Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Identity Crisis FC

Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    the Irish government is currently funding a multi-million euro research programme on behalf of Sundentity - a think thank between us and Quinn's
    pimping to prove that professional soccer is not viable in Ireland.

It will involve putting ireland4ever's head in the HADRON COLLIDER while firing sub atomic particle into his brain. The impact pattern will be (according to RTE) in the shape of a union jack thereby proving the Irish people were programmed to support british clubs moments before the birth of the universe.

Sadly the particle is still whizzing around inside the collider as it can;t make impact with an Oirish Soccer Fan's brain. We need more funding - calling RTE now to send out a tearful plead on our behalf and on the behalf of unborn Irish patriots who will fill the merchadise shops at POBP.

We need Irish people to get behind identity crisis I really want to be on Failte Towers. It's classy stuff media stuff which gets the whole irish family hooked.
    I'll admit its funny enough the ramblings ye have posted through this thread....but i find it hard to like it because i can see that while its all ment as a bit of craic theres still a self righteous/chip on shoulder undertone.

And another thing, this Oirish thing really bugs me. The only people that pronounce Irish as Oirish is Leinster rugby fans/D4 heads (And that gimp from Today FM - but thats it).
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Serious question - If Drogheda United manage to get their new ground built in Co. Meath, would you consider supporting them? I'm sure they already do have a lot of fans from County Meath anyway...

I know we have fans from Co. Monaghan and Co. Armagh who have no problem supporting a team in another county (even another country if you want to be technical), as it is still close in terms of distance.

County boundaries were only drawn up by the British anwyay in order to better administer the country.. At times they were based on pre-existing gaelic tribal boundaries but a lot weren't. For example the ancient area of Oriel became split between Co. Monaghan and Co. Louth.

Personally, I don't have any sense of county loyalty and most Irish people didn't have one either until it became the basis for organising Gaelic games after 1884 (studied it in historical geography in university).

If you or your family were GAA people though I can see why you would need your LOI team to be based within your county.
    Being from Meath I place huge significance on county borders....especially the Dublin one!!
    P.S. Graham Geraghty is a hero - Whealo is a knacker!
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    -

Press Release
    Identity Crisis Press Officer
    Pint O' Blackstuff Park
    Cromwell-on-the-Papist
    Englandshire

Major Press Conference This Friday to Announce Stadium Sponser

Identity Crisis FC are pleased to welcome to our team of sponsers the Army Council of the IRA who will be sponsering the main stand at Pint O' Blackstuff Park. "We are delighted to have on board such a huge Irish brand name as the Irish Republican Army" said a spokesperson for the club.

The Balaclava Stand will be the largest in the Arkwright's Black Pudding and Suet League and will be opened in time for this weekend's season opener against Gladstone Imperials. The 20,000 seater structure with corporate hospitality bars, metro, airport and the world's largest inflatable green hammer was paid for by the Irish government under their "Empowering Irish Soccer" fund.

We are also delighted that the Irish media has taken time out from mastrubating over Kathy French's corpse to attend the event.

ENDS

Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    the Irish government is currently funding a multi-million euro research programme on behalf of Sundentity - a think thank between us and Quinn's
    pimping to prove that professional soccer is not viable in Ireland.

It will involve putting ireland4ever's head in the HADRON COLLIDER while firing sub atomic particle into his brain. The impact pattern will be (according to RTE) in the shape of a union jack thereby proving the Irish people were programmed to support british clubs moments before the birth of the universe.

Sadly the particle is still whizzing around inside the collider as it can;t make impact with an Oirish Soccer Fan's brain. We need more funding - calling RTE now to send out a tearful plead on our behalf and on the behalf of unborn Irish patriots who will fill the merchadise shops at POBP.

We need Irish people to get behind identity crisis I really want to be on Failte Towers. It's classy stuff media stuff which gets the whole irish family hooked.
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Hoop View Post
    A barstooler and a GAAhead. Good grief.

And yee slag epl fans for following a foreign league...and ya wont even follow your national game...Tut Tut.
    -

Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    And yee slag epl fans for following a foreign league...and ya wont even follow your national game...Tut Tut.
    hurling is the national sport of ireland.
    and by most peoples logic you shouldnt be watching meath anyway - they are quite poor standard (like the el) so shouldnt you be only watching the top standard teams (like kerry)?

Quote Originally Posted by ciaraa View Post
    hurling is the national sport of ireland.
    and by most peoples logic you shouldnt be watching meath anyway - they are quite poor standard (like the el) so shouldnt you be only watching the top standard teams (like kerry)?
    Right...i suppose gaelic football is a foreign sport so....Will ya give up talking sh*te.

Dont understand your 'supposed' logic on meath being of a poor standard. They won the league a year ago and were in the all ireland semis....They have won the Championship 7 times, all the best players in the county play for the county (Unlike the LOI where they all play in a different league). Theres absolutely no comparison.
    -

185 Posts
    pardon my ignorance of all things meath-like,but was the above sentence written with irony?
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Right...i suppose gaelic football is a foreign sport so....Will ya give up talking sh*te.
    It was codified as a modification as soccer some years AFTER the foundation of the IFA. So yes, yes it is a 'foreign sport'.

You do realise thar LOI fans are not all exactly the same dont you? How many c-u-n-t-s do you think stand around you in the pub? Alot I imagine. And I dont why GGA gets brought into these things. Football is a global sport where as GAA is mainly constriced to Ireland so I think its a stupid arguement comparing the two. And Ireland4ever, just say Meath were an awful team would still support them?
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Originally Posted by KianD
    It was codified as a modification as soccer some years AFTER the foundation of the IFA. So yes, yes it is a 'foreign sport'.

HA Ha AH , are ye for real,,,ye are a basket of contradictions...Slating other Irish men for following English soccer teams and questioning their sense of locality and tribalism for forsaking their local EL Teams,,,yet you have the audacity to slag of a game which is by far the most community oriented and tribalist sport in the country and claim it is a foreign sport,,,you are a sad bast**d my friend..simple as..

No wonder people dont go to EL matches, not because the standard is poor but because they have to stand beside a --------- like you for 90 minutes...I suppose you don't follow the irish football team either because there are no EL players in it??

Come on Sunder -Ireland...

Joe I know not all EL fans are the same, one of my mates is a die-hard drogs fan and he would agree with me on some of my points...and the c word has been used throughout this thread and its only my post that gets deleted!!!!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    I have thought about going to a game however but if im honest the self righteous, snobby and condesending attitudes of alot of El fans on this site would turn me off going. I wouldnt like to turn up and be called a bandwagoner or a lazy c**t for not coming sooner.
    Don't. Be. Stupid.

Some people will look anywhere for an excuse not to go to EL matches.

Well you said that you wouldnt go to a League of Ireland game becasue you would have to stand beside C's like your man. Thats a pretty lame and ignorant excuse.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Originally Posted by KianD

HA Ha AH , are ye for real,,,ye are a basket of contradictions...Slating other Irish men for following English soccer teams and questioning their sense of locality and tribalism for forsaking their local EL Teams,,,yet you have the audacity to slag of a game which is by far the most community oriented and tribalist sport in the country and claim it is a foreign sport,,,you are a sad bast**d my friend..simple as..

No wonder people dont go to EL matches, not because the standard is poor but because they have to stand beside a --------- like you for 90 minutes...I suppose you don't follow the irish football team either because there are no EL players in it??

Come on Sunder -Ireland...

Joe I know not all EL fans are the same, one of my mates is a die-hard drogs fan and he would agree with me on some of my points...and the c word has been used throughout this thread and its only my post that gets deleted!!!!

I'm neither a sad ******* nor slagging off Gaelic football - you're inferring things my very short post did not say. I'm stating that it is a modification of "football", just another different codification which appeared in the late 19th Century - and which appeared after we already had a football association on this island.

Where on earth do you get material to infer that I don't support the Irish national team, or that I've even mentioned peoples sense of locality or tribalism? Answers on the back of a postcard please...

Being from Meath I place huge significance on county borders....especially the Dublin one!!
    P.S. Graham Geraghty is a hero - Whealo is a knacker!
    you are everything i hate- a barstooler and a meath fan...good god i feel sorry for you.

Just thought this might be of interest. Sunderland fans at the Kenny Egan fight... that's all.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Just thought this might be of interest. Sunderland fans at the Kenny Egan fight... that's all.
    Unless I've missed something - Egan's opponent there, Tony Jeffries, was from Sunderland and used to work at the Stadium of Light
    Kom Igen, FCK...

No. That's it. There's nothing more to it... just some fans who don't suffer from an identity crisis.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    No. That's it. There's nothing more to it... just some fans who don't suffer from an identity crisis.

just keep quiet, the last thing my venture needs is the Irish Preimership brigade figuring out they are the biggest army of freaks and oddballs in world soccer.

Not that they have the minds to work that one out.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Unless I've missed something - Egan's opponent there, Tony Jeffries, was from Sunderland and used to work at the Stadium of Light
    He used to flip burgers apparantly!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by KianD View Post
    Where on earth do you get material to infer that I don't support the Irish national team, or that I've even mentioned peoples sense of locality or tribalism? Answers on the back of a postcard please...
    Still no answer to this, I'll just have to write ce's post off as an insane rant then...

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast