Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Support Irish Football (Pats advertising UEFA Cup game)

Great work by the club in fairness

67 Posts
    Interesting difference of opinions on it here (praising it) and on the shamrock ultras forum. Wonder what the Shamrock fans problems are with it!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Interesting difference of opinions on it here (praising it) and on the shamrock ultras forum. Wonder what the Shamrock fans problems are with it!
    You can't smash a poster up maybe??

It's a sad state of affairs when a football club has to resort to appealing to anti-British sentiment to try and persuade people to support their local team. I'm not blaming the club though, it's the Irish public that's to blame by continuing to support foreign teams and neglecting their own football league. The poster should have definately included Celtic though.

126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    That a reply to me?? Just wondering? Try using the 'quote' thingys' :
    Well your reply was immediately above mine, kid.

Think it is a great poster but i think sunderland and celtic should be there too. i support celtic as much as anyone else on here, but they are another club that many of the sunshiners and barstoolers attach themselves to. Posters like that with the club names in the butchers apron will hit home for some people and if nothing else get them thinking. Great idea and hopefully it will get a few extra people out.

pity they didnt go ahead with the ad, mightn't have added to the gates but would have generated controversy and publicity,
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

65 Posts
    They should have ran the ad in a few red tops, bar stoolers would go crazy. Would have created a stir I'm sure. Could possible run it in the future?
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Aw pity they didn't run it, anybody know why? Hope it wasn't just to be all PC, the ad isn't offensive, just like that " Be Irish, Buy Irish" slogan isn't offensive. Anyone that dose get offended though, the truth hurths. I agree Celtic or even Glasgow should also be added

Quote Originally Posted by blueblood View Post
    I agree Celtic or even Glasgow should also be added
    Why Glasgow? Club name is Celtic Football Club, not Glasgow Celtic.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

291 Posts
    Maybe he meant Rangers.

70 Posts
    Touchy are we... Because they are from Glasgow perhaps, a city in a different country.

57 Posts
    Cover both of them. I'm fed up of those Rangers fans who think they are an Irish club and that we should be supporting them instead of our own clubs.

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    i support celtic as much as anyone else on here,
    I dont support Celtic in the least, just because your Irish doesnt mean you have to have some loyalty to them.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post
    Touchy are we... Because they are from Glasgow perhaps, a city in a different country.
    Touchy?? No. Pedantic?? Damn right i am.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Quote Originally Posted by Joey Killester View Post
    I dont support Celtic in the least, just because your Irish doesnt mean you have to have some loyalty to them.
    I wasn't saying that everyone here supports celtic, and also it is a worn out generalisation that people support celtic merely because they are an "irish" club? My interest in celtic is because the man who founded the club was from about 20 miles from my house therefore i learned a bit more about him and once i learned the history of the club it was very hard for me not to support them with their connections to my locality and also all the tribulations they had to face merely because they were formed by the irish diaspora in scotland. So my support for celtic is not merely because i am irish.

But i see where you could get that idea from and sadly there are a lot of sunshiners who use tired lines like celtic are irish club to some how justify their reasoning for supporting only celtic and neglecting their local club. I say attach celtic to the least of clubs in the poster as it will hit home a ot of people who are deluding themselves!

Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    It's a sad state of affairs when a football club has to resort to appealing to anti-British sentiment to try and persuade people to support their local team. I'm not blaming the club though, it's the Irish public that's to blame by continuing to support foreign teams and neglecting their own football league. The poster should have definately included Celtic though.
    I can see your point Boovidge but I don't think its neccessarily anti-British.
    Its beautifully cheeky and mischevious and designed to provoke a reaction.

I suppose what we are trying to do is at least get some kind of debate going which will hopefully lead a change in attitude and behaviour.
    The apathy towards the league means a slightly confrontational approach might inspire some debate.
    If its done skillfully and with good humour, we don't look militant or dogmatic.

Can you imagine a TV ad based around the same idea, the reaction would be hilarious.
    Another idea would be if us lads on here came up with a viral ad/joke, again based on the same premise.
    It would have to be very funny though to so people feel motivated to send it on.
    What do you think, anybody feeling creative or got some good ideas?

57 Posts
    it differentiates them from their bigger, more illustrious English counterparts of Stalybridge Celtic
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    I wasn't saying that everyone here supports celtic, and also it is a worn out generalisation that people support celtic merely because they are an "irish" club? My interest in celtic is because the man who founded the club was from about 20 miles from my house therefore i learned a bit more about him and once i learned the history of the club it was very hard for me not to support them with their connections to my locality and also all the tribulations they had to face merely because they were formed by the irish diaspora in scotland. So my support for celtic is not merely because i am irish.

But i see where you could get that idea from and sadly there are a lot of sunshiners who use tired lines like celtic are irish club to some how justify their reasoning for supporting only celtic and neglecting their local club. I say attach celtic to the least of clubs in the poster as it will hit home a ot of people who are deluding themselves!
    Well I was just quoting you where you said you support Celtic as much as everyone else, and I was pointing out that we dont all support Celtic and clearly most everyone else doesnt live near you so they would have different reasons for following them.

By the way, I made a similar yoke a while ago, here:
    http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/651/supportyo9.jpg

Obviously its just with "Paint" so its sh!te and that.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

I see St Pats are using this on their website home page. Good on them, although the people who theyre trying to appeal to arent likely to see it.
    Last edited by boovidge; 28/08/2008 at 11:47 AM.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast