214 Posts
    I'd be up for Munich as well!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Shower of feckers. Are they not obliged if the DFA recommend you do not travel
    I think the issue is that some of them dont cover "Acts of War"

ya too true. a gentleman not a greasy thats for sure.

jees id love if it were in london but i cant see that somehow. might shoot over if in germany though depending how easy to get to!

I was thinking Udine is very close to Slovenia, They should have it there and then a train ride down through Croatia or a bus ride could be a lot of fun.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Not true unfortunately in all cases. My travel insurance won't refund. they also say I'm not covered if I travel to Tbilisi.

I'm still waiting for a callback too from them.
    We got a refund from Czech Airlines in full, I belive the reason being that the DFA advice not to travel and the fact the ticket was bought in Ireland and flight originating in Dublin. The Dublin office agreed to the refund, no questions asked, saying they were aware of the war!,however their main offices didnt want to know.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Nice to have a manager with a sense for the aesthetics who is diplomatic, courteous and able to express himself.

"I have the greatest of respect for the Georgians," said the Ireland manager, Giovanni Trapattoni, yesterday morning, "and this isn't a question of whether I'm happy or not. I've been to Georgia many times. Tbilisi is a beautiful city. We are open to any decision about the game but Fifa must think seriously about the decision."
    You very correct, it gets reported as 'Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni said ......'

I know Mick McCarthy had to deal with alot of external forces and he came out with very simple appreciable stuff.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Writing in Sunday Times yesterday, Paul Rowan reported that he had spoken on Saturday to VP of Georgian FA, Revak Arveladzi, who said that he was "increasingly confident" that the game would go ahead in Tbilisi. He also said his staff "were continuing efforts to find an alternative venue in southern Germanay or Austria should one be required." He ruled out both the Olympic and Allianz stadiums in Munich.

Looks like either Poland, Germany, Austria or Tbilisi.

Have a hunch FIFA will go for the least controversial venue, Tbilisi.

http://irishexaminer.ie/irishexamine...750-qqqx=1.asp
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Krackow is a great city we would have a ball there, but I really do not mind where it is, Tiblisi would be good and I agreed with Liam Mackey the other day that it would be good to go over there and contribute it some small way to the rebuilding of the country.
    In Trap we trust

This move by the Russians is certainly stoking the political fire again!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/7582181.stm
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    This move by the Russians is certainly stoking the political fire again!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/7582181.stm
    Is it?

Its just a ratification of their existing policy.

176 Posts
    Today is D-Day for the venue, with no D met.

Latest on the match

In Trap we trust

Ah, that clears everything up!

Only messing, i'm pretty sure thats news of thier squad announcement anyway - the words in bold surely mean; goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders, strikers etc.

Quote Originally Posted by stiofain View Post
    Ah, that clears everything up!

Only messing, i'm pretty sure thats news of thier squad announcement anyway - the words in bold surely mean; goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders, strikers etc.
    Indeed, that's just the squad. No official announcement has been made regarding the venue yet, with everyone hoping that it will be done either today or tomorrow. Hopefully it will be in Tbilisi (really, today's developments haven't changed much at all), but in any case we've got to know, one way or the other.

33 Posts
    What Neil has provided is the source information. There's a small 'eng' on the extreme top right of the page for English readers. Also, here is the English page link.
    http://www.gff.ge/index.php?lang_id=...=1&lang_id=ENG

But, in my opinion, the English page will be one of the last sources to be updated with information on the alternate/considency venue, as the review of the Wales game was a day after.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

"We have made our appeal to FIFA, it is in their hands now and we await their response, but if they decide that we must play Ireland outside of Georgia, we would look to play the game in Karlsruhe," Georgian Football Federation Aleksandr Tsonbalidze told the Herald today.

more:
    http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/in...g-1463299.html

Can't see the game being played in Tblisi at this stage, even though things seem reasonably calm, i doubt if the FAI's insurers will cover the team, and if this were to happen game is over. Insurance companies don't take risks as we all know.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Looks like its fecking baden baden again, hope the same taxi driver is there, Greenforever, what you think.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    "We have made our appeal to FIFA, it is in their hands now and we await their response, but if they decide that we must play Ireland outside of Georgia, we would look to play the game in Karlsruhe," Georgian Football Federation Aleksandr Tsonbalidze told the Herald today.

more:
    http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/in...g-1463299.html
    Old news regurgitated by the Herald. No statements from anybody today -either Georgian FA, FIFA or FAI.

We're still waiting

Page 14 of 28 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast