View Poll Results: Who do you want to stay up?

Voters
191. You may not vote on this poll
  • Cobh Ramblers

29 15.18%
  • Finn Harps

72 37.70%
  • Galway Utd

63 32.98%
  • UCD

27 14.14%
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: What club would you NOT like to see be relegated?

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Galway, i know things are a bit up in a heap at the moment but i think it would be good reward for the strides the are making off the pitch and i also think that they just might do it too.
    What progress is that? (Genuinely!)

UCD for me obviously. Us aside, Harps, big gap, Cobh, big gap, Galway.

Pineapple Stu - Galway have develpoped one of the nicest grounds in the league, Have attempted to go to a full-time set-up, Got an ambitous young manager in and are trying to put in place the foundations to develop young local players.
    Now the board did make some errors and unfortunately the crowds went down this year, but now the necessary adjustments have been made and the club will survive.
    That may or may not be enough to keep us in the premier but the club are trying to go in the right direction. The progress is moving from an amateur mid table div 1 side with an average ground with poor crowds to where we are now.
    A stuggling full time set-up with a lovely ground with crowds declining due to poor results. What if results pick-up and we got a run in the cup - We could end up being a premier division club with an excellent young manager, nice facilities and a good fan base which unfortunately is very fickle.
    Its not spectacular but it is progress

Considering finn park is only 6 miles away, has to be a harps vote

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Really would have never guessed that, is it because you were banned from our forum?
    On the subject of the Harps forum,DonegalRovers should be banned,he talks ****e all day and was scared to go to Sligo,what a girl
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Annoying? Aaaww poor shligoman. Lads stop annoying the Sligwegians
    Yes,ye are probley the worst in the league
    RIP JOHNNY

82 Posts
    Trying to run a professional football club.

Whilst they may not have achieve it (and it doesn't look good) some of us give them credit for trying.

UCD, on the other hand, don't appear to be getting much credit for their risk aversity in this thread. I'm sure that doesn't particularly bother you, but it does tell a story.

But that story is not particularly relevant to this thread.

Another good reason for voting for Galway is as a two fingers to all those Dundalk, Limerick etc fans who b*tch and whine about Galway getting promoted on the back of a DVD.

Yes,ye are probley the worst in the league[/quote]

and who put ye out of the cup?

Probley.......... is that a local term?
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Another good reason for voting for Galway is as a two fingers to all those Dundalk, Limerick etc fans who b*tch and whine about Galway getting promoted on the back of a DVD.
    A great reason alright...
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

I obviously voted for Ramblers.
    They won the First Div against all the odds last season and i recon they are going to get 3 points at the weekend against Bray that will start their move up the table.
    UCD are of no benefit to the Prem, another Dub club, not whats needed.
    Harps and Galway have both overspent in my opinion and cannot stay pro for long.
    Cobh haven't the greatest budget in the league but the recent goings on in the club have brought out a lot of talented and energetic people with a vision to drive the club forward. I feel if we manage to avoid the drop this season(it's anybody's guess who will survive) we will be set up to build and grow the club next season. It will be just reward for the huge amount of time and effort that is being put into the club off the field by these people.
    Division 1 Champions 2007
    Bring on the City derbies!!!

1,550 Posts
    I think you're right that Harps have overspent (but more misspent than overspent to be honest), but all our wages have been paid on time to date- can Cobh say the same thing? If not it's a bit rich to be commenting on our finances.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry-Lander View Post
    What has your annoying fans got to do with your team knocking us out of a cup, on penalties?

I want ucd to stay up, even though i hate them... these long trips down the country really kill me!!!

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Correction, we bitch and moan about their promotion on the back of their DVD and misconceptions. But since you think being rewarded in a sporting competition for these methods is okay I don't really care what you think

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Correction, we bitch and moan about their promotion on the back of their DVD and misconceptions. But since you think being rewarded in a sporting competition for these methods is okay I don't really care what you think
    You cared enough to respond. I'm touched.

291 Posts
    Harps, easy journey, good craic, three points.

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Trying to run a professional football club.

Whilst they may not have achieve it (and it doesn't look good) some of us give them credit for trying.
    They can try all they like; so long as they get praised instead of being slapped in the face with a wet fish for trying something completely implausible and which most posters on here were sceptical about at the season's start, the league's problems will continue. "Aren't they great trying a full time set up - sure it failed, like the ten times, but sure they tried at least." Then everyone gets up and moves around to a 10- or 12-team league again, just like the Mad Hatter's tea party.

I'm sure that doesn't particularly bother you, but it does tell a story.
    You're right, it doesn't bother me in the slightest. Quite happy not seeing my eaam go tits up every other year because we don't learn from our mistakes.

Quote Originally Posted by Sumac View Post
    Pineapple Stu - Galway have develpoped one of the nicest grounds in the league
    Spot on; it's a credit to the league.

Have attempted to go to a full-time set-up
    I don't think this counts as progress, especially if, within six months of trying it, you're back to part-time again.

Got an ambitous young manager in
    Certainly isn't progress. Any club can claim the same (well, we can't claim the "young" bit, but you know what I mean)

and are trying to put in place the foundations to develop young local players.
    This is progress? What have you been doing the last 30 years? (And I'll let slip the "trying to put in place the foundations for...", which is how a politician would explain that he's done nothing)

Galway have tried, but haven't put together any sort of realistic plan and have found themselves in the state they're in. A face said the club were making "strides...off the pitch". I don't see how this is backed up by having a youth set up and failing miserably and predictably to go full time.

246 Posts
    I dont like being forced to choose. Can't we all just get along?
    Push to shove I'd pick Harps. Can't beat a 40 minute trip to an away game.
    In saying that, I love away trips to Galway and Cobh (and staying in Cork). Have no difficulty in giving a trip to Dublin.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry-Lander View Post

you call that a cup?

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    As for the rest Galway (approx 80 earlier in the season) don't seem great travellers surpriseing given the city and also Ballinasloe and Tuam is in Galway.
    you are comfortably mid-table and you barely had 80 in terryland
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Harps, easy journey, good craic, three points.
    Do you not live in Dublin?

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast