Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Racism from Galway United support!

If you're going to have segregation, it might be useful to tell away fans about it. There was no indication anywhere that there was an away section.

This is all off topic anyway and probably should be moved somewhere else.

Didn't see the footage but there's no place for this type of thing in our game, or indeed amongst our supporters at Galway United. We need to act and find out what little bo****** made such an appalling comment and deal with him HARSHLY. We have a small group of scummy little Bast***s that we need to clamp down on.
    Tme for the club to act and send a message to these little wan***s.....

My apologies to the gentleman who was racially abused and to SRFC and their supporters.
    innit though??

65 Posts
    Didnt sound like young voices but I could be wrong. poor form alright.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

is the footage gone? the link just goes to cartoons!!

anyway it is my experience that racism in this country comes predominantly from the older generations. a 40 or 50 year old is much more likely to call someone 'a black bas@##d' (or something similar) than a young lad is.

the incident, which i can only assume was clear for all to hear on the TV is bad and shouldn't obviously be tolerated. However to say Galway United have a racist element or support is a bit wide of the mark. Yes, obviously the idiot caught here is a clown but one eejit doesn't mean it is a major problem.

We have seen big fines for other countries but that was when the whole stand or close to the majority in it were involved in systematic racial abuse.

Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    Surely you knew though that the away fans in Terryland park are usually kept in one end of the old stand. Why couldn't you just watch the game from there and stay out of the new stand
    That's not the issue.... People should be able to sit anywhere they like and watch the game unmolested... Granted if you sit in the middle of a group of home fans wearing your colours or acting the bol***** you'll draw a load of trouble on yourself, segregation is not 100% practical in Terryland or a great deal of other grounds due to the situation with Access/Toilets/Catering etc.
    People should be able to control themselves.. and failing that stewards and the Gardai should be able to control...
    innit though??

115 Posts
    From listening to it, and it's as plain as day alright, no way was it a young lad who shouted it. Nor did the laughing voices sound that young either.
    To me it sounded like a gob****e, possibly half-cut, who thought, 'here's my chance to look big and clever in front of the lads' and who was backed up by a thick-as-sun-baked-pig**** gaggle of cackling fools. Not race-hatred racism then, but just pig-ignorant, should know much better, gombeen racism. Sad to say but Irish society as a whole is full of that. Still should be identified and banned if at all possible though.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    is the footage gone? the link just goes to cartoons!!

anyway it is my experience that racism in this country comes predominantly from the older generations. a 40 or 50 year old is much more likely to call someone 'a black bas@##d' (or something similar) than a young lad is.

the incident, which i can only assume was clear for all to hear on the TV is bad and shouldn't obviously be tolerated. However to say Galway United have a racist element or support is a bit wide of the mark. Yes, obviously the idiot caught here is a clown but one eejit doesn't mean it is a major problem.

We have seen big fines for other countries but that was when the whole stand or close to the majority in it were involved in systematic racial abuse.
    Don't make excuses... condemn this mindless stupidity, making any kind of excuse is an embarassment...
    innit though??

There is no excuse for this. Its an absolute disgrace and the people laughing are nearly as guilty as the culprit.
    Unfortunately I am not sure whether we can be confident of naming and banning the individual. If they can't be seen on the clip it might be hard for people to recognise the voice
    Would be great if found and not only banned for life but charged with racial abuse

288 Posts
    I was tempted to let this go but..

I was present when the aforementioned incident occurred. I was making my way away from where the interviews were being done when I heard someone make the comments.

I condemn anyone behaving in such a way and hope that all parties agree that these kind of people have no place in this world, never mind a football match.

As I said, I was present when the incident occured but I was not able to the isolate the person from within the group that had congregated beside the cameras.

Also, while I obviously condemn this person's actions, I am not convinced that the laughter heard following the comments were at all connected to each other. Another comment was made almost at the same time along the lines of "You're not from Sligo". You can read into that as you will, but it is my honest opinion that people were laughing at the latter rather than the former.
    Last edited by gufcfan; 18/08/2008 at 3:53 PM.

anyway it is my experience that racism in this country comes predominantly from the older generations. a 40 or 50 year old is much more likely to call someone 'a black bas@##d' (or something similar) than a young lad is..
    Ageist!

Quote Originally Posted by SalvadorSanchez View Post
    Don't make excuses... condemn this mindless stupidity, making any kind of excuse is an embarassment...
    i didn't make any excuses, read again

Apologies, misread last line.
    innit though??

No place for it at any ground in the country and anyone using this type of lanuage is an idiot scumbag and should be banned for life from the ground. Let them know that these actions are not to be tolerated. Surely there must have been stewards around at the time of the incident and those responsible should be identifiable?

Quote Originally Posted by SalvadorSanchez View Post
    Apologies, misread last line.

I dont know who is worse,the fella's who stood beside the tg4 camera or the FAI.Two idiots in the crowd shouted 'do you want a bannana' at Mauro Almedia.Thats bad enough but I didnt hear any argueing or anything after that,so all the other fella's who were there singing didnt confront these idiots,who's worse?And then the FAI fine them €300
    RIP JOHNNY

again (for the slow boys) i am not condoning or excusing the actions of the idiots but the TG4 interviewer should probably spend a bit more time when deciding where to carry out his interviews. when carrying out an interview (after a derby game) with the opposing manager and the lad who equalised in the game is it best practice to pick the spot directly beside the 'section A' (insert casuals/ultras or whaterever your own clubs vocal supporters refer to themselves here) supporters - especially for a live interview????

You dont have a clue
    RIP JOHNNY

Chill Winston.....
    innit though??

Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    You dont have a clue
    Rich....

Having spoke to a few people within the club the tape was watched numerous times but the individual cannot be identified.UTD took this very seriously and issued a letter of apology to both Sligo Rovers and the player in question.

Terryland as many supporters of other clubs know is in general very friendly and welcoming to both the opposition supporters and staff.In conjunction with ourselves at GUST,the cClub have been very prominent in the "No to Racism" campaign.This is a killer blow.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by deecay View Post
    You dont have a clue
    as i say....
    "or whaterever your own clubs vocal supporters refer to themselves here."

the interviewer set himself up right beneath the supporters who had been standing, drumming and shouting for the entire match. as i said i'm not excusing the behavior but a small bit of common sense from the lad doing the interview might have avoided this storm in a tea cup.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast