Sensationalist - yes
Incorrect - no
The journalist does not write the headlines either.
Ok fair enough but (hypothetically) is it not also fair to say that City would ban anyone caught dealing drugs in the ground, should the Echo the run a main headline saying 'City to Ban Dealers'?Originally posted by niamh
The guts of the article was about the fact that Cork City will ban any racists at the Cross. The headline was correct - they will ban racists if they are ever found.
Just more irresponsable reporting from the Echo.
Oh no not them again
Sensationalist - yes
Incorrect - no
Last edited by niamh; 08/09/2003 at 7:10 PM.
spot on.Originally posted by SÓCcfc
Ok fair enough but (hypothetically) is it not also fair to say that City would ban anyone caught dealing drugs in the ground, should the Echo the run a main headline saying 'City to Ban Dealers'?
Just more irresponsable reporting from the Echo.
calling that fúckwit a journalist is stretching it to be honest. I know the Echo has to sell papers, I know they have to report things, but this is bullsh1t. I don't want to double post, but if you look at my mail to the echo (below) this article by spillane was not the catalyst for this anger, it was merely the final straw in a string of disreputable and pathetic attempts at journalism by an individual who is either in the throes of some kind of breakdown, or who is petty and malicious.Originally posted by niamh
MY E-MAIL:
To Whom it may concern:
I am writing to express my severe displeasure at the quality of coverage of Cork City in the Evening Echo recently. The quality of coverage has taken a marked turn for the worse, in particular those articles written by Noel Spillane. It seems to myself, and a number of people with whom I have discussed the issue that Mr Spillane is currently bearing some form of grudge or ill-will towards the club and insists on looking for negative and uncomplimentary stories. Even his match reports have contained ill-disguised and petty attacks on the club. What has prompted me to write this e-mail is the article on the back page of the paper on Friday 5/9/03. The story concerns alleged racism directed at a St. Pats player in Turners Cross. As somone who attends the majority of Cork City matches home and away, an also someone who is generally in the middle of the most vocal part of the support, I refute the suggestion that the abuse directed at the player was of a racial nature. The player in question has gained a reputation for making the most of challenges and is such unpopular with many City fans. I was one of the fans who booed the player on a number of occasions at the match- this booing was no different from that directed at many other players who have sought to con referees, be they black, white, orange or yellow. The article written by Mr Spillane is of a type I would not expect to find in a newspaper that purports to support and sponsor Cork City FC. It is brash, badly thought out and vindictive, and the Evening Echo should be ashamed that it employs someone who behaves in such a manner. Following on the heels of an article which questioned the success of the new management team at Cork city and an appallingly thought out attempt to assess the season's progress, it is apparent to many readers that Mr Spillane's coverage of Cork City FC is unacceptable and should come to an end. I, for one, will cease buying the Evening Echo if this level of coverage continues.
Yours in Sport,
Éanna Buckley
Just another 2 cents on the matter. I have no prob with the Echo publishing stories if they are true and justified, but this kind of reporting is irrsponsible and downright unfair. I booed Mbabazi, so is Spillane calling me a racist? I feel not only angry at how the club has been tarnished by this, but personally insulted by this slur. It is nothing less than slander. Spillane's match reports have been full of pathetic digs at City recently. "Fans voted with their feet," being one such example. The pointless "exclusive" with Roddy Collins being another. He's more critical this season when we're actually doing ok, than he was last season. In fact, if you didn't go to matches and just read the Echo, you'd be convinced that City were doing miles better last season than they are now! His "journalism" is both irresponsible and dangerous. His writings this season have damaged Cork City FC. They have insulted and upset the fans. I know the Echo has a responsibility to sell newspapers, but also to tell the truth. I'm not asking that they describe every match as the greatest ever in a dumb attempt at becoming CCFC's propaganda sheet (thats what Dolan's programme notes are for!) - they must tell the truth. But a professional journalist should have the decency and integrity to ignore whatever personal feelings come into play, and if he is unable to do this he should step aside. Right now, he's making a fool of himself and damagaing the club, its fans and the reputation of everyone concerned with CCFC.
Last edited by Éanna; 08/09/2003 at 8:22 PM.
couldnt have put it better myself Éanna..well said.........
I started my boycott yesterday and will continue it until the Echo stop Spillane doing the City reports and interviews.
Eanna, not being a smartass here but what makes you think he has a grudge against the club?
Well, from reading his articles, and listening to his comments on Trevor's BRB, it certainly doesn't appear that he has any great love for the club.
i'm not being a smartass NOTL, and fair play for standing by your guns but have you complained and told the echo of your actions? unless they can form the link between any drop off in sales and the reason for them, no action of any sort will be forthcoming.Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
I started my boycott yesterday and will continue it until the Echo stop Spillane doing the City reports and interviews.
Lads it is the local paper after all leave him talk and write what he like's after all he is a muppet .So Eanna why do you let him get to you after all the news on it will be in the bin by 12 midnight and will be yesterday's news to day.
Let's get it going for this year the away support.
As I said above, if you just read the Echo, you'd think City were doing far worse this season than they were last season. He is far more critical this season than he was last,when there is less to criticise.Originally posted by niamh
Eanna, not being a smartass here but what makes you think he has a grudge against the club?
Granted...he seemed closer to the previous regime from the outside and Spillane has had more negative things to say BUT when does good news sell papers??
and at the end of the day that is the editors responsibility as much as getting good stories.
IMO there's too much opinion in his match REPORTS which are supposed to be factual and correct. The rest of his stories are just filling things up on slow days.
Agree completely. WHy would they change anything unless peole tell them to?Originally posted by tiktok
... have you complained and told the echo of your actions?
I e-mailed mchale yesterday and voiced my displeasure at recent articels by Spillane, esp the trash he wrote last Friday.
If you want Spillane to alter his attitude, or the editorial guys to alter things, then we need to keep complaining.
just emailing mchale now
praising spillage..theres not enough comedy in journalism and i think as long as you read spillage with this in mind.. ie nothing he writes bares any semblance to the truth or cork city football club, then it makes an ok read
of course i dont condone his racism's comments at all
life is random
I think McHale has had a busy week just from people emailing in and stuff
with all those emails heading mchales way niamh
do you honestly think they will make 1 iota of difference ?
Spillane is writing ****e, and some things if said can stick like the racist thing.
city till I die
fair points, but the fact is the Echo is supposed to be sponsoring and supporting the club. generating negative publicity and concentrating only on bad things is hardly a good way to do that. as i said already, i'm not denying the echo have a job to do, but its being done the wrong way. I think you're spot on re his match reports- would someone ever tell him he's not writing the opposition pep talkOriginally posted by niamh
Granted...he seemed closer to the previous regime from the outside and Spillane has had more negative things to say BUT when does good news sell papers??
and at the end of the day that is the editors responsibility as much as getting good stories.
IMO there's too much opinion in his match REPORTS which are supposed to be factual and correct. The rest of his stories are just filling things up on slow days.![]()