Thread: The say anything, what's on your mind thread

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Divide by 2, add 7.

Surely everyone knows this?
    Depends... the rules in Cloyne and in Broadcasting House are divide by 7 and add 2.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,025 Posts
    "There is a repose about Lant Street, in the Borough, which sheds a gentle melancholy upon the soul. There are always a good many houses to let in the street: it is a by-street too, and its dulness is soothing. A house in Lant Street would not come within the denomination of a first-rate residence, in the strict acceptation of the term; but it is a most desirable spot nevertheless. If a man wished to abstract himself from the world — to remove himself from within the reach of temptation — to place himself beyond the possibility of any inducement to look out of the window — we should recommend him by all means go to Lant Street."

398 Posts
    Had a pretty good working holiday the last couple of weeks, UK, Ireland, UK, Lithuania, Latvia, Lithuania (thrown out of Belarus), back to Lithuania, Russia.

Was on the train from Vilnius to Moscow with herself, nice large bottle of Belgian beer, food and munchies for the 16 hour overnighter. Train stopped in a village in Belarus, they said I needed a transit visa, so I was taken off the train, put on a train back to Vilnius (arriving back just after 10pm) and missed the last train and bus to the airport - decided to fly rather than go to Riga for a train now crossing Belarus, or waiting for a Belarus visa. 2 Taiwanese students were taken off the train too, so we all were going the same way. At the bus stop ended up adding to our group with a NY-based Fed and a Belarussian woman, so led by the token Irishman we got a taxi to the airport, where the ticket offices were all closed. So I booked online and landed in Moscow at 7.35am, ran to passport control, then to the aeroexpress (to Belarussky Station) where I picked up some flowers and had a 20minute wait for herself. She was in shock, but happy as she'd slept from my removal until 8am, so I guess it shows where I stand :-)

1,825 Posts
    This is happening!!!

398 Posts
    Victory Day here in Russia, over who they were victorious is a point of contention, though I just saw, on CNN, a repeat of an interview with William "Maggie" Hague. While he has a head you'd never tire of beating with a hurl, my first thought as Fionnuala Sweeney caught him out on his lies, was that - isn't he the kind of milky milky dude you see hanging around playgrounds with his hands in his pockets. I know this sounds terrible, but he was genuinely a villain from some really frightening movie. Almost a sociopath.

622 Posts
    Trying to find a new place to live in Limerick atm, came across this yesterday http://www.adverts.ie/property-for-s...k-city/1752203

Apparently the place we're currently renting is for sale, they really could have asked us to clean the place up before they took photos. They've all been taken within the last month whenever they snuck in!

2,446 Posts
    1. You can have either a) not enough posters, or b) too many posters. Currently you're somewhere in the middle.

2. That hallway is too clear. Throw some dirty clothes into it.

3. Get a bigger TV.

4. I'm intrigued by the balloons on the roof. Do tell.

Also, if I ever found my current house for sale, I'd do all I could to get the money to buy it. Only in it for a month now and already I don't wish to move anywhere else. Usually I move somewhere and get fed up pretty much straight away. Right now, I'm renting an old 19th century farmhouse about 2 miles outside of Letterkenny town and I couldn't ask for anything more in a house, and an area. Also..it's dirt cheap to get a really good, really big house anywhere in Donegal.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 11/05/2013 at 1:12 AM.

1,825 Posts
    If only living in Donegal and Working in Dublin was a thing I could do.

2,446 Posts
    If you bought a helicopter..

622 Posts
    Its not enough posters if you can still see wall.

The hallway was once home to our pet shopping trolley, it was lost one house party thou

Yes the TV is sh!te, but its grand I only watch stuff online anyway, the girls can watch Home and Away on whatever the feck they like..

Balloons are the remnants of one of my house mates 21st before Christmas, we turned the entire roof into balloons.. Surprised so many are still hanging in there.

622 Posts
    My degree show opens on the 1st of June.. Still struggling to do any work whatsoever.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Its not enough posters if you can still see wall.

The hallway was once home to our pet shopping trolley, it was lost one house party thou

Yes the TV is sh!te, but its grand I only watch stuff online anyway, the girls can watch Home and Away on whatever the feck they like..

Balloons are the remnants of one of my house mates 21st before Christmas, we turned the entire roof into balloons.. Surprised so many are still hanging in there.

Well played sir.

Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    If only living in Donegal and Working in Dublin was a thing I could do.
    Do you not have a spaceship? They're standard issue here in Tallaght.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Do you not have a spaceship? They're standard issue here in Tallaght.
    As a born and bred Ballyer man living in Smithfield I can't acquire a spaceship licence.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    As a born and bred Ballyer man living in Smithfield I can't acquire a spaceship licence.
    Funny, when growing up, and visiting cousins in Chapelizod, I was always terrified of Ballyfermot.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Funny, when growing up, and visiting cousins in Chapelizod, I was always terrified of Ballyfermot.
    Cousins in the 'Lizod? I used to go to the NS there.

Ballyer is grand the lower/posh end where I'm from anyway. The general rule of thumb is anywhere west of the Kylemore Road you should avoid.

2,446 Posts
    I always figured it was everything the other side of the river. Never even went across the bridge, never mind anywhere further!

1,825 Posts
    I always figured it was everything the other side of the river. Never even went across the bridge, never mind anywhere further!
    Your cousin didn't happen to live down the laneway (Park Lane) at the park gates?

http://goo.gl/maps/B9qkk

2,446 Posts
    Nope, other side of the liffey. St Laurences grove.

1,825 Posts
    Nope, other side of the liffey. St Laurences grove.
    Thought it was a long shot considering the lad that lived down that lane was a left footer. First Donegal person I met. Played football and hurling with him.