5ForKeeps; 26/08/2008 at 12:31 PM.
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    when you're clearly basing it on one occasion when you were there
    No, basing it on three occasions i've been there (one more than you if we're counting)

which coincided with the p***ed-up carry-on of a bunch of your fellow fans that necessitated Garda involvement
    Funnliy enough i wasn't there the last time we were down there, which is when this incident is said to have happened, i couldn't get off work in time so i went to watch Rovers and Harps that night instead.

and that if you read the various testimonials over the last couple of seasons from people who've been to games there you'll find very few of them, if any, to join your bandwagon. That's all.
    Well were are these testimonials then? I'd like to see them. The concensus from people i've spoken to about it has been spilt on Ferrycarrig park. 50/50 i'd say roughly.

I love my trips to Wexford, friendly people, lovely ground, clubhouse like a hotel. Its a great place to go and except for the distance it would be one of my fav places.

http://www.wexfordyouthsfcsc.com/you...topicID=887306

My prediction back in March what i thought would be a great season for us at the bottom....
    YNWA LFC
    Forza Youths!

47 Posts
    You having a giraffe??? For an away fan it's one of the worst in the league, disgraceful treatment of away fans down there too.
    Just back from Cork and I'm not going to make reference to your post in my main comments. You're a fool........

47 Posts
    Had a great night in Cork and first things first. Many, many thanks to the Cork supporters who stayed behind to applaud our team off the pitch. Our players celebrated for a good while before coming off the pitch and you waited. Very impressed and it made the night extra special, as did the number of fans that offered their hand for a shake and wishing us good luck.
    Secondly, to the players and team who came in to the pub afterwards and took the 'shoes off', what can I say but well done.

I was at it last night and I just want to echo what the rest of the lads said. The City supporters were brilliant. Very dignified and staying on to applaud our players off the pitch was a very gracious thing to do. I'd swear that some of them thought I'd been playing in the match, they were all coming up to me, shaking my hand and congratulating me. To those people, thanks. I did my best!
    As for the final, I suspect that Ferrycarrig mightn't be up to holding it. That's based purely on the ground capacity and parking facilities at present. I'm also angling for a weekend in Derry!

Is their a date set for the final yet?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Is their a date set for the final yet?
    Friday 26th September.

just home and very happy!!again i want to thank and praise the cork city fans to their reaction to our win.to stay behind and applaud our players off and the way that you wished us well and congratulated us is a great credit to you many thanks,best of luck for the rest of the season,and to all of you who have posted to congratulate us many thanks

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Friday 26th September.
    I thought it was a tueday? Didn't think they'd re-arrange league fixtures for it

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    The same way as you's failed for the 2nd year in a row to beat us in it

No the same way you haven't beat us in the league since GF was boss