Page 3 of 65 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    In my opinion the Aoh draw should go back to the old system, Premier teams in at 3rd rd. Pre "A" in 2nd rd. and Both Semi Finals played in the Cross . What do ye think???
    Good Luck to one and all for the coming season, Its great to be back
    Welcome junglegym, 1st question you've mentioned a good few teams there, which would you be playing with/supporting?
    Also I think you meant Park on AOH cup night, not Springfield.

I echo your feelings on the AOH Cup. As a player from a lower division team it was always good to have won the right to be in the 3rd round where you could then have a possible clash with the big guns. Too often a team doing poor in the league from a lower division side see an AOH 1st rnd game with the premier sides as a weekend off...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Just to give ye an update with events in Mitchelstown.Park A have lost their manager Jerry O Riordan.Jerry has done a great job over the last 3 years.In his first year he guided Park to promotion,losing to Coachford in the play-off and last season he guided us to the the Cross in the AOH.Lar Keane has since been appointed as the new Gaffer.
    Park B also lost their manager Kieran Duggan but Pa O Mahoney is staying on as coach with Kieran Walsh SNR playing a player/manager role.
    No major signings for either team but more importantly every player has decided to stick with thier respective teams which is a great boost.
    Any one know when first round of fixtures will be known?

Update

Played first friendly. Drew 2 all with Tramore Juniors. Had a few players togging out with the first team so these fellas should make a difference when they come back. Nearly had as many missing as what was togged out due to holidays, injuries and work commitments. All in all a good run out though

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Welcome junglegym, 1st question you've mentioned a good few teams there, which would you be playing with/supporting?
    Also I think you meant Park on AOH cup night, not Springfield.

I echo your feelings on the AOH Cup. As a player from a lower division team it was always good to have won the right to be in the 3rd round where you could then have a possible clash with the big guns. Too often a team doing poor in the league from a lower division side see an AOH 1st rnd game with the premier sides as a weekend off...
    My apologies Innish, And yes i meant to say Park Utd on previous post.
    Playing with Coachford . Played 1st friendly tonight with Donoughmore in a local tournament, won 3-0, Not a bad workout for 1st day out.

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    My apologies Innish, And yes i meant to say Park Utd on previous post.
    Playing with Coachford . Played 1st friendly tonight with Donoughmore in a local tournament, won 3-0, Not a bad workout for 1st day out.
    No worries junglegym... It'll be good to have another voice from the premier on this discussion forum...
    Wonder if there are any from Division 1 out there...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 07/08/2008 at 7:40 AM.
    George Hamilton...

Question New clubs?????????????????

just saw the provisional third division league tables. Who are Castle Celtic and Cathedral Celtic. Are these new clubs. I thought the AUL wasn't letting new clubs in

41 Posts

not quite right

Castle Celtic are out towards Mallow direction.You get out as far as New Two Pot House an take the left if I remember correctly.They were in the Aul 7 or 8 years ago an originally Boher Celtic.Cathedral Celtic an this is a wild guess would be from the Blackpool /Cathedral Rd area an again thats only a guess.

What the Aul actually said regarding new teams was that teams wishing to join must provide a letter of undertaking confirming that they had both a pitch and dressing rooms for the season.That also applies to existing teams who rent or share pitch's.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Crikey... Springfield, St John Bosco's in a division with Los Zarcos (Milstreet), CFC Banteer.
    You're looking at 100 mile round trip games there...
    George Hamilton...

41 Posts

any news would help

Innish,any chance you could tell me who Grattans 2nd team are in with,I know its div 3 but with who.Me lap top is drivin me crazt takin so long to down load the page.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Innish,any chance you could tell me who Grattans 2nd team are in with,I know its div 3 but with who.Me lap top is drivin me crazt takin so long to down load the page.
    From Billy's site,

Sorry I don't see any Grattan 2nd team???

Div 3
    Afton Villa
    Ard-na-Laoi
    Ballincollig
    Ballinhassig
    Casement Celtic
    De Courcy Albion
    Greenwood
    Kinsale
    Parkview Cel
    Richmond
    UCC
    Wilton United

Div 3A
    Castle Celtic
    Cathedral Celtic
    CFC Banteer
    Leeview
    Los Zarcos
    Macroom
    Rathcoole Rvrs
    Springfield
    St. John Boscos
    Watergrasshill
    George Hamilton...

41 Posts

no news is good news

no news is good news.With any luck we just might have been left in the 2nd division.

Re Grattan B

Ye don't seem to be listed in any of the 2nd divisions either Littleman. Maybe ye are Cathedral Celtic now

41 Posts

Question whoops,has anyone seen my B team

Whoops has anyone seen my B team lads.The were last seen wearin blue an white hoops in division 2.Not bad footballers an a good decent honest bunch friendly too an will answer to the name Grattan B.

No worries lads I found them.The 3 rd division tables are only provisional because the Aul were waiting to see if there were a few late comers.We'll be encluded at start an I hope its in the Cork section an not the rest of Ireland section or otherwise I'll have to by a TOM TOM to find me way round the country to some of those places..The fixtures will be on the Monday before the league starts as well by the way.

Newsflash -- Grattan B to return to second division??

Maybe ye won't be relegated at all Littleman. A second division team who shall remain nameless are rumoured not to be re-entering a team this year so maybe ye'll replace them in 2B

Castle Celtic and Cathedral Celtic

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    just saw the provisional third division league tables. Who are Castle Celtic and Cathedral Celtic. Are these new clubs. I thought the AUL wasn't letting new clubs in
    Castle Celtic are from Castletown Roach they played in the top divisions a few years back & seem to come good every 4 or 5 years (never Boher Celtic).
    Cathedral Celtic FC or CCFC as they like to be called are a new club from the North Cathedral/Shandon area, their sponsor is the Shandon Arms (Jack Fords). Just a bunch of lads looking for a game of ball who got together & formed CCFC.

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Castle Celtic are from Castletown Roach they played in the top divisions a few years back & seem to come good every 4 or 5 years (never Boher Celtic).
    Cathedral Celtic FC or CCFC as they like to be called are a new club from the North Cathedral/Shandon area, their sponsor is the Shandon Arms (Jack Fords). Just a bunch of lads looking for a game of ball who got together & formed CCFC.
    CCFC would that be you olachico seeing as you have CCFC in your avatar???
    Dark horse asking who they are in an earlier post too...
    George Hamilton...

Thumbs down Re CCFC

CCFC not me Innish . I'm with Glenthorn Celtic. I picked that avatar purely for the colours

Thought I had you there, damn... Say hello to Kevin Doyle if he's still up there with you he played with us in Innishvilla a few years ago. Nice guy and good player.
    George Hamilton...

Got me??

Yep Kevin Doyle is still there . He'll be playing centre mid for me. A v ery good player

You got him playing central mid, fair play he played centre half for us and I spent a full season telling him he should be in midfield as he has pace and is well able to play. His retort was always he didn't feel he was fit enough... Was probably one of the fittest guys on the team...
    George Hamilton...

Page 3 of 65 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast