Thread: Georgia game at risk?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Classic E mail from Air Baltic

Dear Sir,
    In this case I can only advice You to change the dates of Your flights, but in this case You have to pay date change fee 35Ls per passenger per flight plus there can be fare difference additional payment , or receice taxes back.

Best Regards, Victoria
    airBaltic
    Heads they win Tails you Lose!!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    ffs......I am now totally p*ssed off with this, and there is no way you could convince me that Tbilisi is a "safe" place to go for the foreseeable future......
    It will be if you're not going
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    It will be if you're not going
    Fair point............Moscow Mule will not be going either....he's been banned by NATO!

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1000679&postcount=132

I predict this game will not go ahead in Tbilisi

One of these has to be right

Personally dont think it would be dangerous (war/conflict wise) in Tbilisi just not risking travelling to eastern europe with no insurance ie against government advice

FIFA may have just taken a step backwards to keep the Georgians happy that they didn't make the decision too quickly.

I'd say next Tuesday that it will be confirmed that it will be played in a neutral venue, but it is frustrating that they seemed to confirm that the match wouldn't go ahead in Tbilisi and now they're having a change of mind.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

ffs the georgians couldn't even get visas from their own embassy and had to uundertake a mamouth bus jopurney to baku (iirc) to get them in order to travel from their own country to wales and now fifa reckon we might still have to go there!!!!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    FIFA may have just taken a step backwards to keep the Georgians happy that they didn't make the decision too quickly.

I'd say next Tuesday that it will be confirmed that it will be played in a neutral venue, but it is frustrating that they seemed to confirm that the match wouldn't go ahead in Tbilisi and now they're having a change of mind.

I reckon the Italians have intervened and hence the change of mind by FIFA. Journalists and fAI officials had spoken to the Georgian fA and they were happy to play at a neutral venue. They didn't seem to be protesting in anyway. suddenly FIFA have a change of heart.

Georgia - small football nation FIFA don't care
    Ireland -small football nation FIFA don't care.
    Italy - huge influence.

My prediction now is that the game will end up being postponed despite what FIFA are saying. The Russains have no intention of leaving Georgia and probably never had so it can't be played in Tbilisi. I think time will run out on an alternative..

1,928 Posts
    Could well be that or it could be that FIFA after listening to the Italians are now prepared to wait until the last possible moment (14 days?) before plan B is put into operation.

im going if the game is on in tbilisi. at this stage it has to be done,
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

At this stage we're going even if the game isn't on in Tbilisi................provided the Russians are not within 20km. Flights are paid for so no point in wasting them!

Anyone else interested in watching the game in a bar in Tbilisi????
    There'll be snow on that one.

tbilisi oh how we will remember it, yes tickets got , away we go

Quote Originally Posted by Reddladd View Post
    At this stage we're going even if the game isn't on in Tbilisi................provided the Russians are not within 20km. Flights are paid for so no point in wasting them!

Anyone else interested in watching the game in a bar in Tbilisi????

If you have travel insurance you will get your money back on your flights and you can go to where the game is actually on and see it live.
    In Trap we trust

go on reddladd you mad thing geerrr up outha dat
    may the road rise to meet you but make sure it doesn't slap yah in the face

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    If you have travel insurance you will get your money back on your flights and you can go to where the game is actually on and see it live.
    Not true unfortunately in all cases. My travel insurance won't refund. they also say I'm not covered if I travel to Tbilisi.

I'm still waiting for a callback too from them.

Shower of feckers. Are they not obliged if the DFA recommend you do not travel
    In Trap we trust

Expedia / Turkish Airlines cancelled my flight to Tbilisi. I've flights with ryandirt and pegasus air as far as Istanbul.

Irish Star said Georgians were looking at London or Munich - I could do flights from Istanbul to Munich for a song and have a decent trip out of this.... or else its London and a Kilburn drinkathon (and not really caring what venue the match was played).

Prefered choice would be either wathcing the match in a bar in Tbilisi (travelling overland)... or else Trabzon and a black sea headersville.

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom View Post
    im going if the game is on in tbilisi. at this stage it has to be done,
    Be careful "Saint" Tom.......don't be a martyr!

The latest news from the Irish Times seems to put Munich in pole position

EMMET MALONE
    INTERNATIONAL NEWS: FOLLOWING an apparent softening of Fifa's position on the issue, the FAI has renewed its call on soccer's world governing body to switch the venue for next month's qualifying game against Georgia unless it can guarantee the safety of the Irish team and supporters.
    Association officials expressed concern that, after deciding on Tuesday the Georgians would have to nominate a neutral venue for the game, Fifa had appreciably changed its position.
    Yesterday a statement on Fifa's website revealed it was continuing to monitor the situation in Tbilisi. The statement added the city nominated by the Georgians as an alternative to the capital would be used only if it were finally concluded the game must be moved.
    "Fifa will assess the very latest situation in the country as of 26 August 2008 - the deadline given to the Georgian Football Federation (GFF) for them to announce an alternative venue for their qualifying match against the Republic of Ireland, scheduled for 6 September 2008," read the statement.
    "Fifa has asked the GFF to name an alternative venue for this match by 26 August 2008 in order to be prepared, should the situation in Georgia still require a neutral venue."
    The Georgians confirmed that they are hopeful that the game might staged on home soil after all. "If the Russian occupiers leave our country," said GFF spokesman Alexander Tsonbiladze, "then we hope that the game will go ahead in Tbilisi." If that proves impossible, he said, the Georgians' preference is to stage the game in southern Germany, possibly in Munich, so as to facilitate an easy transfer to Udine, in north west Italy where the Georgians play again four days later.
    An FAI spokesman had earlier acknowledged that the issue of where the game should be played remained one for Fifa to decide but insisted Fifa must be certain the Irish travelling party's safety could be assured before requiring the team to play in Tbilisi.
    "I have the greatest of respect for the Georgians," said the Ireland manager, Giovanni Trapattoni, yesterday morning, "and this isn't a question of whether I'm happy or not. I've been to Georgia many times. Tbilisi is a beautiful city. We are open to any decision about the game but Fifa must think seriously about the decision."

I am all for Southern Germany. That would be perfect and not that hard to get down to Croatia and on to Montenegro.
    In Trap we trust

1,928 Posts
    Nice to have a manager with a sense for the aesthetics who is diplomatic, courteous and able to express himself.

"I have the greatest of respect for the Georgians," said the Ireland manager, Giovanni Trapattoni, yesterday morning, "and this isn't a question of whether I'm happy or not. I've been to Georgia many times. Tbilisi is a beautiful city. We are open to any decision about the game but Fifa must think seriously about the decision."

Page 13 of 28 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast