Tour de France winner Carlos Sastre in the leading group along with Jens Voight. They're the only 2 names I reconnise in the front group.
Cycling road race on Eurosport.
Group of around 20 are 3 minutes ahead with 90k to go. Spooted both Irish near the head of the chasing group a few minutes ago.
I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?
Tour de France winner Carlos Sastre in the leading group along with Jens Voight. They're the only 2 names I reconnise in the front group.
Cycling road race was won by Samuel Sanchez of Spain
Irish mens Heavyweight 4's came third in their heat and go straight to semi final, avoiding the repechage.
Chloe Magee in action now in a very good match. She has just levelled it 1 game all with her Estonian opponent. It's live now on BBCi.
San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.
When does she play again Dodge? Any word of who she plays, Augustyn or Jae-youn?
Finn Harps Dot Com
www.finnharps.com
Japan is in mourning because one of the national darlings, Ryoko Tani, lost her semi-final in the 48kg Judo. She was going for her third gold in a row.
Egan won in the boxing and now faces a Turkish lad who didn't look anything special (bout straight after - I was a bit hungover this morning and not my usual sharp self so forgot the name!!!). Decent chance of a medal if he boxes as well as he did today.
Last edited by shakermaker1982; 09/08/2008 at 6:01 PM.
Andrew Bree came second in his heat just there. Well done.
I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.
In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.
Fair play to the rowers too, they finished 3rd(out of 4, top 3 go through). A couple of seconds behind the winners Australia. They're through to the semi's on Wednesday now.
Was extremely unlucky. Great effort to come back in the second set and pull ahead in the third. In the end nerves got to him when 18-15 up in the decider. Fair play to Zwiebler though for keeping his cool.
He deserved to go through I felt, although obviously a bit biased. A couple of unforced errors cost him the first set. If he can cut them out he'll shoot up the rankings.
Reaction.
Fantastic victory, major scalp. Well done Chloe.
Playing Jae-young next- world no.12. It will be on early Sunday morning Chineese time, so middle of the night over here.
RTE were saying that he was also competing in the 200imedley?
Great win for Magee in the badminton, Evans was awful unlucky. I felt that Evans was more worthwhile for the win, as the Estonian playing Magee in fairness did make an awful lot of silly mistakes.
The eventers did ok apart from our best hope Geoff Curran. His complaint was that the big screen showing his test was too low, thus his horse was concentrating on watching himself on the screenGeoff looked very dissatisfied with the outcome, and is now lying 38th of the 44 who competed today. Austin O' Connor and Louise Lyons, lying in 26th and 35th place respectively, seemed pretty content with their tests. The team are lying 2nd last at the moment.
Good to see the men's 4 qualify, but it will be a big ask for them to qualify for the final.
Derek Burnett will be disappointed to be only ranked 15th at this stage, and being 3 shots off the final qualifying place, it will be a miracle if he qualified for the final but who knows.
San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.
Egan won comfortably today. Joyce has a tough one but if he gets past the Hungarian he could go all the way, but that is a big ask
I think the rowers did excellent today
What did ye guys make of the opening ceremony? i thought it was a bit boirng but then thats not really my cup of tea. The Fireworks over the city to the stadium were cool though