Thread: a bit of realism?

But only one of his signings has been a success so far.
    city till I die

Originally posted by curts82
    But only one of his signings has been a success so far.
    Nice use of a full stop at the end of a sentence. Well done.

As for your point about his signings, he's only had a short time to get these guys settled in. Casey can cross the ball well, and if he picks up the work rate, could be a significant player for us. Kearney hasn't even unpacked his bags yet. Has anyone even seen the Nigerians?
    Pat's had a look at a few players (Packer, Hedderman) and moved them on coz they were not good enough. He's not signed anyone long term yet that could be viewed as a failure.
    For that matter, hardly of his signings has been here long enough to be judged a success or a failure. Give the guy a break.

Foureyes, cmere fella, get a grip will ya. I know u have been a city fan for as long, if not longer than me. it amazes me that you are forever so down on the entire league. Why is this like?

Dolan, so far has dome wonder for Cork city. Ok we are not top of the league and we are not a realistic contender for the title, but only a muppet would have thought we would win it this season. remember that the players are settling into a more professional regime of training, new diets, total lifestyle changes. Obviously there performances may suffer for a while, but ultimatley, the new levlels of fitness and professionalism.

And steven, just becaiuse ur brother is a city reject (frm what ive seen, soon to be a ramblers reject as well) and because u have serious issues urself, dont take it out on Dolan, a professional. Something u will never be.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

I didnt expect us to win the league or anything, but I did expect us to beat Pats and to give a much better performance in the cup game. I'd quite happily take third but I just expected a good bit more from the team results wise. We should be beating the likes of UCD home and away.

I follow newcastle aswell so perhaps im just generally disillusioned.

at this stage i would be well chuffed if we finished in the top three. to be honest anything else i would regard as a failure (although not to win the league is always a failure). some away wins would be nice and to see george score some goals would be a comfort as well. also a bit more creativity in midfiled would be ok as well. all in all I am asking for city to show the same grit and bite that the likes of st.pat's can muster.

realistically i see a 5th place finish, eg. a midtable performace with very little pointers as to how things will go next season. however I am sure I can expect another full length diatribe from pat week in week out.

anyway as some posters have said not to have won the league since 1992 is far too long at this stage. how long does this rebuilding have to take? first it was davey barry saying it in 1997, mountie in 1999, gunther for the last few years and now pat dolan

as i said before i would give pat 3 years but a mid table finish is a poor place for a club of city's (untapped and unrealised) potential
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

Originally posted by foureyes
    I didnt expect us to win the league or anything, but I did expect us to beat Pats and to give a much better performance in the cup game. I'd quite happily take third but I just expected a good bit more from the team results wise. We should be beating the likes of UCD home and away.

I follow newcastle aswell so perhaps im just generally disillusioned.
    I think most of us expected more from City in those two matches but some of the matches last year were equally appauling. I am not happy either with some of the performances and players we have seen play for City this year BUT the man deserves the time to try and work it out.
    I couldn't stand Dolan when he was in charge of Pat's. I thought someone was taking the **** when they said he was moving south but he has improved the team and taken on a difficult task. We all want success as much as he does.

While i think the league might be beyond us this season i still feel that a european spot is not. I personally did not expect city to win the league this year as dolan needs time to get used to the club. As for next year i would be quite optimistic as Dolan should have HIS squad playing and organised the way he wants and with the whole club taking on a more professional attitude i see no reason why we should not be there or there abouts come the end of the campaign, All we can do is keep cheering them on and have faith in Dolan and the backroom staff.

144 Posts
    Originally posted by dalo
    anyway as some posters have said not to have won the league since 1992 is far too long at this stage.
    It was 1993.
    How could you forget that ?

One of the greatest days of my life !!!

the people who are questioning d manager after half a season defy logic in my opinion dolan and lennox have already improved the club structurally the FIRST part of building any succesful club. dolan has only signed 5 players 3 of which we havent seen kearney will be a cracking signing lads. were in there fighting for the title and europe we cant ask for anymore. its a sin to judge a manager after half a season even a full season give him a chance ye can f**king moan den all ye want if he fails which he wont by the way.

Originally posted by kevin.m
    All we can do is keep cheering them on and have faith in Dolan and the backroom staff.
    As Pat himself keeps saying, if we keep getting crowds of 3/4/5,000 it will only be a matter of time before we win the league and keep on winning it. It's up to the people of Cork as to whether we want it enough.

Originally posted by Neil
    As Pat himself keeps saying, if we keep getting crowds of 3/4/5,000 it will only be a matter of time before we win the league and keep on winning it. It's up to the people of Cork as to whether we want it enough.
    Why have they not won it so in the past 5 seasons. They've been getting crowds like that all the time
    city till I die

Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
    as i've al,ready stated, turning on a manager after half a season is pathetic.....if we were in the bottom two then questions would have to be asked....
    Have to agree with ya there. I think things need to be put in perspective, so here goes. Manchester United were a hopelessly rubbish, disorganised club when Alex Ferguson joined them as manager in 1986. It was 1990 before they won a single trophy under him. 13 years later and their England's best team (pains me to say that). What do people think would have become of them if Alex had gotten the boot after 1-2 seasons 'because they won f***all'? Dolan needs time, let's give it to him, and make our judgements in 3-4 years time when we'll either be the same as we are now, or the top team in this country.
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

Originally posted by Shed End John
    13 years later and their England's best team (pains me to say that).
    why does it pain you to say that SEJ
    personally i dont care who englands best team is, but thats just me

Originally posted by James
    why does it pain you to say that SEJ
    personally i dont care who englands best team is, but thats just me

Because unlike most people, I don't see any conflict of interest in following the fortunes of more than one team across Europe, and it so happens that in England I follow Liverpool, which makes me a paid up lifelong hater of 'Manyoo'.
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!