Page 64 of 65 FirstFirst ... 145462636465 LastLast
Results 1,261 to 1,280 of 1282

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2008/09

Town will feel that they threw it away, the biggest mistake they made was taking off Scully for a head injury even though he indicated he was ready to come back on.
    Another turning point was the sending off of Coady at 2-1 which was correct but with Peters being super fit Town had no answer in extra time.

I must give Peters credit as they battled hard all throughout the match and it goes to show how far a will to win can bring ya but I felt Clonmel were the team who tried to play more football. St Peters were more route 1. Impressed by the number 7 for Peters who kept running all night and caused Town numerous problems and credit to the number 9 who won a ball he had no right to win to set up the equaliser before halftime.

Disappointed by the carry on of some of the Peters "supporters" who had more interest in shouting vile abuse to those around and jeering, one of the supporters broke his arm leaping over the railing of the pitch, maybe they should spend less time in the pub before the match and they might get to remember some of the Final if they do and give proper support to the team.

But in saying that it was only the minority while the rest of the supporters were a credit to the club with their level of support.

Maybe the better team are not in the final but the team who wanted it more and with the bit of luck got there in the end and I would like to wish them the best of luck in the final.

For the neutral it was a very entertaining game but was disappointed with the attendance considering it was an FAI Junior Cup semi final

I'm not a town supporter by any means but quite how they lost that game only they will know. they completely dominated the game throughout. they played any football that was played. they will be scratching their heads for a hile aftr this one.

As a neutral it is a stunning resut.

Peters had two chances in 90 minutes and scored twice.

Town had umpteen chances in 90 minutes and scored twice.

Peters didn't play any football. Town did.

Awful gut wrenching result for town. Where do they go from here.

End of the road for some fine club stalwards.

Congrats to peters i missed out on game as i was away last nigh how did it go .great result from the reports i got from some of the peters lads they got away with daylight robbery as clonmel were super for lots of periods..But thats the will to win in peters side..But its not chances to win games that wins games its goals and peters took theres..fair play to clonmel and congrats to peters for gettin to a final.

Carrick also felt they should have won at St Peters but attitude and determination added to ability (and luck) has served Peters well.Westport , Carrick , Lsselton , Cl. Town ,all top junior clubs left in your wake why not Ballymun . Congratulations to Michael Quinn(carrick man) and Peters ,from CUFC

St Peters can count themselves lucky. But it's the result that counts at the end and to beat Carrick (the best team in the comp) westport and a hotly fancied Clonmel can't be all flukes imo.

As an avid St Peters fan/member/ex player I was embarressed by some of St Peters "Supporters" when they scored at one all. We have only played Clonmel once... and unfortunatley that maybe the abiding memory the players, officals and mangement have of St Peters. That is dissapointing.

The team were far more respectful and in fairness acknowledged Clonmel should have won 3-1 but for a massive piece of luck. But... the sesult stands, Peters the better side for the last 30mins of football as Clonmel had given it their all but to lose a man with 20 to go. Delighted for BC, man of match award andtwo goals, he is a true gent, has been unlucky with the team selection to date as he has been 12th man more then once in this cup, but deserved his just reward last night.

Thanks to St Michaels for their hospitality yesterday, excellant club, committee and facilities and hope we have forged another friendship for future friendlies. Tangled one or twice as schoolboys and look forward to meeting them all again.

Its not sour grapes that i say this cause i'm A supporter of Clonmel Celtic, and Town are the team we would love to beat but never have, but to be honest it seemed beyond the relms of possibility that clonmel town could lose that game. to say that they completely dominated the game from start to finish is an under statement. they completely played st peters off the park. I mean even the 2nd goal was a freak goal. it was initially a great strike but when it came off the post it was in slow motion as it hit the diving keeper on the head and trickled over the line. 80 mins of the game was played in peters half. town seemed to cut them open at will at it was last gasp defending. Even tony scullys miss from litterally under the crossbar had to be seen to be believed. I cant talk about peters previous games as its the first time i had seen them but the old phrase "your name is on the cup" never seemed to ring through so much cause watching last nights game there was no conceivable way st peters could win that game. But They Did!!! I have heard all about the will to win and belief, and yeah i accept that they are vital ingrediants, but town completely outclassed their opponents....... and lost. Football is an amazing game.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr Damo View Post
    The team were far more respectful and in fairness acknowledged Clonmel should have won 3-1 but for a massive piece of luck. But... the sesult stands, Peters the better side for the last 30mins of football as Clonmel had given it their all but to lose a man with 20 to go. Delighted for BC, man of match award andtwo goals, he is a true gent, has been unlucky with the team selection to date as he has been 12th man more then once in this cup, but deserved his just reward last night.
    Saw a txt from Silky to Paugie after the match in Longford: "40 yards, enough said"
    Any idea what that was all about? We all had visions of Tom scoring a header from 40 yards out

Congrats to Peters btw, was chatting a few of the lads on Sunday ... delighted is an understatement!

Forty Yards?? That's about the length of his celebration run after he scored. Had to get a taxi back to center half for the re start!

well Final less than 2 weeks away how do ye see it going?2 surprise packages in the final great venue for the final aswell most players will relish playin in tolka..goin to go for a high scoring win for peters maybe 4 .3 have peters much support going Up.

When is the final on and what time is the kickoff?

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twofooted View Post
    When is the final on and what time is the kickoff?
    Sunday 3rd May Tolka Park Kick off 2pm

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Sunday Tolka Park at half two. 14.30

Just wanted to let you all know that St. Peters won todays FAI junior cup final.(Not sure of the scoreline but someone will post it around half four!!!)
    On a serious note i just want to wish them all the best, they have done themselves proud to reach the final and i believe that their name is on the cup for this year. They just have to go and collect it now. My guess is Peters to win 3-1.
    Just hope im right as they deserve it.
    Why are people who "need no introduction" always introduced?

Result

Ballymun 2 0 St Peters

2-0 to Ballymun

Peters never showed up

Congrats to Ballymun. Well done.
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

Well done to Ballymun from all at Iorras Aontaithe.

Peters didn't get off the bus, but some credit must go the Ballymun as maybe there 3 at the back worked??
    disapointing attendance from Athlone, but those that travelled they were a credit. There was great support for Ballymun, I believe great craic in Fagan's before the game between both sets of supporters too. Well done the Mun, good luck in the league also.

27 Posts

Smile

congrats to the mun,good to see them back.

Page 64 of 65 FirstFirst ... 145462636465 LastLast