Thread: London ...Kentish Town... Camden

London ...Kentish Town... Camden

Going to see the mighty Half Man Half Biscuit at Kentish Town Forum on October 16th. Anyone got any recommendations -particularily for convenient accomodation but anything else too ...late bars, grub, avoid.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

I stayed in the London city hotel it is built on top of Borough tube station literally ( near waterloo) so it is brilliant for getting around. was cheap enough too 75 a night for 2 of us for the room, rooms are small but spotless and if all you want is a roof over your head for the night you cant go wrong.

borough is a dive, and its about £30/40 in a taxi for you to get back from kentish town, which is another dive along with camden. avoid camden like the plague its full of young black lads selling drugs. Yes I did say that, and its true.

i think you said you have been to london before but if you haven't you can get some decent accomodation round west london like knightsbridge b and bs for around £30 a night(each). Its a bit away from kentish town about £20 in a taxi but those areas are nice and generally a good buzz about them, no good pubs in kentish town really unless you want some irish bars! Camden has a few ok pubs but again its a dodgy area and fellas always looking for trouble round there, if i were you and youare spendinga few days id def stay west london, lots of nice hotels/restaurants and bars round there.

Tottenham

Bumping this thread because I'm heading back to London in a couple of weeks -this time to the Tottenham area, and am looking for a hotel for a couple of nights.

This time I'll take advice offered rather than the Kentish town jaunt where I stayed in the cheapest place I could find ...a charming little "B&B" which seemed to be themed along the lines of late '80's/early '90's student bedsits/ crudely converted corridors and featured

*No Towels
    *Slug Trailed carpets
    *Rodent bait trays in hot press

Herself is with me this time so I'll have to raise my game a little.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Do you really need to stay in totenham? its not a nice area nor is edmonton which is just down the road from it.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Do you really need to stay in totenham? its not a nice area nor is edmonton which is just down the road from it.
    Proximity to friends is all. But not an absolute neccessity no.

Look around Muswell Hill / Ally Pally area, or maybe Isslington. Tottenham itself is, to put it politely "Not great".....

Thanks for the pointers lads. Got a place ...one of those Premier Inn jobs in Euston. A bit souless and perfunctory but strategically on the nail.