Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Referees

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    Dont care what anyone says here im still thinking of packing it in.
    Aw dont do that
    RIP JOHNNY

Actually i bet i know more rules of the sport then you.

Im a "nerd" when it comes to football and could talk alot about tactics and rules,but i do have a life so i dont talk at all.Wish there was a way could show you i know more about it then you but i couldnt be ar*ed to be honest.It doesnt matter anyway.

47 Posts
    Dont care what anyone says here im still thinking of packing it in.As i said been a season ticket holder for 9 years and just cant take the constant anger and frustration i feel after most(not all) games.Ye have no idea what its like that you cant even look forward to your teams game anymore because in the back of your mind you know your gonna feel worse at the end of it.And i know we(galway utd) are where we are for MANY other reasons.Thats not the point,the point is a REAL fan of an e.l club is 70% sure this will be his last season due not to the football but to the officating.
    This is my point Eamo1. A TRUE football fan will always (after the dust settles) acknowledge that the reason for a defeat is that the better team won. What is killing the game is very poor officials deciding the outcome. If each team got or lost 5 significant decisions a season, well that is just human nature and it balances out. What we have here is beyond belief.

Face it people...........we weren't up to it. Murphs may have been fouled but his acrobatics made it look like a dive. Most people on here, irrespective of their club, agree that there is a very low standard of refereeing. We all know that so why expect anything else? The only consolation is that the refs are equally incompetent no matter who is playing.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

24 Posts
    at least in the premier division you have a slight chance of bad ref displays being looked at and highlighted the standard in first division is just as bad if not worst.

Won't actually say anything about the ref and linesman in particular but quote from Shels forum from someone who was at game sums it up nicely

"Special mention to the linsman!!
    ALL Shels fans should buy that man a drink next time he's in Tolka Smile"
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Dont care what anyone says here im still thinking of packing it in.As i said been a season ticket holder for 9 years and just cant take the constant anger and frustration i feel after most(not all) games.Ye have no idea what its like that you cant even look forward to your teams game anymore because in the back of your mind you know your gonna feel worse at the end of it.And i know we(galway utd) are where we are for MANY other reasons.Thats not the point,the point is a REAL fan of an e.l club is 70% sure this will be his last season due not to the football but to the officating.
    Cry me a river Are you sure you're thinking of quitting because the standard of officials is poor (is it worse than 7 years ago even?), or is it because Galway are heading for relegation? If Galway were flying high on the back of some dodgy decisions, or even if the ref had given 3 undeserved penalties to let Galway beat UCD last weekend would you be on here spouting the same drivel about quitting the league as you are here? If that's the way you feel then you know where the door is to be honest, we have two part time leagues after all, what standard do you expect?
    Last edited by jebus; 12/08/2008 at 5:30 PM.

My last post on this thread.

Just to set the record straight,ive been a fan for the last 11 years,season ticker holder for last 9.Most of those years were spent in the 1st division,ive seen us get relgated twice before in those 11 odd years and NOT walked away.I really had though that when we got to the premier league this time that ref standards would have improved and wouldnt suffer the same amount.IMO it has gotten WORSE,not better.So im NOT walking out coz we MIGHT get relagated.Doesnt matter anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Cry me a river Are you sure you're thinking of quitting because the standard of officials is poor (is it worse than 7 years ago even?), or is it because Galway are heading for relegation? If Galway were flying high on the back of some dodgy decisions, or even if the ref had given 3 undeserved penalties to go Galway to beat UCD last weekend would you be on here spouting the same drivel about quitting the league as you are here? If that's the way you feel then you know where the door is to be honest, we have two part time leagues after all, what standard do you expect?
    It will remain sub-standard if people at the top have the same attitude as you.Apathy towards referees incompotence should not be tolerated.
    To say that we have 2 part time leagues is incorrect.In the premier League 8/12 teams are currently full time.
    At a time when the LOI is going as professional as at can,why should the referees be left out of it?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Two questions, one in general and one to yourself if you feel like coming back into this thread eamo

1) What standard do people expect from referees in a part time league? I'm not saying they are in any way good at what they do, but every club in every league have problems with their officials (except maybe AC Milan). Now if a cash cow like La Liga or the Premiership can't get it right what do you expect the eircom League to have?

2) Would you be thinking of quitting if poor referee decisions had put Galway in the top 5 this year eamo?

1) What standard do people expect from referees in a part time league? I'm not saying they are in any way good at what they do, but every club in every league have problems with their officials (except maybe AC Milan). Now if a cash cow like La Liga or the Premiership can't get it right what do you expect the eircom League to have?
    Rubbish argument. No country have full times refs, and its hard to see how having them full time would improve them. Can't see what kind of training they could do (most are fit enough for the job). As it is, these lads are the best we have. if they're not good enouugh, imagine the rest below them?

However, anyone who thinks that referees are responsible for their league position is an idiot. None of the refs are biased. All make mistakes but thats all they are. I'd imagine they make less mistakes than every player on the pitch. Funny how no team that wins every complains about ref performances

123 Posts
    your proberly best out of it eamo football is not for you.

If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same;
    Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
    And--which is more--you'll be a Man, my son!
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Rubbish argument. No country have full times refs, and its hard to see how having them full time would improve them. Can't see what kind of training they could do (most are fit enough for the job). As it is, these lads are the best we have. if they're not good enouugh, imagine the rest below them?
    I'm genuinely not giving out (too much) about the standard we have, it's about the same as the standard of play in the leagues. That said they do sometimes get the basics wrong, example being in Limerick's loss to Longford recently. Our centre back Danagher played a terrible back pass that went into the path of a Longford forward coming back from an attack. The Longford forward was the last man but the linesman flagged him offside, despite it being our player that played him through. I'm not expecting miracles in asking they know the basics to be fair

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    It will remain sub-standard if people at the top have the same attitude as you.Apathy towards referees incompotence should not be tolerated.
    To say that we have 2 part time leagues is incorrect.In the premier League 8/12 teams are currently full time.
    At a time when the LOI is going as professional as at can,why should the referees be left out of it?
    ******** Conor and you know it, how you still have this 'let's pretend everything is okay and it will be' is beyond me at this stage. It won't all be alright if we wish it extra hard, I thought the Galway full time experiment would have thought you that. Apathy towards referees incompotence shouldn't be tolerated, but neither should this blinkered LoI view that makes this forum, and the viewpoints of a lot of it's posters, seem more
    ridiculous with each passing thread. We're not a full time league, we won't be a full time league for at least 15 years, the current full time clubs are struggling, and the debate about things like referee decisions should have some basis in reality

47 Posts
    Two questions, one in general and one to yourself if you feel like coming back into this thread eamo

2) Would you be thinking of quitting if poor referee decisions had put Galway in the top 5 this year eamo?
    Take me home in a wheelbarrow.

If you watch the game without the new compulsory Andy Gray's sunglasses, you have to know that the standard of officials is below what an ordinary lover of the game would accept. If loads of home AND away fans see an incident from the stands, why can't the officials in the middle of things see it too????

57 Posts

However, anyone who thinks that referees are responsible for their league position is an idiot. None of the refs are biased. All make mistakes but thats all they are. I'd imagine they make less mistakes than every player on the pitch. Funny how no team that wins every complains about ref performances
    Just need to address one factually incorrect bit there Dodge - the Premiership and Football League Referees Panels in England are all Full-Time Contracted Officials - all they do is train and attend meetings on games when not refereeing
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Fair enough (and the meetings thing should be of benefit too)

What type of training do they do?

144 Posts
    1) What standard do people expect from referees in a part time league?
    Non farcical would be nice.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Non farcical would be nice.
    True, but what the Galway fans are complaining about here (and what others have complained about before) are subjective decisions taken in the blink of an eye, some they get right, some they don't, blaming them for your teams poor performance has always been part and parcel of the game, but blaming them for driving you away from the sport is ridiculous.

The basics they should get right, and one or two of them should be removed from the panel as they seem to love the negative attention a bad decision brings, but other than that we can't ask for more

3,490 Posts
    True, but what the Galway fans are complaining about here are subjective decisions taken in the blink of an eye, some they get right, some they don't
    You should also note that in this instance, it appears the ref got every major call right. Yet they're still decried as incompetent. That's the bit that annoys me most. (And I haven't reffed since doing Superleague to earn a fwe bob in my final year in college)

Yeah I saw the video alright Stu, would agree that the ref got the decisions correct in this case and it is highly annoying that people still think it's okay to have a pop at them just because their team lost

What type of training do they do?
    Sight Training?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast