Page 58 of 65 FirstFirst ... 8485657585960 ... LastLast
Results 1,141 to 1,160 of 1294

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

So this is it... Talk about extremes, our season comes down to a week of football...

Cup final this Sunday...
    League game Thursday and Sunday (win both and we stay up, drop points in either and we go down!!!)

P.S. Another good result for Kinsale last night they are really keeping the pressure on Wilton... I hope I'm Free for the 19th for the Wilton game, it could/should be a cracker...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 08/05/2009 at 8:07 AM.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Jesus Innish I feel for ya. Tough when it comes down to such a short space of time like that. We're the same, but if you build up a head of steam you cant wait for the next game to come and that's the situation we find ourselves in at the moment. 3 games left, win the three and we win the league. It's still in our own hands and same for Wilton. Just hopefully We can take it to the last game of the season... it would be an unbelievable end to a loooong season!!

Won 3-1 last nite with both teams having chances to score more. Both missed penalties. Deserved in the end. As i said we've built up a head of steam at the minute, just gotta make sure we dont run out. Macroom tomorrow in the semi of the mossie... one game at a time.

We won div 3 last night happy days
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

41 Posts

Thumbs up A little spring inyer step

Congrats Bella,well deserved.

Cas the Aul is full of excellent players an their all not playin with the top sides either.Very impressed with the Kanturk lads called up especially.Plenty more out their no doubt hopefully the success of this season will encourage more clubs an players to have a go an a bit of competition for places will only help.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Congrats Bella,well deserved.

Cas the Aul is full of excellent players an their all not playin with the top sides either.Very impressed with the Kanturk lads called up especially.Plenty more out their no doubt hopefully the success of this season will encourage more clubs an players to have a go an a bit of competition for places will only help.
    No surprise that the Kanturk lads did well - they gave us an awful fright in the AOH Semi - nothing between us and if it had fell the other way we would have had no complaints.

Congrats Bella - Enjoy it, because the good times in football are always outnumbered by the bad days (except for someone like Ryan Giggs ) !!!

41 Posts

red alert

Shilts what,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,we musnt forget the red devil himself,Scholesy
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Regarding the AUL panel - I have said for a longtime there are players playing in the 1st and 2nd divisions who might be worth a look - some players are playing with teams because there is no other teams nearby such as the country teams and realistically have no chance of playing at a higher level unless they move clubs -doesnt mean they aren't good enough though

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    Jesus Innish I feel for ya. Tough when it comes down to such a short space of time like that.
    Alright bog, 3 in the week isn't too bad I suppose. We made it tough on ourselves, could have beaten Greenmount last Tuesday that would have left us needing to beat UCC next Thursday to gurantee at least a play-off with UCC but now we need to beat them and league leaders Pearce!!!
    On that note our leage title (Div 1) looks a cracker...
    Pearce, Greenmount and Richmond seperated by 2 points, with 2 games to go for each, and Richmond play both!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    We won div 3 last night happy days
    Well done bella... You've looked strong all year;
    At least you shouldn't have such long trips next season in 2 (is it A or B???)
    George Hamilton...

My tip for the weekend

Macroom to beat Kinsale in the Mossie tommorow

Linnane League Cup semi final

Close Prediction :

Kinsale go through on Spotters.... ( 4-3 )
    1 - 1 after extra time

See you Tues. night Shilts ( Any match report on todays game ? )

Other Result :

Glenthorn 1 - 4 Coachford
    Last edited by junglegym; 09/05/2009 at 10:43 PM.

Christ great result yesterday for coachford!! Ominous to say the least. Well we went through on penalties and it would have been an injustice had we not have won but we're in another final and we dont care how we got there!! The extra time we could have done without as there are some tired legs appearing. First half it was all Kinsale but we couldn't make the breakthrough. Scully, varian, terrince eade and seralsie all having chances but ddnt stick them. It must be said that this is one of the biggest pitches i have seen... it was massive!! Tough on the legs.

Second half they took the lead from a throw in and it took us a while to get back into the game but mongo is claiming the equaliser from a header so we'll take that. After that we huffed and puffed but weren't producing much. Macroom could have nicked it in extra time as they hit the cross bar from a header! I dont think it would have been deserved but they battled hard and were always there or there abouts. Hurley saved a peno and we stuck 4. Brilliant!!

Lovely pitch, if not on the big side!! and a great crowd out for macroom. tough place to get a result but we did it. Concentrate on the league now for the next week and a half. Coachford on tuesday, park on sat, and wilton tuesday week. All away from home unfortunately. Alot of tired legs at the moment in the Kinsale squad. Fair few injuries being picked up but hopefully they recover in time for another final on tuesday night with ye junglegym.

Congrats on the league victory bella! Great feeling.

Also good luck to out neighbours innishvilla! Enjoy the experience but make sure ye come home with the cup!!

Absolutely gutted here this morning...
    Cracking cup final last night in the cross. We went down 2:1 to Watergrasshill after extra time... Nip and tuck all the way.
    0:0 with but 2 minutes to go Johnny Dorgan scored for them, we scored an equaliser with the last kick of the game. Their second striker Jacob, scored their 2nd after 5 minutes of extra time. Our captain Paul Griffin saw a curling shot heading for top corner magnificently saved by the hill keeper in the last minute... Team is devestated to tell the truth but thems the breaks...
    George Hamilton...

21 Posts
    Unlucky Innishvilla - not much in it by all accounts.
    Kinsale had a scare in Macroom but I think that the Premier A sides are proving to be as strong as the Premier teams this year. Ballyvolane beating Grattan illustrates this point again. Any report Littleman?

I expected you to win even though I have not seen Ballyvolane play - they can't be bad to beat the Prem champions twice this season, can they? Going on our recent record against the Prem A teams, Ballyvolane will definitely think that they have a 50/50 chance and may even be favorites for the Mossie final.

Back to the bread and butter, as they say, this week.
    Away to a revitalised Coachford tomorrow night - big win v Glenthorn at the weekend for them will mean that they will be harder than ever to get a result against. But shur, we'll do our best?

Question

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    I expected you to win even though I have not seen Ballyvolane play - they can't be bad to beat the Prem champions twice this season, can they? Going on our recent record against the Prem A teams, Ballyvolane will definitely think that they have a 50/50 chance and may even be favorites for the Mossie final.

Back to the bread and butter, as they say, this week.
    Away to a revitalised Coachford tomorrow night - big win v Glenthorn at the weekend for them will mean that they will be harder than ever to get a result against. But shur, we'll do our best?
    Shilts is ur real name David O leary cause you sound a lot like him when he was in charge of leeds" they are only kids"
    "Build it and they will come"

71 Posts

End of Season review

Firstly, congrats to Bella - long season in your division. From my experience, with one or two additions (maybe from the first team), then the 2nd division isnt a huge step up for a good 3rd division side. In fact, rumours are Boscos are getting stronger with each game and ye could be the first team yet!

Inishvilla, I havent experienced the heartbreak of Cup Final defeat yet, but Im sure I will at some time in the future. It must be sickening. Johnny Dorgan is, as the old saying goes, is a natural goalscorer. We have been playing against him in one guise or another for years. We know he can score, we mark him tightly for 90 minutes, and yet one sniff usually ends up in the net. His strike partner Jacob seemed ok in the one game I saw him this year.

I really feel for Wilton, who we beat in the City Challenge last year, who lost the same final again. For a 3rd division side to reach it twice is some achievement. The double should ease the pain though!!

I will be the first to put up my season review, since we finished with a 3-1 defeat to Carrigtwohill. I saw only 50% of the games, due to the arrival of a future Blackstone star in October.

Pre-season was a strange one after the highs of the end of the season. We lost a good few players, and the manager changed two weeks before the season. We lost our 1st two league games by the odd goal, to teams who cant field a team once the GAA picks up pace. We then beat league champions Greenwood and picked up another 4 points to finally get our campaign off the ground. Another two defeats before 3 months without a league game. When we resumed, we went 9 games unbeaten with 6 wins. 2 games to go, and we could actually still win it. A draw with the champions and a defeat on the finally day means we will finish 3rd to 5th. Disapointed in our last 2 results, but, on reflection, happy to finish so high up.

In the cups, we went outside Cork for the first time in the Munster, but didnt do ourselves justice against the visiting Dungarvan side. This included a huge win against Premier League leaders Wilton. The AOH quarters was our other big game, and we could have nicked it on spotters with a bit of luck against Kinsale. We were disapointed to give up our City Challenge Cup in the first round on Paddys Day.

Overall, we have a taste of "what could have been" in the league, but, on reflection, the club can now take the field with the top Premier sides and know we can do ourselves justice.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post

Inishvilla, I havent experienced the heartbreak of Cup Final defeat yet, but Im sure I will at some time in the future. It must be sickening. Johnny Dorgan is, as the old saying goes, is a natural goalscorer. We have been playing against him in one guise or another for years. We know he can score, we mark him tightly for 90 minutes, and yet one sniff usually ends up in the net. His strike partner Jacob seemed ok in the one game I saw him this year.

Cheers Horse... I'll tell you 12 year ago I was part of a team that won a cup final, It is some different feeling.

I saw Blackstone play Watergrasshill there last week. The hill had only half a team but I must admit Blackstone looked very strong. I think ye picked up a few Villa players as well???

If ye can keep the squad I saw together I'd be thinking of giving Cashmans a call in the preseason for a flutter...
    George Hamilton...

Hi All, I've been reading all your quotes for the past couple of months so i said i'd set up for next season.

Springfield AFC

Lads on behalf of Bella and everyone at Springfield thanks for all the congrats. Bella started a new job lately and is puttin all his time and efforts into that- thats why ye havent seen him on here lately.
    Were all delighted down here tbh. A really good season with only one defeat on the way to winnig the league and that was away to Grattan at the start when they were strong (and we were robbed at the end). Over the 50 point mark and a really tough April. We are hoping to push on now and go straight up again next year. Fingers crossed.

Unlucky Innis the other night- from what I here it was close all the way.

Thanks Again
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

Quote Originally Posted by MainManRam View Post
    Lads on behalf of Bella and everyone at Springfield thanks for all the congrats. Bella started a new job lately and is puttin all his time and efforts into that- thats why ye havent seen him on here lately.
    Were all delighted down here tbh. A really good season with only one defeat on the way to winnig the league and that was away to Grattan at the start when they were strong (and we were robbed at the end). Over the 50 point mark and a really tough April. We are hoping to push on now and go straight up again next year. Fingers crossed.

Unlucky Innis the other night- from what I here it was close all the way.

Thanks Again
    Good man mainmanram, cheers lads, hope to play ye all next year or so.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

71 Posts

Brfc

Inish, Thanks for the compliments.

As you learned the hard way, that was not a true WGHill that day. We did gain a few from Villa during the window...and with a bit of luck, two or three more from Villa have promised us signatures.

It took the team until March to gel, so if every one stays together and we add the few that a squad needs every year just to get freshness we have nothing to fear. We won twice and drew once in 3 games with the champions so we know we can hold our own.

Page 58 of 65 FirstFirst ... 8485657585960 ... LastLast