Hession finished 5th. He was never really in contention in the home straight but he gave it good go all the same. Fair play to him.
Great news about Paddy Barnes!
I think i'm a little bit too excited about our first (guaranteed) medal of the Games, but feck it!![]()
Hession finished 5th. He was never really in contention in the home straight but he gave it good go all the same. Fair play to him.
I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.
In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.
Egan's 7-0 up at the end of the 3rd round!!!
COME ON!
Egan's done it. Get in there.
Shame about Hession.
Great stuff. Only the 3rd time since 1956 we've had 2 people medal.
Id say Egan will win the gold,the Brazilian was terrible
RIP JOHNNY
When's Sutherland boxing?
Egan up against a decent Brit though who'd probably be favourite.
As for Hession, the European championships medals in two years time should be well with his reach.
I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.
In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.
I'd say 4th.
1956 - 5 Medalists = Delaney, Tiedt, Caldwell, Gilroy, Byrne
1980 - 2 Medalists = Wilkins/Wilkinson, Russell
1992 - 2 Medalists = Carruth, McCullogh
Historically, at least 2 bronze is a great result, and looking at Irish performances so far the standard and approach seems to be improving over previous games. But I can't see 1956 being bettered for a long time.
And we're a long way behind the likes of New Zealand - 77 medals in 20 summer games, compared to our 20 medals in 18 summer games (up to 2004).
Last edited by ramondo; 19/08/2008 at 2:50 PM.
Herd-ild orr Pressss!
*sigh*
*sigh eile*
No shame in getting excited. I was getting a little emotional myself after the Barnes fight. Egan's wasn't quite as exciting - we'll wait for the semi for that.
Barnes's semi is on Friday at 12. Kenny's is Friday at one minute past two (14.01).
Sutherland fights tomorrow at one minute past one (13.01).
Sutherland won't be favourite. Blanco is world silver medallist and beat Darren by 12/13 points in their only bout to date (in the last 16 of that world championship last year). On his day, Sutherland is fantastic. He's too prone to lapses in concentration though. Bought lads are heavy hitters, and it should make for a great spectacle.
We've a chance with Lynch in the Showjumping on Thursday. Apart from that only Oilve Loughnane in the walk could hope for a top ten placing.
Still though, a positive olympics
The Brazil Argentina semi-final in the football is on RTÉ right now. Hoping it will be good.
Extratime.ie
Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.
Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.
Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.
i dont know much about olympic boxing so can someone explain how Barnes is guaranteed a medal if he's only in the semi finals?
In football terms, there's no third/fourth place play off.