Thread: Fair play to Drogheda

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    If it says it on the news feed then they will, if not then they will be oblivious to it. Lots will not even know the game was on.

They showed highlights on the 6.01 news. I'd imagine that has pretty high viewership. It'll be the big story on the back page of the free papers in the morning too i'll bet.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Rico interrupting another ramble by Roddy about how the facts would show Kiev should have gone through.

"Facts tell you the results, they don't tell you the story"
    The facts are that Drogheda are out, but certainly put on a good show, and should have won it at the end. Roddy's claim to fame is Kaiserslautern's loss in Europe 10 years ago. Kaiserslautern qualified for the next round, but he must have overlooked those facts, as he hasn't shut up about them since.

288 Posts
    Anyone wanting to see goals can here

Click

It's the whole news so, it will vary how long you will have to wait to see the scores because it a stream on a loop.

I had problems getting the Windows Media Player version to work, but maybe it was just me. Click the Real Player link instead if so.
    Last edited by gufcfan; 07/08/2008 at 2:20 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Anyone wanting to see goals can here

Click

It's the whole news so, it will vary how long you will have to wait to see the scores because it a stream on a loop.

I had problems getting the Windows Media Player version to work, but maybe it was just me. Click the Real Player link instead if so.
    Or just click here and scroll down to Drogheda draw in Kiev.

OHHHHHH so close at the end , as a famous saying goes " if only " but they did really well . But one final thing as I do tip my hat to the lads who travelled out to Keiv I am sure you had a good time .

634 Posts
    I thought it was funny that Roderick took under a minute to refer to the time he was in Europe with Bohs.

While there was a slight difference in techincal ability between the two teams, if Drogheda had of won yesterday it would have been merited. They battled well and were very dangerous down the flanks.
    I thought Keegan played poorly for Drogheda.

Would it be fair to say that Drogheda aren't the best team in the League at the moment ? I'd have Bohs and Cork as better outfits, possibly Pats too, so by that reasoning its an even better performance.

There should still be optimism in the league here. It is good to see players like Joe Hendrick and Brian Shelley playing for our top teams at home. I would have known these guys from underage Ireland teams, and that should be the way to go, the underage players should be looking at the LoI as a viable career, rather than plumbing it at Aldershot or the like in the conference or CCL2.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

49 Posts
    I was off yesterday so i watched the game thankfully. the drogs were brilliant. there fitness was unbelievable, chased all game but were still going like trains at the end. for all the chances kiev had over the two games drogs should have won it at the death. how hughes missed that chance is beyond me, i was livid !! they need a striker though, zayed isnt good enough IMO. they need a quigley or a mooney at that club. fair play also to doolin for sticking to his game plan and almost see it come off. great day for us EL fans.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    If it says it on the news feed then they will, if not then they will be oblivious to it. Lots will not even know the game was on.
    Well it's on the front(!) of the back pages in the free daily newspapers so at the very least people will have known it took place & how well the Drogs played. I don't read any of them so can't comment how much / little praise they lavished

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Drogheda did the league proud, abd were so unlucky
    Come on, how may people on here gave them a chance at all?

If an Irish team can get to this stage every year then surely it it only a matter of time.

the draw hasnt been kind as of yet, and looking at some of the other teams that were out there (Brann, etc) im sure an LOi team will get to a CL place within the next 5 years, fingers crossed anyway

20 Posts
    In many ways it must feel that little bit more sickening; that rather than a "moral victory", you can look at that late goal conceded in Dublin and think "Oh god, it really DID cost us in the end".

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    In many ways it must feel that little bit more sickening; that rather than a "moral victory", you can look at that late goal conceded in Dublin and think "Oh god, it really DID cost us in the end".
    i dont look at it like that, like in fairness kiev had numerous chances over the two games. they would look at it as they should have won easily before the end of last nights game. drogs stuck in there and somehow could have snatched it. were getting there teams just need to believe in themselves. i still think an EL team are quite a bit off the group stages yet though. dont like saying it but to get past the 3rd qualifer will be a huge task.

In fairness to drogheda it was a great battling performance with no little skill, watched it over here in an irish bar, and even the locals were getting into it in the last 10 minutes. In the back of my mind though, i remember drogheda had a great chance down the left when it was 1 - 1(i think it was still 1 - 1 anyhow), i think it was cahill down the left but not sure, there were 2-3 drogheda lads in the box, ALL he needed to do was lift the ball and he hit it low and straight into the defender, had he hit it a foot higher there were 2 lads free in the box. Thats the kind of stuff that they have to be getting right in these games, but yet they still didn't, the little simple things that make a huge difference. Also that miss by hughes at the end, sorry lads but there is no excuse he should have come over the ball rather than under and trying to place it, again unfortunately the cynic in me says thats the lack of experience these guys have/ability not to finish 1/1 chance instead of 1/4 chances....

Anyone fair play to them and the fans that travelled, never gave up, great to see that from an Irish team.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    In fairness to drogheda it was a great battling performance with no little skill, watched it over here in an irish bar, and even the locals were getting into it in the last 10 minutes. In the back of my mind though, i remember drogheda had a great chance down the left when it was 1 - 1(i think it was still 1 - 1 anyhow), i think it was cahill down the left but not sure, there were 2-3 drogheda lads in the box, ALL he needed to do was lift the ball and he hit it low and straight into the defender, had he hit it a foot higher there were 2 lads free in the box. Thats the kind of stuff that they have to be getting right in these games, but yet they still didn't, the little simple things that make a huge difference. Also that miss by hughes at the end, sorry lads but there is no excuse he should have come over the ball rather than under and trying to place it, again unfortunately the cynic in me says thats the lack of experience these guys have/ability not to finish 1/1 chance instead of 1/4 chances....

Anyone fair play to them and the fans that travelled, never gave up, great to see that from an Irish team.
    id say drogs ratio was pretty good considering the had a limited amount of chances. 3 goals overall, not bad. how many chances did kiev miss....

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    We are within touching distance of the group stages now.
    I assume you're taking the mickey? Even if they'd beaten Kiev (who, let's face it, were hilariously bad), they'd still have had to beat Spartak Moscow, another team no stranger to the CL group stages. Hardly touching distance.

But even with the last gasp misses, it's a great result for Drogheda, dfx-'s comments aside...

Wow what a nerve wracking game. Myself and my eldest were shaking with nerves for the last 5 mins. God help the Drogs fans!

I rang my brother who lives near Drogheda after the game and he hadnt even known it was on.

I think that it was a very important "result" for Irish football. People all over Europe will check the results on their aertel/sky sports news/newspapers and see 4-3 to some team from Ireland they possibly will never have heard of before and think that Irish football must be getting good if they can almost turn over a team who have a great history.

Proud day and was so gutted. Well done Drogs.

A drog mate of mine on holidays text me last night saying it was so hot where he was that he was sweating like a Kiev manager!

Well done Drogs, unlucky.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

It was great to see an Irish team play so well away from home against top opposition.Drogheda looked fit weren't afraid of Kiev and really wanted to win, we will beat them on Sunday though.

you are one bitter b stu......cant even give credit when due to drogheda.......kiev that bad huh??? and you watch ucd

btw you are some shower of bitches on here..constantly moaning about the media, rte, crying about games not being on the tele, no one giving us a chance

and then most of you say you didnt watch it.........or worse turned it off after kiev scored:confused

i never come on here to criticise people but i have had enough of your bitching. am starting to believe that you only support an EL team as an excuse to give out.....when we make real progress you'll probably go support your local curdling team and then moan that they are not on the back pages.

BTW- Drogs were fantastic over the two legs against a team of real pedigree. we should have won last night and i find it hard to believe that i left two games against kiev gutted that we didnt win.
    drogs fans in kiev were brilliant all 150 of us.......we often get criticised for attendances but the drogs fans are all hardcore....better than a few fickle ones and then 20 at away euro matches

Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    Anyone who says the LOI is not up to Euro standard really is a total fecking moron.
    How do you reckon? Can you point out the Irish club that will be in this years Champions League or Uefa Cup proper to prove that Irish clubs are up to the standard?

How does one positive outing from Drogheda (well done by the way) mean more than one negative outing from Cork ( by the way) when taking stock of the LoI in Europe in 2008?

49 Posts
    i heard doolin say something that brought it home the other day.
    drogheda are full time 3 years, and were competing with clubs like kiev etc......massive clubs with huge pedigree and money/resources. we need to get real, were light years behind but were going in the right direction. lets not run before we can walk. real EL supporters know the score.