Thread: Newstalk - Ger Gilroy

The Premiership sadly is the only soccer that matters to the majority of "fans" in this country lads. Anyone see the RTE ad with the bemused fella walking around the deserted streets of Dublin. The date flashes up "16th August." I figured this must be a promo for the Dublin-Tyrone game as there will be 82,000 people at that. Silly me. Yer man picks up a newspaper off the ground and is distraught to realise he is missing the opening day of the Premiership. Laughable stuff.

Yeah, I saw that too. Quite depressing.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

The ad is obviously a play on '28 days later'

I guess it's kinda clever, but it is sad if you choose to read more into it, that the streets of Dublin are empty because of English football.

BTW, 'Premier Soccer Saturday'? [comic book guy]Worst. Name. EVER![/comic book guy]

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    The commercial media are just giving the people what they want.

Ger Gilroy does hate the LOI & it was good to see him leave their sports show.

You're dead right and I have no problem with that but to not even acknowledge Drogheda were in the competition really grates with me. I could handle him cheerleading the English clubs but not by completely dismissing something that happened a week ago.

The f**ker is out of his depth on the Breakfast Show anyway. Hope he gets pushed off that soon.

This has probably bein talked about a thousand times BUT what are the viewing figures like for MNS?

Quote Originally Posted by corkharps View Post
    This has probably bein talked about a thousand times BUT what are the viewing figures like for MNS?
    Officially less than 100k, I heard 80k mentioned somewhere.

Drogs v Kiev got 126k or 16th on Network 2 that week.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    Goodness you're sensitive. There is absolutely nothing wrong with making that statement before any round right up to the final. I've heard it said many many times throughout a season.

It appears some people scan the airways looking for every opportunity to be offended.
    It appears you scan the EL threads looking for every opportunity to troll about domestic football. You might want to have a look at your avatar.

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    They are going to be showing Premiership, FA Cup and Ireland international matches so they show the Prem logo, FA Cup logo and Irish logo. Would ye ever relax ffs. What do ye expect them show??
    Setanta Cup?

Quote Originally Posted by barney View Post
    The f**ker is out of his depth on the Breakfast Show anyway. Hope he gets pushed off that soon.
    Totally agree, McWilliams to Dunphy to Gilroy/Byrne. Total dumbing down of the show. Newstalk is in serious decline in terms of quality. However, not sure he hated the LoI as much as the current crowd of Off the Ball clowns.

Let's flip it around lads, who can be considered to be a pro-Eircom League broadcaster?

Con Murphy for one, can't think of too many others