Page 2 of 28 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Georgia game at risk?

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    848 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SalvadorSanchez View Post
    The Russians have just sent Tanks in... and the Georgian President said it would be war if they got involved... so I guess it's war then... not looking good for the Green Army... Red Army are already in there and I don't think we can hold them back with inflated hammers, leprechaun hats and Guinness farts ... I suggest full frontal riverdance assault....
    Jaysus I dunno...they could nearly stop nuclear missiles
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by newbie View Post
    haha now that does be some craic,i dont know how many headers i won in San Marino and Bratislava!! was hopin Stan would see me and gimme a game!
    thats how joe lapira got in.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Flights being cancelled.........

"Situation in Georgia - Updated 8th August 14:30 GMT
    Due to the situation in Georgia bmi has cancelled the following flights to and from Tbilisi.
    BD955 LHR/TBS - 8 August 2008
    BD956 TBS-LHR - 9 August 2008

bmi apologises for any inconvenience, but regrets that this situation is beyond our control."

1,912 Posts
    The Russian tanks have arrived
    They look like one of my old Meccano fantasies, only with tractor diesel engines.

Come on Georgia

Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    Letter to Georgian Embassy ''Eh hello, i know you might be busy being at war with Russia like, but is there any chance you can check if the Ireland game is going ahead cause ive planned a big session!''

It might not be top of his agenda!
    Was thinking more in regards to travel advice. The team and officials can arrange armed escorts during thier stay if necessary. I havent got that luxury.

I'd say the Georgia game is not going to happen now, the Georgian president has said that Russia are at war with them (D'uh!) and Ivan has bombed an airport outside Tblisi. (I think) so they're might not be an airport to fly into..
    I hope the airlines and travel companies give you boys your money back... they'd be fierce tight not to....
    innit though??

If i remember back in 1999 they only postponed the game at the last minute only because the Irish Government refused to let Aer lingus to fly into serbian or macedonian air space so the decision was taken out of Fifa's hands

Quote Originally Posted by SuperDub View Post
    If i remember back in 1999 they only postponed the game at the last minute only because the Irish Government refused to let Aer lingus to fly into serbian or macedonian air space so the decision was taken out of Fifa's hands

You're right and the game was rearranged for the Weds before the Croatia match, Mark Kennedy scored a cracker in Lansdowne, the only qualifier I've missed at home in 30+ yrs as we were in Malta for the double header!

FIFA were reluctant to move the game as Yugoslavia had already played a few home games, however as this is the 1st game of the tournament don't be surprised if UEFA insist on Georgia playing all their home games at a neutral venue. Prague would suit me as thats the route we're flying plastic hammers at the ready
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

The only positive is that the area seems to be well away from Tbilisi. However I wouldn't be too confident after hearing this:

Russian Prime Minister Vladimir Putin told American President George W. Bush while present at the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games today that "war has started today" in the region.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Brillant

Quote Originally Posted by SalvadorSanchez View Post
    The Russians have just sent Tanks in... and the Georgian President said it would be war if they got involved... so I guess it's war then... not looking good for the Green Army... Red Army are already in there and I don't think we can hold them back with inflated hammers, leprechaun hats and Guinness farts ... I suggest full frontal riverdance assault....

Im told that in the event of airlines being unable to land due to war that they are legally obliged to refund airfares. Im on the czech airline flight (thursday back sunday morning and on to podgorica) and told that this is the case. If its not war we'll go, if it is we wont .. either way we wont lose out. the disaster will be if the game is played at a neutral venue and then having to get to Montenegro.
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Yes I would have thought you would get you money back, afterall the airline would be the one breaking the contract, so don't cancel, insist you still want to fly
    Also the airline won't have lost any money, all they have done is make a booking.
    There is a possibility the match might not be canceled, but it would be against Russia, not Georgia
    Last edited by tricky_colour; 09/08/2008 at 6:13 AM.

There may not be an independent nation named Georgia by the time the scheduled match day comes around.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Didn't FIFA assuage the FAI's / Irish Supporters fears in 99 by assuring them that the planes flight paths would not intersect the missiles flight paths?
    That is perfectly pitched. Its possible that its true and it would be sooo funny of it were but is it? For honest and for true?

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    The only positive is that the area seems to be well away from Tbilisi. However I wouldn't be too confident after hearing this:
    It's actually only about 100km away...

3 hours by bus under normal conditions (i.e. pre-1992)

http://www.dw-world.de/image/0,,3548080_1,00.jpg

The Russian news is saying that Russian Su25s are bombing Gori (town in Central Georgia) and Georgian troops are attacking Russian peace keeper positions in Ossetia now and trying to take the Roki Tunnel... There are also reports that Abkhazia (northe west region in Georgia) and Adjara (south west near Turkey) are having unrest as the Georgian government is trying to conscript fighters from those regions. I am pretty certain the match will not go ahead now.

If they switch the match to a neighbouring country it would probably be Turkey (maybe Trabzon) or Azerbaijan. Armenia might be an option but they can't play it in Yerevan because on 6th September it's supposed to be Armenia v Turkey which is a high risk match in terms of incident. It could be switched to Baku I guess as the Azeris are away in Wales on the 6th.
    Last edited by Closed Account 2; 09/08/2008 at 2:23 PM.

Watching images there on the news, i just pray that the situation is resolved as soon as possible for the sake of the people caught up in it all. It puts things in perspective for those of us worrying about getting our money back for our flights etc.

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    Watching images there on the news, i just pray that the situation is resolved as soon as possible for the sake of the people caught up in it all. It puts things in perspective for those of us worrying about getting our money back for our flights etc.
    Agreed Stiofain.
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    Yes that is the most important thing really.

But in terms of the match, I would presume that if the alternative venue isn't confirmed within the next week to 10 days the match will be postponed to a later date. Unless that the match is rearranged for mainland Europe i.e. Kiev, Minsk, Prague, the only location I feel that they will play it in that neck of the woods is Baku, which will be quite a pain to get to. Hopefully the FAI annouce something early next week.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

200 Posts
    There are / were night and day trains to Baku from Tbilisi, takes 10-12 hours from what I recall.

The game will either be in Tiblisi as arranged or postponed.

If Georgia were to agree to a neutral venue, they would be forced to play all their home games at a neutral venue, so the logical thing is to postpone it.

A final descision will not be made until the Tues or weds of the week of the game, as they will leave it to the very last minute.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Page 2 of 28 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast