Thread: Pats away

I put money on St. Pats, fully expecting a 2 or 3 goal defeat. I feel a bit dirty now. To lose it like that, just gutted for the lads. You could see that Boco and Almeida were heartbroken by it.

Didnt deserve to lose like that and have to feel sorry for Brush after that mistake. Felt he had a good game. You could see it with Raf's interview that he was hurting and by looking at the lads on the pitch you could see the pain. A very similar type of game to the 1-0 loss in Drogheda last season when they effectivly won the league, when we deserved something but didnt get it.

On a sour note, I heard from a friend at the match that Brush was being abused at the end of the game by a Rovers "fan". Cop[ the f**k on and you know well who ya are cause your on this forum. Brush in my opinion is one of the best keepers this club has had in my memory and as a goalkeeper he is going to be liable to mistakes as the spotlight is shone on goalkeepers. Would you prefer him or Jennings week after week?

Also heard of someone trying to break seats at the end of the game as he was in disgust at the result. Maybe if he watched the game whilst sober he too would have had a bit of sense. The last thing we need is the clubs fans getting a reputation of abusing other clubs grounds
    Last edited by thesilverfox; 24/08/2008 at 9:46 PM. Reason: Spelling error

Quote Originally Posted by thesilverfox View Post
    Didnt deserve to lose like that and have to feel sorry for Brush after that mistake. Felt he had a good game. You could see it with Raf's interview that he was hurting and by looking at the lads on the pitch you could see the pain. A very similar type of game to the 1-0 loss in Drogheda last season when they effectivly won the league, when we deserved something but didnt get it.

On a sour note, I heard from a friend at the match that Brush was being abused at the end of the game by a Rovers "fan". Cop[ the f**k on and you know well who ya are cause your on this forum. Brush in my opinion is one of the best keepers this club has had in my memory and as a goalkeeper he is going to be liable to mistakes as the spotlight is shone on goalkeepers. Would you prefer him or Jennings week after week?

Also heard of someone trying to break seats at the end of the game as he was in disgust at the result. Maybe if he watched the game whilst sober he too would have had a bit of sense. The last thing we need is the clubs fans getting a reputation of abusing other clubs grounds
    And a fine for damage to other teams property.
    Coleman for Ireland

Dreadful game. Thought we created enough chances to win, and of course we had a definite penalty turned down.

Your centre halves played well

It was gutting losing the game like that in the end. St. Pats dont look the best despite all the money they've spent. Thought the Rovers back four were great. But we never looked like scoring and apart from Rafs chance at the end we didn't create anything. A striker is badly needed. Maybe when Paul McTiernan gets his fitness up he'll be a good partner for Boco.
    Played way too deep in the second half, Cookie was screaming at them to get up the pitch.
    Good to see Foyzer at it!

Brilliant performance by the lads tonight, whole team played brilliant. Didn't deserve to lose like that. The lack of a real goalscorer is what stopped us from winning imo. Cheek of that c*nt Lynch to come at the end and say "We deserved to win"

I hate losing games in the last minute, especially when we don't deserve it
    Totally agree with the above, abusing Brush for that is embarassing and no excuse for it. The man has been great all season and with Pat Jennings the only alternative, he's definitely needed.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Dreadful game.
    From a Pat's point of view yeah, ye were very poor and it's easy to see why Bohs will win the league.
    Last edited by sligoman; 24/08/2008 at 10:25 PM.

Also heard of someone trying to break seats at the end of the game as he was in disgust at the result.
    Some fair/ginger-haired lad gave the seat in front of him a kick. That was all I saw. Fair play to the seat. It held its ground well. Hard as nails.
    If we get fined for that, well at least it won't be as much as Pats for letting off that smoke cannister.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Some fair/ginger-haired lad
    Ginger?, he won't like that when he reads it.

Dreadful game. Thought we created enough chances to win, and of course we had a definite penalty turned down.

Good man slodge
    the most arogant person ive ever have encounterd,

Ginger?, he won't like that when he reads it.
    yeah that guys a bit of a hooligan alright
    Fair play to the lads for turnin up.
    they looked good on tv for the small number that was there

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Some fair/ginger-haired lad gave the seat in front of him a kick. That was all I saw. Fair play to the seat. It held its ground well. Hard as nails.
    It was his blonde haired accomplice I was referring to.

I take it you just expected us to rollover for ye? If any team deserved to win, it was us.

Fair play to you for highlighting this. While i disagree with both actions (and i said it to one of them that it wasn't acceptable) i dont think you need to be bringing this up on a forum. Peoples emotions take the better of them at times, happens to us all. Our performance tonight deserved a draw. And as Cookie highlighted to us in the pub after, everyone that wore the Rovers jersey tonight gave their all. It was a performance to be proud of.
    Last edited by Jeebus; 24/08/2008 at 11:32 PM.

Photos http://www.flickr.com/photos/soccerc...7606928216354/

One of the captions is ''Dick Brush punches ball'' what a man
    Last edited by deecay; 24/08/2008 at 11:40 PM.
    RIP JOHNNY

Quote Originally Posted by Jeebus View Post
    Fair play to you for highlighting this. While i disagree with both actions (and i said it to one of them that it wasn't acceptable) i dont think you need to be bringing this up on a forum. Peoples emotions take the better of them at times, happens to us all. Our performance tonight deserved a draw. And as Cookie highlighted to us in the pub after, everyone that wore the Rovers jersey tonight gave their all. It was a performance to be proud of.
    My player of the season would be Brushie
    Im so proud to be a Rovers fan tonight the lads were fully comitted.
    It shut up a lot of the barstoolers tonight and maybe won over a few of them.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    I take it you just expected us to rollover for ye? If any team deserved to win, it was us.
    Why? You had 2 shots in the game. We had (maybe) 4? One of ours went in. HOw were you unlucky? Sure you worked hard, and of course it was a terrible mistake by Brush. But thats not unlucky, thats bad goalkeeping.

I thought the subsitution of Doherty was a turning point in the game. I assume he was injured. Up to that point Pats were finding it difficult to cope with our system and Ryan seemed to be getting on the ball more. His passing impressed me.

Each player worked superbly ............if only we could score or at least have someone capable of taking a good free kick.
    "Overwhelmed"

look at it again Conor clearly won the ball.

fair play 2 brush for playing on after getting his finger put back in.
    Last edited by forza rovers; 25/08/2008 at 10:07 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    look at it again Conor clearly won the ball.
    The only penalty I'd have given was the handball. None of the tackles were penalties IMO (although others around me disagreed )