Page 349 of 394 FirstFirst ... 249299339347348349350351359 ... LastLast
Results 6,961 to 6,980 of 7867

Thread: The say anything, what's on your mind thread

Bonnie you are a young pup going back compared to me. I left college the first time 20 years ago and am now contemplating a 3rd year of college starting in October. Jaysus its great craic though.

2,358 Posts
    Tonight, I shall drink some locally brewed craft beers before playing a gig in town with a few other local original music bands in a small venue dedicated to local music, where I'll probably drink some more locally brewed beer. I'm good like that.

2,358 Posts
    Party off, Garth.

516 Posts
    After I quit my job there last month, I've been giving this art craic a bit more of a blast. I'm in a few exhibitions soon and have been taking new photos and making new drawings. Finally decided it was time to build myself a real website, and even made myself one of them facebook pages. If you'd like to have a look anybody and let me know what you think, please do!

Facebook
    Website

2,284 Posts
    Fair play! Some lovely stuff there. Really like the photography.

3,266 Posts
    This is worth dropping on if anyone's still up.

The Irish chess Grandmaster, Alex Baburin, is trying to set a new world record for blindfold simultaneous games. He's taking on 16 players (all of whom can see the board; he can't)

So far, after 6 hours of play, he has won 5, drawn 2 and lost 2. He needs a score of 12/16 to set a new world record, I think (a win is 1 point and a draw is ½).

Genuinely incredible that anyone can even think of achieving this feat.

How the **** is he playing blindfolded, using echolocation?

3,266 Posts
    Keeping all the games in his head. Pure memory exercise.

But how does he know where the other guy has moved?

3,266 Posts
    When he comes around to the board, his opponent makes his move on the board and calls it out.

Ahh, I'm a gobsheen. That is masterful though. Grandmasterful even.

1,002 Posts
    Will there be a Simpsons-style 'checkmate, checkmate, checkmate' moment later in the event?

516 Posts
    He's a witch!!

3,266 Posts
    The wiki article on blindfold chess is quite interesting actually. Some of my favourite snippets -

Blindfold chess was considered miraculous for centuries
    Harold James Ruthven Murray recorded another type of unseen chess: two Central Asian horsemen riding side by side playing chess by calling chess moves to each other without using a board or pieces.
    Simultaneous blindfold exhibitions were officially banned in 1930 in the USSR as they were deemed to be a health hazard
    [In 1943, Miguel Najdorf, one of the top players in the world at the time, played 40 players] in Rosario, Argentina [...] in an effort to gain sufficient publicity to communicate to his family that he was still alive, as he had remained in Argentina after travelling from his native Poland to compete in the 1939 Chess Olympiad
    Also, turns out it wasn't a world record, but an Irish record attempt. Mea culpa! More info here.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 17/07/2014 at 7:23 AM.

1,813 Posts
    Sitting in Ottawa airport... I'm coming home lads... waheyyyyyyyyyy!!!!

Get the kettle on.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    785 Posts
    Will the bottom not be burnt out of it by the time you arrive?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

1,813 Posts
    Well I would think they'd throw in more water now.

516 Posts
    http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-s...tNSM8.facebook

The quotes in this article are just great. The fact that I grew up down the road and know whose saying them helps. But you'll be hard pushed to find a more culchie Irish news story this week.
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 25/07/2014 at 12:54 AM.

1,813 Posts
    Will September come already...

2,358 Posts
    https://vine.co/v/MEn2tnXTWKu

Former Finn Harps player and manager Anthony Gormans son Dale was tackled by an invisible man before being kicked in the head by an angry Mexican at the Milk Cup tonight while playing for Northern Ireland under-19s. Absolutely mental scenes here.