Thread: Interesting times

Interesting times

Very interesting posts below. Seems resentment towards the committee has reached epic proportions.

One comment by Deise caught my eye. JP was taking orders for jersies from Dunnes Stores? Whats all that about? It seems that it would be a good thing done by the committee (constructive) but they have even made a ba lls up of that by not simply making a phone call to the SC committee.

The Dream Team debacle is unbelievable. Who is organising it? When the sh it hit the fan a couple of months ago there was a lot of talk about organising a benefit match for the club. This was defused by the belief that the club was organising the dream team game.

I agree that the committee are terrible. I am sure they have given some time and effort to Limerick down the years - but enough is enough. I have always been anxious that the committee members are not subjected to personal abuse (and I would still do that), it seems clear that they are simply incompetent and lazy as opposed to crooked. The club needs a new energy. And it needs it quickly. I think it needs the kind of energy that is displayed on this board and by the SC committee and members. The current committee are like some old communist party leaders trying to cling onto their positions. Time to allow people who will put new effort and new ideas into the club.

I have always been amazed at the lack of promotion of the team in the city. How difficult is it to organise 500 posters around town? The SC can do it. How difficult is it to organise a Lotto (every junior club seems to have one)? How difficult is it to ask businesses for sponsorship (the Castletroy Park Hotel incident speaks volumes)? These are simple (almost run of the mill) things that any club with a bit of cop on would be doing. Not our guys. They sit there waiting for someone to come along and give them money.

What can be done? I think a petition is not such a brilliant idea. I think an alternative has be offered to give the FAI et al a way out of a crisis. This alternative would be either a Supporters Trust or a 1000-CLUB organised by the SC. If 1000 businesses or individuals joined the trust or the club for €100 then €100k is available to the SC to take over from the committee if we seek to have them removed. If only 10 members of the SC (maybe those that post here) got 10 businesses or individuals to contribute then that is €10,000 and a signal of intent and purpose.

The problem with a petition or getting the FAI to remove the current committee is that they respond with - well who else is there? If the SC has a solution and is working it then there is an obvious solution that the FAI et al would jump at. Any comments?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

One of the best posts I have read on these boards LFC in EX - well done.

I agree wholeheartedly with you in regards the committee - not neccessarily bad people but clearly unable to run the club. As for the jerseys incident in Dunnes - I agree with what you said - a simple phonecall would have been perfect, however I have heard that the jerseys "never happened." Griping aside, fair play to JP for sitting in there for the weekend - it shows some effort is being put in at least.

The Dream Team situation is worrying. We are not getting money as a charity as we were originally told. The reported money going to be recieved has now dropped to 20,000. How this is possible when the organisers insist we are not getting anything from the gate is beyond me. There has been no mention of Limerick FC on the posters or in the media. As far as I can gather we actually have nothing to do with this on paper, so until I hear otherwise I am not going to buy a ticket for it and I would urge others not to either.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

There is no way....NO WAY...that we are getting a single cent from the proceeds of this game. Not one. I have got this from the donkeys mouth as it were, the organiser of the event, Eddie Costelloe. We never were getting anything, and never were even mentioned as a possible recipient of any funds...EVER!!
    Either someone was telling us humungous porkpies or else they got their wires seriously crossed. Either way...we are getting nothing!!

Posted by Deise:
    As far as I can gather we actually have nothing to do with this on paper, so until I hear otherwise I am not going to buy a ticket for it and I would urge others not to either.
    A bit harsh I think, given that the charities benefitting are causes such as Cystic Fibrosis, Rape Crisis, Alzheimers and Cerebral Palsy. I understand your frustration and anger...but lets put it into perspective. It was someone at Limerick FC's end that jumped the gun on this one and got our hopes up, not the organisers who deserve major credit for helping local charities like this.

I agree with Joe on this. If people want to go that's grand. I don't think Deise really meant reducing the money to the charities involved.

Absolutely the club have again let us down on this one.

One thing though - I wonder if it would be possible to try and sell some merchandise at the event (maybe get the Limerick Stars to wear Limerick FC jersies for the match) or is that a bit tacky when the game is for charity?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

kits

I asked our lot about this when the dream team thing was announced and there was a firm no. We wont be able to sell any merchandise inside the ground but outside was our own baby. so i went ahead and ordered the scarves and Johnd got the jerseys. But as limerick are now not invloved at all (as in they wont even be wearing Limerick FC kit) its gonna be hard to pass them off as official stuff on the night. so we have to sell to the fans of the imaginary team before they get into the ground. ill check with te brother when there flying in and we can get pics and stuff with them ill bring some heavies to beat up there security guards. yea we'll be ok.

Most of the Jeresys we have are Kiddies sizes or XXL so thta covers both the Fans and their parents. We could make a killing on the day

On a more serious note I am still awaitng invites to the next committee meeting. There has not been one since the end of Aug( the one I attended) so we are due one. It will be interesting as it looks like we are slipping down the table to our normal position..mid table mediocrity. It will be hard to get bums on seats from now on(sic).

We are now in a very procarious position

Originally posted by JohnD
    Most of the Jeresys we have are Kiddies sizes or XXL so thta covers both the Fans and their parents. We could make a killing on the day
    I presume the XXL one is for Damien.

Joesoap:
    Your earlier post in regards the charities that will benefit is the perfect LFC committee excuse. Can't wait til your buddy on the committee tells it to us at the next game!!!

I agree with you that these are worthwhile charities. However we were once again lied to by the committee. We were told that Limerick FC would recive money as a charity. The event was "sold" (for lack of a better word) to Limerick FC Supporters under false pretences.

However I will bend a little to you way of thinking. I will change my statement urging people not to go to the match. This is my updated version:

"I won't be going to the match and I urge everyone else not to. If guilt hits you in regards the other charities send the money you would have used to buy a ticket directly to the charities involved."
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

But won't Linda Block be at the game? And the other ones whose names I don't know?

And miss out on the silken skills of Carl Fletcher and the other ones whose names I don't know?

Posted by Deise:
    "I won't be going to the match and I urge everyone else not to. If guilt hits you in regards the other charities send the money you would have used to buy a ticket directly to the charities involved."
    Agreed!! Top Drawer solution!!
    btw...he's not my 'buddy'....but I can think of several other references.

Well I'm going. it's childish as poop not to. It should be a good days fun and it's for a number of good causes. By that logic Deise you might as well not go to work because the Department of Education don't give any money to Limerick..

SLK that parallel makes absolutely no sense.

The DOE made no promise to give up to 50,000 Euro to Limerick FC - The committee said that we would be given this from the Dream Team event. In the actual case the promise of payment existed, in your parallel it didn't. That said I will make some phonecalls on Monday morning and see what they can do!

Does anyone know if ANY LFC players are playing!?!?!?

According to all press we have no link with this event at all. If Limerick FC Players are playing I will go but currently there doesn't seem to be and the committee has shut up shop and has stopped giving details to fans.

Originally posted by deise deserter

The DOE made no promise to give up to 50,000 Euro to Limerick FC - The committee said that we would be given this from the Dream Team event. In the actual case the promise of payment existed, in your parallel it didn't. That said I will make some phonecalls on Monday morning and see what they can do!
    I'm not sure deise, ehether you mean that Limerick were actually promised €50,000, and the organisers reneged, or that the committee were spinning us yarns.The promise of payment never actually existed in this one, unless it was from the committee of Limerick FC, IN WHICH CASE WE WERE LIED TO YET AGAIN.
    The organisers of the event never ever said Limerick FC were a beneficiary of this thing, so I'd like to know how the whole rumour started. Any ideas anyone..???

Nail on the head Joe.

We all know who to blame.