Whoever made that remark should be banned from attending future games. Hopefully the club will take this seriously and act accordingly. Only then will we know whether the fine is appropriate or not.
First of all to beepbeep, a joke is a joke and it's very purpose is to get a laugh? if that maybe making fun of a sterotype then there is no harm because it is mocking a generalisation and stereotype that shouldn't exist anyway? Therefore if equality is indeed well and good in a modern society then mocking a generalisation should not be as offensive as people make them out to be.
Secondly (and back on topic) to those who claim not to know who shouted out? I am assuming that people have watched the video, Shortly after the the racist abuse the group of galway united supporters start singing "galway united" towards the end of mauro's interview which makes me think all the GUFC supporters came down to the end to make themselves heard as the interviews were done. I am no P.I but im sure their are some here alone who know who the culprit is, their is NO excuse for racism and it would not be tolerated anywhere else by any other group of supporters! Those who know and do nothing are as bad as those who shouted the abuse and their is no justification for shouting the racist abuse or keeping quiet!!
Last edited by celticV3; 19/08/2008 at 1:38 PM.
The only way you could single out someone is by their voice and ive listened to it 10 times and I have my suspicions who it is but there is no way it can be proven. There was no stewards on that side of the ground as we were dealing with the Sligo fans some of whom had been taken aside by the Gardai so unfortunately we couldnt hear or see what was going on and the first I heard of this was almost a month later when I came back from my holidays.
There is a group of youngsters (boys and girls younger than 16) attaching themselves to our home support who dont give a toss about the game and are full of bravado so id say most of the laughing was those twits although the clown who made the first reference sounds to be older.
We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"
You make it sound as if it is being tolerated at GUFC. If people knew who it was then maybe something could be done. Even if people have suspicions about who it was it is still very difficult to prove anything from a recording of a voice.
There are people like this idiot at ALL clubs and in all walks of life. Unfortunately GUFC were unlucky enough to have this idiot tarnish the name of the club on national television. I'd love to see him get a life ban but when it comes to dishing out life bans some concrete evidence is needed or people could easily start accusing others of things they had no part of.
Of course every club has it's idiots and it only takes a split second for someone to do something like this that can reflect bad on all supporters, but the thing that worries me was that their was a huge amount of supporters singing straight away after the abuse surely someone heard and saw something?
€300 is an absolute joke Galway United need to be made an example of and punished severely nothing less then a 5k fine and possible point’s deduction unless they find the $cum responsible and give them a life time ban. None of the usual PR rubbish from Galway saying we can’t find the ones responsible. If Galway United were threatened with a heavier penalty they wouldn’t be half as long finding out whom the perpetrators were there were plenty of witnesses to this vile act of ignorance. These “supporters” should stand up and identify this $cum if they don’t they are no better. And before Galway fans get on my back if it was our supporters who did this to a Galway player I would expect the same punishment for us.
No excuse for racism
Last edited by Red Army; 19/08/2008 at 5:45 PM.
Misfits
Ah will you grow up, a points deduction, for the love of God. It was disgusting that some gobs.hite shouted what he did, the morons who laughed were equally disgusting, but you can't deduct points from a side because some idiots chose to prove that humankind has a nasty side to it.
By all means increase the fine - personally I think it is far too low, but it is not just in Ireland that the fines handed out for racist abuse are very low, it is the same in Serie A, which has a far worse racism problem, clubs barely to go past the change in their pockets to meet the fines handed out. That is not to excuse what is a paltry fine, but merely explains its level within the world of sports fines
"Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
"Homer Simpson, smiling politely."
Sadly I think this part of your post reflects the knuckle dragging neanderthal attuide amoung some of your support. I never said Galway should get deducted points but it should considerered very seriously by the FAI if GUFC aren’t seen to be serious about banning those responceable it’s not that hard to find out who did it loads of withness were there and if the are Galway supporters then they should come forward.
Racism should be delt with severly by the FAI if they a serious about the against racism campain they run otherwise they are only payinng lip service. A hardline approcah most be taken no matter how “small” the incident was
Misfits
the majority of people had left the ground by the time the interview took place and the club as well as Gust have made extensive enquiries into the matter but have unfortunately not been able to nab anyone. I have heard United Players subjected to far worse concerted racist abuse in numeous of el grounds around the country by a groups of fans rather than 1 clown.
I am not condoning what happened but some of the posters on here are just usung this to blacken the name of galway united and all its supporters.
We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"
Look i think it is stupid for GUFC to be deducted points? It was hardly the players or the people behind the scenes of the club that were shouting this abuse therefore it cannot be them that has to pay for the stupidity of these fans.
Again though what i would say is that at the end of the video those who had stayed behind after the game and were cheering their team as the manager was doing his interview and were singing at the end of mauro's interview must have say something?
Sorry but that's just stupid. How many stewards were there that night? Ye needed them all over with us because the guards were "dealing with" two Rovers fans was it?Maybe their weren't stewards beside GUFC fans, I can't remember but don't try and pass it off that they weren't there because they were dealing with us.
Poor stewarding are the words you're looking for.
Don't get me wrong I would ban the scumbag for life but you can't ban someone on the possibility that maybe it was them or on some rumour. You would have to have some sort of concrete evidence either caught on film or caught by someone in a position of some authority with the club.
If any of the lads here knew without a shadow of a doubt who it was I think they would tell someone connected to the club but again it would come down to a case of one word against another.
No. It. Shouldn't. As I said, that is plain stupid. Carry it through to its (il)logical conclusion - deduct points from clubs whose fans taunt Derry for having a queen. That is racism, so why not deduct them points. Go bacl through footagr of the Love Ulster riot and confirm people there in Celtic and Irish jerseys. Then deduct points from them in SPL and next World/Euro qualifying campaign as their actions stemmed from racism.
By all means increase the fine 10 fold, but again, to suggest a points deduction suggests it is you who needs to put Elastoplasts on the knuckles, not I
The sign above one of the first turnstile you come to outside the ground, written in capital letters in maroon writing on a white background on a sign about 1ftx2.5ftft which read 'AWAY' wasn't a big enough hint for you? And I thought college students were supposed to be a brainy lot.
Hi all, just read this tread tonight. I was at the game along with an under 10 team as guests of GUFC and were seated in the new stand. I was beside the said group as the interviews were taking place which started with abuse being fired at Paul Cook as he spoke to the TG4 guy, something along the lines of "Paul Cook is a w%#*$r". "F%k off back to liverpool" Seemed to be late teens,early twenties and I can tell you it was more than one person shouting. Group numbered about 10 to 12.
Was there for Maurio interview and was disgusted by the comment, afterwards they left shouting "United, United". They were up in the top of the new stand and were singing for the whole game.
I have good time for GUFC and had actually commented during the match what great vocal support they were giving during the game.
Would have to agree that the lack of stewarding on that side of the ground was maybe a factor.
As for suggesting that TG4 should conduct interviews somewhere else I can only suggest that their transmission feed equipment was down that end of the ground.
I find it difficult that no one can identify anyone from the group as they seemed to be regular supporters of GUFC.
Fine should be higher but as already stated every club has its lunatics, we have all seen them amongst our own home supporters.
There are digital CCTV cameras inside and outdside Terryland. I don't watch games from the new Corrib Stand so I don't know if there are cameras there.
For what it's worth, I saw a so called GUFC fan chant monkey sounds at Sligo striker Mike Small many years ago (when was that?) in the Showgrounds. A middle aged gentleman tapped the the idiot on the shoulder and told him to "get the f*** out...". That's how to deal with it. Fight fire with fire.
Nobody knows us, we don't care