Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: feelings regarding roy keane

812 Posts
    There've been some good points raised here, and a whole lot of dumb ones.

Some people want to know why Keano can play a pre-season, but not our qualifiers. What kind of professional footballer doesn't play a preseason? Exactly how match-fit would he be for Man U right now if he'd just ****ed around training? As someone rightly said, international football is a bit harder than a pre-season friendly, which is little more than a training match.

As for his Worthington Cup exploits, how many such games has he played in over the past year? One? I'd be amazed if it was more than that. Can you think of any good reason for Ferige playing Keane in a WC game? Clearly it was a match-fitness builder for a guy who's spent the last two years struggling with injuries.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not a blind Keane fan. I don't hail from Cork, and I don't see things through red-tinted glasses. I deeply resent what Keane did in Saipan, but I'm not so blind as to dismiss the points he raised, and I'm not so bitter that I can't understand an injury-prone player retiring from International Football.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

[SIZE=25]ROY KEANE-WHAT A LEGEND[/SIZE]

carnstein
    Any Irishman who criticises Roy Keane, Irelands greatest ever footballer, is a complete and utter ****er and deserve to be castrated and thrown off the edge of a cliff.

He CARRIED Ireland for years and was not given an iota of credit.

[SIZE=4]KEANE IS A LEGEND[/SIZE]

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    "Any Irishman who criticises Roy Keane, Irelands greatest ever footballer, is a complete and utter ****er and deserve to be castrated and thrown off the edge of a cliff. "

Well its not much point being "Irelands greatest ever footballer"
    if your not actually playing for Ireland is it?
    He might as well be playing for Rangers for all the use he is.

I honestly think he would be happier playing for Glasgow Rangers than for Ireland, which is a pretty sad state of affairs at the end of the day, whatever the reasons.

[SIZE=1]one thing to say[/SIZE]

[SIZE=25]SHORT MEMORIES[/SIZE]

Going to be very productive here, but all you Pro Keane ppl, are the same ppl who said that Roy was dead right to "do" Alfie Haaland. You seem to blindly worship the guy.

I never liked Keane, yes i believe he is a great footballer, and an asset (playing wise) to any team, but the guys attitude stinks to the high heavens. I mean he goes on about being this "ultimate professional", well if this were the case, the guy would have held his tongue and accepted the ultimate honour for a footballer, to captain your country at a World Cup finals. On July1 2002 he could have let rip, but no, Alex had him told i dont want you playing inb the world cup.

As for ppl like the corner saying RK=Legend, i actually feel sorry for you. You have no valid opinion other than (probabaly) "well he is from Cork like", which is uttercowdung anyway because as the song goes

Roy Keane is a traitor
    He wears a traitors cap
    And when he went to Saipan
    He didnt fancy that
    He could have captained Ireland, In Korea and Japan
    but he is just a mayfield knacker
    AND NOT AN IRISH MAN

Having said all that Mick Mc is a muppet as well, he should have known better that do have a public meeting. if there was an axe to grind, everyone knows you do it behind closed doors.

In conclusion, i wont waste having an opinion on RK, its not worth it. He knows whats best best for RK, and dont give a tos about anyone else, and i spose, who can blame him for that?
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Originally posted by Gary

As for ppl like the corner saying RK=Legend, i actually feel sorry for you. You have no valid opinion other than (probabaly) "well he is from Cork like",
    as opposed to your so valid opinion which is

AND NOT AN IRISH MAN
    Looks like we found Spillage's rascist.......

alright lads
    think it was said already but ill say it again

is dean kiely a traitor
    is steve staunton a traitor
    is alan shearer a traitor

never knew some of the CCFC fans could be such *******s

Originally posted by patsh
    as opposed to your so valid opinion which is

Looks like we found Spillage's rascist.......
    Well done! that was really constructive Pat. As always i spose.

My opinion, if i have one, and if u read my last post was that RK and MMc are both idiots. They are the brass tax of the matter.

Question. Has thecorner made a valid point on this yet?
    Staunton quit because he is past international football.
    Kiely quit becoz he was never going to be first choice.
    As for Shearer, who cares, we are talking about "irish" players here.
    Last edited by Gary; 13/09/2003 at 12:33 PM.

Well done! that was really constructive Pat. As always i spose.
    Constructive...????
    Let's see now.
    You dismiss somebody else's opinion, because you say it's probably based on "well he is from Cork like", and then you go to prove the sound basis of your own opinion by posting an inane ditty, containing a rascist slur and a contradiction in it's last two lines.
    I did not offer any opinion on RK, something you claim not to have, or anyone, for that matter.
    I simply pointed out to you the stupidity of your own post.
    You can take that as constructive criticism..

And the initiator of the thread has succeeded in his aim of winding you all up!

when brian kerr took over i bet most of the anti-roy keane brigade here were like the rest of the country hoping he could change roy keanes mind. bet he wasnt a traitor then

[SIZE=9]AND DONT BULLSH!T[/SIZE]

Originally posted by patsh
    You dismiss somebody else's opinion, because you say it's probably based on "well he is from Cork like", and then you go to prove the sound basis of your own opinion by posting an inane ditty, containing a rascist slur and a contradiction in it's last two lines.
    Right so. I didnt exactly dismiiss everyone else opinion, merely Coners because all i can see from him is hacknied barstool cliches, with absolutely nothing to back them up.

As for everyone in the pro roy camp , well i didnt dismiss them, i just chose to ignore their comments!!!! I know that alot of them are very valid, and it is totally a matter of ones choice on whetjer to agree or not. I can see where people are coming from, but what i cannot understand is why people think that RK is a legend, the ultimate pro, when in effect he was the master of his own destiny.

Not getting into it again Pat, i know u will just ignore everyting i say anyway.

If i have an opinion it is this. RK and MMc are 2 overpaid idiots who let their own super egos get in the way of the true cause last summer. MMc was wrong calling a public meeting, Roy was wrong in his reaction (it would have been ok ghad he waited til AFTER the world cup). can u at least agree with me on that????????

Smile This should be good

Originally posted by thecorner
    when brian kerr took over i bet most of the anti-roy keane brigade here were like the rest of the country hoping he could change roy keanes mind. bet he wasnt a traitor then

[SIZE=9]AND DONT BULLSH!T[/SIZE]

Your point being?????

Staunton quit because he is past international football.
    He says he is, it's still only a year since he played very well at the World Cup, he's still playing football at as high a level or higher level than many of the players that are called up. Why not just leave himself available for selection in case of injury crises.

Kiely quit becoz he was never going to be first choice.
    Which is pathetic, here we have a premiership keeper (and a very good one) who has abandoned the national side because he's not first choice. Where are all the arguments about being proud to pull on the irish shirt, even if it's as a sub against Kiely.. as opposed to his primary school "it's my ball and i'm going home" sentiments. Now there's a traitor for you....

Shearer is also a good yardstick, he left to prolong his career, and it's worked, he's in better form than for a while (making light of the suggestions that the six games a year would have had no effect), until Rooney england had to persist with Heskey as a replacement. so basically, probably englands best option in his position retired leaving a hole they still haven't properly filled. sounds like an accurate parallel regardless of nationality.

Right so. I didnt exactly dismiiss everyone else opinion,
    My post said "somebody else's opinion"
    merely Coners because all i can see from him is hacknied barstool cliches, with absolutely nothing to back them up.
    as opposed to the following hacknied barstool cliche with absolutely nothing to back it up?
    Roy Keane is a traitor
    He wears a traitors cap
    And when he went to Saipan
    He didnt fancy that
    He could have captained Ireland, In Korea and Japan
    AND NOT AN IRISH MAN

Not getting into it again Pat, i know u will just ignore everyting i say anyway.
    This from the same poster who posted "As for everyone in the pro roy camp , well i didnt dismiss them, i just chose to ignore their comments!!!!"

How am I ignoring you, if I replied to you ?
    Anymore constructive criticism I can offer?

carnstein
    Well its not much point being "Irelands greatest ever footballer"
    if your not actually playing for Ireland is it?
    He might as well be playing for Rangers for all the use he is.
    This is the same Roy Keane who needs an pain-killing injection before every game and does not train for 2 days after a game. His body is in ****, Shearer retired from international football for the same reason and it IS a valid reason.

Roy Keane battered his body for years in the futile persuit of success for no-hopers and when we were on the verge of that success it was taken away from him. Its *******s like you who forget what he did for Ireland, more than any other footballer in the history of our nation.

That's the problem with this debate though Conor, and it's likely to be for a while.
    Both sides can, as i said earlier, make decent arguments but at best incomplete ones, because only a few know exactly what happened in Japan, and only one knows what's going on in Roy Keane's head (and it's not Dunphy ).
    People on both sides get personal with it, because we don't have all the facts, and all have at some stage to make the jump that includes personal feelings/opinions/ prejudices (be they against Keane, McCarthy or the FAI) , and Roy seems to elicit passionate support or else vitriol depending on one's own feelings.
    Makes for long threads though.....

Originally posted by Conor74
    I agree on the point that we may never agree and it is just a game of football. But I think we can only judge him by what he has and hasn't done on a pitch. I don't know how we can judge him as a person, because we don't know him.

Then again, the outbursts, the rooming alone, the attitude, the holding a grudge for years and trying to end a players career, the apparent dislike of his own fans at Old Trafford - I know he may give the odd cheque to Rockmount and go to a hospital (heck, what footballer doesn't), but I don't know if I would want to know him...

Nice dog though...if a bit on the tired side....
    I think that is the main point we will diagree on I feel the man should be judged on what he has done, not just on one part of his life, if we are to judge him on his football I think we need be of equal standing or his peer in order to judge him in terms of footballing.
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

Originally posted by Dricky
    .......... if we are to judge him on his football I think we need be of equal standing or his peer in order to judge him in terms of footballing.
    Nonsense.
    What's the point in having a website like Foot.ie if we're not going to make judgements and air our opinions?

Liamon's right. I read books and occasionally earn a few pennies as a jobbing hack. This obviously makes me better qualified to assess any ghosted footballer's book, than the 'authors' themselves.

In RK's effort, it was obvious that large sections of the book were ****-stirring by Dum-dum, and that Roy hadn't bothered to read them/ it. For example, they make NI-RoI in 1993 sound like a rerun of the battle of Aughrim; when in reality RK has never shown any previous interest in commenting on the tension around this particular fixture. If he had, I'm sure that big Norm Whiteside (a regualr dining companion in the pubs of Altrincham) would have provided briefing
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast