Thread: Mns - 28/7/08

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts

Mns - 28/7/08

Shocking refereeing in the Cobh-Bray match. The goal that was ruled out was shocking. An awful decision. On the penalty I thought the ref was right 1st time around. Look at the defnders trailing leg, he left it hanging to stop the player. It was a peno IMO

To be honest i thought he checked him with the elbow, anyway the more i watch the more i think penalty.

Disagree on the penalty. The defender's leg was there as a result of his stance - he was trying to turn to his left to go after the ball, the Cobh player went to the defender's right and tripped over his leg.
    No penalty, but a shocking mess all the same.

Was great to see Ryan Babel winning that penalty for Liverpool in the Champions League about 5 years when he was about 17.

Plus Alan Cawleys red card makes ya proud to be from Sligo

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thesilverfox View Post
    Was great to see Ryan Babel winning that penalty for Liverpool in the Champions League about 5 years when he was about 17.

Plus Alan Cawleys red card makes ya proud to be from Sligo
    I'd be . What an awful attempt of a punch. He fell trying to deck him

Goal should have been given. I think it wasn't given because Duggan appealed for a free when he was on the ground and defenders get the benefit of the doubt in those situations.

Don't think it was a peno. Defender was looking at the ball and was busy turning when the Cobh player ran into him. The messing about afterwards was laughable, but only last year Bray had a penalty given and taken away against Cork so it's not unprecedented.

Imo, the Cobh whinging is pointless. Who knows what would've happened if they had the goal given? The game would've panned out differently and the whinging just make yez look immature.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Jeez another awful report from Gavin Jennings/Jenkins. Instead of telling us who was actually shooting, he decided to count the number of chances.

Didn't look a penalty to me. Also, why doesn't Henderson do the Cobh interviews anymore?

38 Posts
    He's an absolute goon, isn't he?

Shouldn't have been a penalty but the point is that the assistant is supposed to alert the ref to things he hasn't/can't have seen. Why was Stokes giving a penalty if he wasn't 100% sure?

Had to laugh at Gartland's goal being unavailable due to "rights issues" (i.e., they wouldn't stump up the pittance they were quoted.)

Also, why doesn't Henderson do the Cobh interviews anymore?
    I'm assuming he doesn't want any more touchline bans, which he would definitely have received if he had given an interview after that game. Yer man who does them in his place has the most dour Cork accent I've ever heard!

if any thing good is to come from saturdays match it should make sure that they are never left to officiate in the league again it was unbelievable to have so many bad decisions in one match and it may end up costing us come the end of the season. i will say that we should have game wrapped up long before these incidents happened but things like these change games and unfortunatly for rams it ended up being one of the most heartbreaking nights in colemans park we were the better team and when it is so tight this season with three going down i think we are entitled to rant a bit

Wouldn't it be great to see an Apres Match sending up MNS?

Tony McDonnell showed himself to be a "possibly so merchant" with his answer to the first question Con Murphy answered.
    Robbie Hedderman. Arguably the greatest Derry City player of all time...

Quote Originally Posted by pcplod View Post
    if any thing good is to come from saturdays match it should make sure that they are never left to officiate in the league again it was unbelievable to have so many bad decisions in one match and it may end up costing us come the end of the season. i will say that we should have game wrapped up long before these incidents happened but things like these change games and unfortunatly for rams it ended up being one of the most heartbreaking nights in colemans park we were the better team and when it is so tight this season with three going down i think we are entitled to rant a bit
    First of all, two buttons to the left of "m" there's something called a "full stop" that goes at the end of something called a "sentence". You've heard of them, perhaps?

Second, if you had won, you'd still only be on 14 points, the same as Harps and UCD. IIRC, your goal difference would be worse than UCD's so you'd still be in the relegation zone. And you're in the relegation zone because, with 19 games played, that's clearly your level.
    Last edited by superfrank; 28/07/2008 at 10:08 PM.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    He's an absolute goon, isn't he?

Shouldn't have been a penalty but the point is that the assistant is supposed to alert the ref to things he hasn't/can't have seen. Why was Stokes giving a penalty if he wasn't 100% sure?

Had to laugh at Gartland's goal being unavailable due to "rights issues" (i.e., they wouldn't stump up the pittance they were quoted.)
    That Gavin Jennings is shocking does anybody like his style of reporting, like something ou see in Fr Ted

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    First of all, two buttons to the left of "m" there's something called a "full stop" that goes at the end of something called a "sentence". You've heard of them, perhaps?

Looks like a 'B' to me.

Funny looking full stops you've got thereb
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

First of all, two buttons to the left of "m" there's something called a "full stop" that goes at the end of something called a "sentence".

That's greatb I think I've just completed two of theses "sentences"b I'm so proud of myselfb

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    That Gavin Jennings is shocking does anybody like his style of reporting, like something ou see in Fr Ted
    I do actually. Fair play to him for taking a different approach to it, not the usual list of cliches you hear from other reporters. I find him entertaining.

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky77 View Post
    I do actually. Fair play to him for taking a different approach to it, not the usual list of cliches you hear from other reporters. I find him entertaining.
    Yeah a bit of variety is always good.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pcplod View Post
    No you're not. It happens to everyone, many times a season. You lost- stop trying to makes excuses.

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Funny looking full stops you've got thereb
    Quote Originally Posted by monzo View Post
    Looks like a 'B' to me.
    Am I the only one that has the same keyboard as superfrank?

Quote Originally Posted by thesilverfox View Post
    Why the hell would that be great?