Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Delaney-Trappatoni

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    If the CEO of FAI can't be arsed going to see the biggest game a club from the their league is likely to play then why would i bother sponsoring it, what does that say for the league trying to attract new people as his actions sends out a signal to the general public they can't be arsed with the league.
    I agree with this. Prior 'meeting' or not, Delaney should have been at Dalymount for possibly the biggest game an Irish club will play in this year. Isn't this the same FAI that just announced massive profits last year? Surely one night off from courting clients wouldn't have made much difference.

Quote Originally Posted by ruben_sosa View Post
    John Delaney is not an ambassador for Domestic Football, it's not in his job description to attend football matches. His job is to carry out the policies of the board of the FAI, that's all.
    John Delaney is one of the most visable men in terms of media coverage, in Irish sport- as such he is an ambassador for the Irish game whether he likes it or not. And that includes domestic soccer; surely a European Cup match involving the champions of Ireland is worthy of his time?

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    being at the game would only be a PR exercise in truth
    Yeah, because the last thing we need is positive PR. Given the view of domestic football most people seem to have in this country, PR is exactly what we need. I don't care if it's just window dressing, it's a fact of life these days and it needs to be done.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    I hate this place
    "Last thing I remember, I was
    Running for the door
    I had to find the passage back
    To the place I was before
    ’relax,’ said the night man,
    We are programmed to receive.
    You can checkout any time you like,
    But you can never leave..."
    Last edited by A face; 31/07/2008 at 10:10 AM. Reason: Fixed Quotes

An awful lot of narrow minded posters on this thread.

A couple of simple questions

Would Delaney or Trap attending Dalymount have attracted any more spectators?

Would Drogheda be financially better of if Delaney had attended?

Would Galway have had to refund table money if thier guests of honour didnt turn up?

Have the Board of Directors of Drogheda made any comment?

Which would you prefer

Delaney and Trap and gang to attend one of your clubs matches?

or

to attend one of your clubs fundraisers?

Would you be happy if Delaney and Co broke a commitment to attend a fundraiser for your club resulting in your club losing badly needed revenue?

I would imagine anyone answering the questions above honestly will accept that Delaney and Co were in the right place in Galway
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    I agree with this. Prior 'meeting' or not, Delaney should have been at Dalymount for possibly the biggest game an Irish club will play in this year. Isn't this the same FAI that just announced massive profits last year? Surely one night off from courting clients wouldn't have made much difference.

John Delaney is one of the most visable men in terms of media coverage, in Irish sport- as such he is an ambassador for the Irish game whether he likes it or not. And that includes domestic soccer; surely a European Cup match involving the champions of Ireland is worthy of his time?

Yeah, because the last thing we need is positive PR. Given the view of domestic football most people seem to have in this country, PR is exactly what we need. I don't care if it's just window dressing, it's a fact of life these days and it needs to be done.

"Last thing I remember, I was
    Running for the door
    I had to find the passage back
    To the place I was before
    ’relax,’ said the night man,
    We are programmed to receive.
    You can checkout any time you like,
    But you can never leave..."

wasnt that exactly what he was doing in Galway, and by being in Galway they were actually doing something constructive in helping raise money for a struggling club.... surely that was more important than sitting in a stand watching a game with players that have little or no chance of breaking into the Irish squad in the near future
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Greenforever, Delaney wasn't the fooking guest of honour. He sent an important message that going on the lash at the Galway races was more important than going to watch the League of Ireland Champions in Europe. Even if you do buy the fundraiser excuse (which I don't - it's more like Delaney's on a back slapping tour to get praise for hiring Trap), most people in and out of the league will have just seen the photo of them at the races and won't bother finding out. It sends a terrible message.

And LTFC_2004, people probably wouldn't have passed any comment on Delaney being at the match, as that's where they would've expected him to be.

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Greenforever, Delaney wasn't the fooking guest of honour. He sent an important message that going on the lash at the Galway races was more important than going to watch the League of Ireland Champions in Europe. Even if you do buy the fundraiser excuse (which I don't - it's more like Delaney's on a back slapping tour to get praise for hiring Trap), most people in and out of the league will have just seen the photo of them at the races and won't bother finding out. It sends a terrible message.

And LTFC_2004, people probably wouldn't have passed any comment on Delaney being at the match, as that's where they would've expected him to be.
    It wasnt an excuse, this fundraiser raised something in the region of 100 thousand Euro for the club which was pretty damn successful.
    At this point the critisism of Delaney and Trapp is getting pathetic.

I'm not disputing Trappatoni being there, and he was the guest of honour not Delaney, or that it raised money. I'm disputing why Delaney needed to be there. Is Trappatoni not capable of going anywhere without Delaney holding his hand? Anyone from the FAI could be there with him as a handler, doesn't need Delaney himself the whole time. But then Delaney would be missing out on the reflected glory of the appointment if he let him go anywhere alone.

And you didnt answer even one of the questions I posted, because you know that Delaney was correct in honouring his prior committment.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Would Delaney or Trap attending Dalymount have attracted any more spectators?
    Maybe not for this specific game, but it would've been better that Delaney wasn't seen at Galway Races at the same time as a Champions League match for the credibility of the league

Would Drogheda be financially better of if Delaney had attended?
    As above - Drogs have struggled for sponsorship, so for their credibility in gaining the revenue, yes it could've been

Would Galway have had to refund table money if thier guests of honour didnt turn up?
    Delaney was not guest of honour, so why would Galway have had to refund anyone?

Have the Board of Directors of Drogheda made any comment?
    Irrelevant, but Delaney's put in such controls on what clubs can say all that it would do is to get them a fine anyway.

Which would you prefer

Delaney and Trap and gang to attend one of your clubs matches?

or

to attend one of your clubs fundraisers?
    It's an either or choice?

Would you be happy if Delaney and Co broke a commitment to attend a fundraiser for your club resulting in your club losing badly needed revenue?
    Delaney was not guest of honour. I doubt many of the attendee's would've noticed him missing, and anyone at a football fundraiser I would expect to be perfectly understanding that the head of the FAI had to attend "his" champions in European action. Trappatoni was the attraction for the Galway fundraiser, not Delaney.

544 Posts
    just out of interest... how many of those giving out about delaney bothered to turn up themselves at dalymount on tuesday?

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    just out of interest... how many of those giving out about delaney bothered to turn up themselves at dalymount on tuesday?
    I'm not sure of the relevance, unless they're also CEO of the FAI?

291 Posts
    Just about all of us who who hold high ranking jobs in the Football Association of Ireland.

544 Posts
    I'm not sure of the relevance, unless they're also CEO of the FAI?
    as i said, its just out of interest really. would support their argument if they actually bothered to go along themselves

at a guess i would imagine that most of the giver outers werent even at the match. surely they should be out supporting another lge team in such an important night for the lge? where were all the 20k + supporters that turned up for the shels game a few yrs ago in a similar important european match?

where were all the 20k + supporters that turned up for the shels game a few yrs ago in a similar important european match?
    Not the same level of importance at all. The Drogs game was the same level as Shel's game with Hadjuk split. and there was more at Dalymount. And you surekly not saying that PR wise that me not going is the same as the FAI top brass?

And again, for the record, I'm not that pushed about it. Just can't understand why people, at the very least, can't understand why the complaints are being made

291 Posts
    wasnt that exactly what he was doing in Galway, and by being in Galway they were actually doing something constructive in helping raise money for a struggling club.... surely that was more important than sitting in a stand watching a game with players that have little or no chance of breaking into the Irish squad in the near future
    No because it's not even about the money. Anyone who knows anything about football knows Drogheda were going to find the match tough. Nooone on this forum, those who know Irish football pretty well, said anything other than the best Drogheda could do could be a draw in the home leg. We didn't expect them to win, we don't expect their players to be called up for the next Ireland team, it's not about Drogheda making money, or attracting more spectators- it's simply a point of principle. It was a massive game for Irish football and the CEO should have shown a bit of respect and put everything else on hold for a couple of hours because of it. Yes, raising money for clubs is important, but it could have been postponed for just one night to see the champions of Ireland in action, as our country's respresentatives in Europe.

An awful lot of narrow minded posters on this thread.
    The opposite in fact- while raising money for clubs is all well and good; the CEO shouldn't be seen to be fundraising all the time. It's narrow minded to put one night's fundraising event (if that's what it truly was) over a match that could have a significant bearing for the future of Irish clubs in Europe. Thinking long term instead of the short term is sometimes necessary.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 31/07/2008 at 9:42 AM.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    And you surekly not saying that PR wise that me not going is the same as the FAI top brass?
    well, a full house and a rip roaring atmosphere seen by all the "barstoolers" on tv may have been a great PR exercise for the lge. in fact, that would have done far more for the lge than delaney or any of the FAI top brass turning out

Yep, and him not going and been seen at galway has done more harm than me not going.

Vicious circle?

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    No because it's not even about the money. Anyone who knows anything about football knows Drogheda were going to find the match tough. Nooone on this forum, those who know Irish football pretty well, said anything other than the best Drogheda could do could be a draw in the home leg. We didn't expect them to win, we don't expect their players to be called up for the next Ireland team, it's not about Drogheda making money, or attracting more spectators- it's simply a point of principle. It was a massive game for Irish football and the CEO should have shown a bit of respect and put everything else on hold for a couple of hours because of it. Yes, raising money for clubs is important, but it could have been postponed for just one night to see the champions of Ireland in action, as our country's respresentatives in Europe.

The opposite in fact- while raising money for clubs is all well and good; the CEO shouldn't be seen to be fundraising all the time. It's narrow minded to put one night's fundraising event (if that's what it truly was) over a match that could have a significant bearing for the future of Irish clubs in Europe. Thinking long term instead of the short term is sometimes necessary.
    That is total and utter crap. Galway United had this event planned for months with tables being sold for a hell of alot of money. Plans were made by the people attending the event, venues had to be booked long in advance and you reckon that all that could have been postponed so that Delaney and Trapp could go and watch Drogs in a game that they were never likely to win. Get a grip mate, your arguement is ridiculous

Delaney wasn't a guest of Galway, and nobody here has said Trap shouldn't have been at the Galway do. Suggest you read the thread properly

1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Delaney wasn't a guest of Galway, and nobody here has said Trap shouldn't have been at the Galway do. Suggest you read the thread properly
    He might not have been the main guest of honour but yes he was an invited guest of the club and he made the commitment to attend long before it was known that Drogs would be playing a home game in the Champions league. And I suggest you read through the comments on the thread yourself because an number of people have said that Trappatoni shouldnt have been in Galway, in fact is the title of the thread not Delaney-Trappatoni?
    Last edited by Razors left peg; 31/07/2008 at 10:45 AM.

I've been away for a while. This thread reminded me why.

Some truly petty posts.

My thanks to the dignitories who supported the GUFC event at the races on Tuesday. We're on a survival knife edge & people, many of whom have never been to Terryland stumped up big time, to try to give us a dig out. My thanks to them. Without them I wouldn't have a league of Ireland club to support.

Incidentally, the Irish team manager may be very well paid, but he left a very sick wife at home to honour his committment to GUFC.

Thank you Gio & I hope your command of the English language is sufficiently poor that you are spared the never ending negativity we are subjected to here.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast