Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Thumbs up mossie final

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Suprised to see that Ballyvolane beat Kinsale in the Linnane cup final, not suprised to hear though they lost the penalty shoot out.

anyone see it?
    was at it myself,very even first half,kinsale had the ball cleared off the ballyvolane goal,kinsale used the same tatics as last week aoh cup final,boot the ball long from the back and hope viarian gets it,second half kinsale pressured the ballyvolane defence but they held out strong,last kick of the game ball came into the kinsale box,the ballyvolane sub took it down from air turned and cracked it of the angle,kinsale cleared ref blew up for full time,extra time was even enough,taught myself ballyvolane were much stronger in extra time,the the dreaded penalty shoot out,kinsale first two spotters were well taken,the two they missed were shocking penaltys,ballyvolane penos were well taken,if i could remember ballyvolane had the hardest route to the final,beaten park wilton ballincollig in the group stages and grattan utd in the semi.fair play to them,

Dropping off page again... Anyway, cheerio for this season see you all back again next year...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

End of season review

Alright Folks
    Just a quick note on the season that has so quickly passed us by.
    Our A team finished a respectable third in premier division.No major cup run this season but overall a good season and we can hopefully build on that next season.Were supposed to play Glenthorn last Tuesday in last league game of the season but they decided to stage a no show.
    Our B team had a mixed season.Never really got going in the league.Some heavy defeats at the start of the season proved costly at having any crack for the title.Reached Q Finals of County cup and semi finals of St Michaels cup.Finished 7th in league.
    Anyway enjoy the breaks guys and see ye all next season.

Surprised to see Minty go to a second division senior league side!!! Surely he shoudl be aiming higher than that???? Any front runners to replace him??

what club is he gone to
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Casement Celtic Senior Team is where he is going! Back to his roots - i didnt read that part! Obviously has an affiliation with them from the past - how many of the AUL panel might be asked to go I wonder?? After the success of the Cork AUL side surely a significant amount of these players will be targeted by MSL sides?

Very surprising! How many would be willing to move however? Second division senior league? That's a step down for almost all of the AUL squad! Fair play to Minty for taking the job though...certainly a tough one. The AUL job would appeal to a fair few you would think. Obviously the players are there as long as they dont move on. Perhaps the task may put people off after doing so well last year?! What about an internal appointment? Littleman to get promoted?!

41 Posts

Norrie News

Very funny Bog,i like the sound of it,a norrie in charge of the Aul team for a change.Just think of the head lines in the Echo, "Littleman gets Big Job".,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,na all jokes aside it willbe very interesting to see who gets the job.What was achived last year was outstanding but we have to be consistant to get recognision from the rest of the country,otherwise they'l put last season down to luck.I personally think the Aul should try to push on an really go for it again this year but then again maybe I'm askin for too much.

With regards to Minty ,Casement is a club close to his heart an I hope it goes well for him.No doubt he will try to attract players to Casement,but will they go is the thing.The Aul has a lot goin for it the season comin with the Aul Oscar title behind it an the players who won it last year along with every one else who rates themselves will want to try to get on the team,we'll just have to wait an see.I do know for a fact that one person has been offered the job but he quite rightfully is taking a little time to think it over an I think its only a fair request considering the expectations that will go with the job this season.After last seasons success its not a job for the faint hearted thats for sure.

Lastly,the ground works are bascially done up in our place an the building itself is due to be installed on Wednesday,any one passin is more than welcome to call in an have a look.
    Last edited by littleman; 08/06/2009 at 5:34 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts

Norrie News Season Round Up

Not much point in me doin a season round up as it would be a poor read.An away win against Coachford in the league for the A team an a win against Bellas lot also in the league for the Killer B's who faded poorly after a excellent start.Thats about that.

Be silly to call this past season anything but a dissapointment but football can be like that,one minute your up an the next your down.Tis all just a game lads,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,as if it was that simple

71 Posts

AGM

Lads, wont make the AGM. It would be great if anyone who was there would let me know how it went.

41 Posts

Thumbs up Norrie News

Lads our dressing rooms went in yesterday so we were upin our place helpin out from dusk till dawn an back again.Honestly were are overjoyed at finally havin them.Anybody wants their commitee to have a look just drop me a line an i'l arrange it or if your passin just drop in,its well worht a look.Top class if i do say so myself.I HOPE TO GET SOME PHOTOS UP SHORTLY.

Cause of the dressin rooms arrivin horse i didnt make it either,any news would be welcome.

Off on my travels again - new season to look forward to and a new club too!!

We were also going to slip off the page!!

Knockavilla?????

Just read Knockavillas end of season review in Billys page - Heard mutterings a few weeks ago that they were looking to change the manager! He got them promoted to the Premier league at the first time of asking - what more did he need to do?

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Off on my travels again - new season to look forward to and a new club too!!

We were also going to slip off the page!!
    well wat is the new club this year olachico? leeds ballyvolane??????????????

Just read Knockavillas end of season review in Billys page - Heard mutterings a few weeks ago that they were looking to change the manager! He got them promoted to the Premier league at the first time of asking - what more did he need to do?
    if u read it again he had to manage a team to finish the coaching badge i ould imagine he is around UEFA B going on to Uefa a maybe in the pro licence but seems abit young for that and the Fai dont let many amatuers on this course kept for ex pros
    "Build it and they will come"

"if u read it again he had to manage a team to finish the coaching badge i ould imagine he is around UEFA B going on to Uefa a maybe in the pro licence but seems abit young for that and the Fai dont let many amatuers on this course kept for ex pros"

Yes i did read it - but from what i heard he was happy to stay on so I was basing my theory on what i heard as opposed to what was written - looks like one of those "contract terminated by mutual consent" things - its never mutual!!!

And the club I am going to is not Leeds or Ballyvolane Cant say yet though!! That takes the fun out of it!!
    Last edited by olachico; 15/06/2009 at 9:17 PM.

maybe they didn't have the pot of gold to give him again this season?

the two managers we had stepped down a and b team. Issues have been sorted so now whoever the senior manager is has the pick of all the players down there, seems like the perfect job, if this goes right we should get promoted in the next 2 seasons, IMO.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Springfield??

Are both teams in the same division this year bella - ie both in the 2nd division - then which one is the Senior team? - When the second team in a club becomes better than the first team it only causes trouble - I have experience of this twice!!

Maybe??

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    maybe they didn't have the pot of gold to give him again this season?
    Maybe you are right Yoda - I dont know if he was being paid or not - but if he was and a fella was coming in to replace him the new fella will hardly do it for nothing now will he???

Are both teams in the same division this year bella - ie both in the 2nd division - then which one is the Senior team? - When the second team in a club becomes better than the first team it only causes trouble - I have experience of this twice!!
    The club had a meeting last week to sort all this, looking good for us now though.Eddie and Paul O'Rourke are our managers of the senior teams. How bad, I think were going to make good shapes next year.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Page 64 of 65 FirstFirst ... 145462636465 LastLast