We had to play 3 U18's on account of injuries but even still it was a shocking performance.
Dundalk should be kicking themselves that they didnt hit double figures!
Last edited by Ash; 07/11/2008 at 9:08 AM.
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!
[QUOTE=shep;Was a really bad display alright ash.How many of you travelled up?? Who was the guy wearing the yellow boots and gloves for you...should never be allowed near a football pitch again!! Yeah we looked like scoring every time we went forward.[/QUOTE]
Carmine Russo ... he's usually not that bad.
I think Colm Jinks is the only one who could walk away with some dignity after that ...
even at 7-0 he was giving his all.
I only spotted about 6 fans for Athlone ... and of that Battery Rover and meself are
connected to the club so that means only about 4 turned up off their own bat.
I hope so as its they only way they deserve payment for this week!
Felt sorry for Kevin Dunne, young lad getting his 1st start at centre back. Poor lad was roasted,
couldnt get to grips with the bounce at all. And all our free kicks ... jaysus no lift in them at all.
I dont think 1 kick was over chest height!
We had a few players starting who were carrying injuries too and only for lack of cover
probably wouldnt have even been in the squad but the scoreline says it all.
Last edited by Ash; 07/11/2008 at 9:22 AM.
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
That goalkeeper gave the worst goalkeeping performance I've ever seen in my life. Who is he?
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
Shels could be missing 9 tonight, gives Waterford a great chance.
I read that too, sounds like ... gamesmanship.
Fair play to Dundalk. Athlone have been difficult to break down all season.
Big game tonight, Massive game id say.
Sporting fingal v Monaghan utd![]()
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie
Yeah we need a win to have any chance going into the last game and its our last home game of the season so we need to give it everything. We're only missing 2 players and Shels seem to be missing a lot so we have a decent chance.
Our recent form has been poor,only one win in 5 but hopefully we can turn it around for tonight.
Hoping for a waterford win tonight...if that where to happen then all we would need next week would be a draw! If ye win ye have a hard game...dont think monaghan have lost to any of the top four in Monaghan this season...they beat shels twice, held ye to a draw an held us to 2 draws me finks!!
An just a note on last nights game...athlone cant really complain about being mauled,too much and having the "we where depleted" etc etc excuse! ye still had several really experienced players on last night...Kelly used to be Derry and Sligos 1st choice keeper, McGhee, Lavine(waste of space),O'Dowd on the bench,Rossitor(whom Cassidy destroyed and was taken off after 30mins), mccartney, to name but a few!!!
No one is complaing about beinh hammered, although we did have 3 youngsters playing thats why I saidJust to note though that of the experienced players, both Rossiter & Reilly were carrying knocks going in to the game.but even still it was a shocking performance.
Not an excuse cos at the end of the day we were brutal, injuries or not.
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
... and Jinks and Russo.
They had enough there to put up a better showing alright.
Happens like that though, and from our point of view really it was the defeat that was key, not the scale of it.
The one glimmer of hope we have is the mindset of Dundalk on the final day.
IF we were to win tonight, which we have to do to take it to the last day anyway, then Dundalk will realistically only need a draw at Kildare.
If they're going in needing a win you'd back them all day long, but if only a draw is needed, and Gill starts off looking for that...
As I say, it's only a glimmer.![]()
Last edited by stann; 07/11/2008 at 1:09 PM. Reason: realistically
more bass