Page 56 of 65 FirstFirst ... 6465455565758 ... LastLast
Results 1,101 to 1,120 of 1294

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post

In regard to your underage structure Innish i have been meaning to ask you about that? You seem to be very strong altogether. When did you decide to focus on this? It really has gone from strength to strength and several clubs would do well to look at the progress ye have made.
    Yeah a few year ago a couple of guys got together and put an U12 team into the West Cork League. It was quite a strong side and they did quite well it kind of kicked off from there, combined with the fact that the first really structured soccer team from Innishannon when the club won the Presidents Cup with a group of guys committed to the club, well a large proportion of those guys now have kids playing and they themselves are really getting involved. Off the top of my head I can think of at least 8 guys involved with that team that are all still very involved with the club from underage coaching to committee members.
    It kicked off from there, Knockavilla were also trying to run an underage team but were struggling so the two combined to form Innishvilla (they refused at Junior level). Now with the new pitches (undergoing extra drainage work at the moment) the juvenile section is booming. But the credit, as with almost all clubs, is down to a few very dedicated members and in all fairness an ever expanding group running the underage clubs...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Got to see the semi last night, Glenthoran very strong in the first half, but ran out of steam in the second half that must be down to the amount of games they played in the last few weeks. Blarney Street should of won it in normal time had two great chances.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Couldnt agree with you more there horse.For me its not that they cant change the rules as your excellent point about the government proved its more of they perfer that any changes are at the agm an then they have a season to see if they are good or bad,,,,,,,at the clubs an players cost I may add ?

My own opinion (an I can almost hear the gasps in certain corners because I've said what I think) is that as soon as the new budget came on board then the yellow card fines should have been done away with an repalaced with just 3 yellows equals a missed game.It in all fairness is an still in the future could be an excellent way of keepin players in line(5euro a yellow) but with the way the recession is makin every penny count its an unfair penalty for what most would view as their 90 mins away from the everyday problems they hav so all in all a bit ill timed.

The reds fine too could be reduced in line with the recession,its 30 for a red depending on the severity,70 if you diont show at the meeting.I personally know of 2 lads who have jacked in playin this year because they couldnt afford to pay the 70 as their out of work.They should have gone to the meetin I know but they didnt an whos left to foot the bill,the club again.

Horse when your on the Aul commitee please sort all this out,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Sham,my comment with regards to the Aul job ,please try to understand the context in which I meant it,its only 6 games encluding final an add maybe 3 to 5 friendlies an thats all he has to work with , not a season.The back round work that needs to be done for that amount of games is huge.Tis at another level all together than league management .Finding out the opposition,knowing how they play,who plays 1 to 11,left leg right leg,weak point strong points of the opposition.Maybe we could all learn from how the Aul approached things this season.Aint as simple as just turnin up an playin,as a wise man once said ,a Cork man I think too "fail to prepare an prepare to fail".

As for the clubs do all the work an he picks the players,I've seen the entire squad bar one player this season an for the most part a lot of um played a lot better for the Aul than they did with their clubs but again that is just my own opinion.Its a squad of excellent talent but it has to be made into a unit an click so to speak in a very short space of time.Thats down to the man ,not the club.The proof is in the puddin,tis 43 years since we won it,a lot of great managers an great players couldnt get near it,but hes won it an nobody can take it away from him.
    Firstly I was delighted to see them win the Oscar Traynor. Littleman your trying to make out that it was run like a professional outlet when it was far from it. They never practiced corners never practiced free kicks. Handing out Roscommon echo to the players does not make this a different level. I know your minty's number one fan and there's nothing wrong with that but making him out to be Alex Ferguson is a bit much.

How'd the game go last nite does anyone know? Any match report?

Kinsale v Park is off today.

Was Dereck Varian playing for the Irish team during the week? If so it looks like he got on the score sheet against a seria C team in Italy

Quote Originally Posted by Billynomates View Post
    Was Dereck Varian playing for the Irish team during the week? If so it looks like he got on the score sheet against a seria C team in Italy
    Don't think so Billy ? This is off the fai.ie site.

Wed. 22nd April 2009

Calinganis 1-5 Republic of Ireland Gerry Smith's Irish Amateurs won the first of their two test matches with a 5-1 win over Calinganis in Sardinia on Tuesday. Dean Kelly produced an excellent second half display with four well taken goals against an Italian defence that held the Amateur team to a 0-0 scoreline at half time.
    Calinganis 1 - 5 Republic of Ireland Amateurs
    Dean Kelly (4)
    David Donogoe

Republic of Ireland Amateur: Adrian Walsh (Carrick Utd), John Carroll (St. Kevins Boys), Wayne Byrne (Dublin Bus), Paul McCabe (Crumlin Utd), Adam Mitchell (Bangor Celtic), Daniel Loughran (Crumlin Utd), David Donohoe (St. Peters FC), Laurence Dunne (Bangor Celtic), Dean Kelly (Tolka Rvs), David Welsh (Avondale Utd), Declan O'Connell (Douglas Hall FC)
    Subs: All not used.

I got this from the fai site

Gerry Smith's side, who were drawn alongside Spain, Bosnia and Belgium in the draw in Zagreb yesterday, were once again in impressive form after their 5-1 win over Tuesday evening against Calinganus. The Amateurs ran out three-nil winners against Serie C side Olmedo with another highly impressive performance with Derek Varian's 38th minute goal being sandwiched by Molloy's second minute strike and a well executed 81st minute effort which killed the game as a contest.

REP IRELAND: Brendan O'Connell; Conor Dillon, Adam Mitchell, Ciaran Kenna, James Walsh (capt), Geoff Doyle, Ray Whelehan, Derek Varian, David Lacey, Peter Sherlock, William Molloy. Subs: David Walsh for Sherlock (81mins).

This was played tuesday night.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=4231

Quote Originally Posted by Billynomates View Post
    I got this from the fai site

Gerry Smith's side, who were drawn alongside Spain, Bosnia and Belgium in the draw in Zagreb yesterday, were once again in impressive form after their 5-1 win over Tuesday evening against Calinganus. The Amateurs ran out three-nil winners against Serie C side Olmedo with another highly impressive performance with Derek Varian's 38th minute goal being sandwiched by Molloy's second minute strike and a well executed 81st minute effort which killed the game as a contest.

REP IRELAND: Brendan O'Connell; Conor Dillon, Adam Mitchell, Ciaran Kenna, James Walsh (capt), Geoff Doyle, Ray Whelehan, Derek Varian, David Lacey, Peter Sherlock, William Molloy. Subs: David Walsh for Sherlock (81mins).

This was played tuesday night.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=4231
    I stand corrected Billy.

Played against Mr. Varian a couple of times this year and without doubt he's different class.

Congrats Innish on a great result today to set up a mouth watering tie with Watergrasshill..

On this site with the majority of members involved with the Premier teams, We sometimes fail to mention ye. But fair play it looks like ye are progressing in the right track. Good Luck in the final.

Also have to mention the Street on their victory.

After beating Kinsale in the MJC. Im sure Shilts and Bog will be out for some revenge .. Could be interesting ...

Casilles,
    Hope you make it home for the final. These big days out dont come around too often . It would be a shame to miss out. Work or the AOH. Final. There's only one winner there

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    Congrats Innish on a great result today to set up a mouth watering tie with Watergrasshill..

On this site with the majority of members involved with the Premier teams, We sometimes fail to mention ye. But fair play it looks like ye are progressing in the right track. Good Luck in the final.
    Cheers Junglegym,

Yeah it is a bit of a relief for the club... It has been a tough season for the juniors.
    We just didn't perform in the 1st leg when we handed them 3 goals in a 3:1 defeat... Yesterday the team played excellently. Really stretched them all over, making use of a good big pitch that had held up well to some seriously heavy rain. 0:0 at half time, but the lads didn't panic, could and should have had it wrapped up before full time, especially when our full back hit a screamer from 30 yards when a ball broke from a corner, only for it to pretty much take the head off our captain as he tried to get out of the way.
    Again should/could have won it in extra time but credit to Watergrasshill they kept fighting all the way.
    The penalties were seriously intense. We were up 1st. We missed our 2nd (saved), they missed their 3rd (saved) and then both sides produced a master class in penalty taking both scoring 13 penalties in a row, I honestly think a special mention to the quality of the 'hill peno's we have a top class keeper, each of their kicks were sudden death, miss and you loose, to score five of those... Unfortunately there had to be a looser and the unlucky keeper from the visitors (kick taker no 10) saw his saved and Innishvilla were through to only their 2nd ever trip to the Cross... Won their only other cup there in 1997 after beating Maymount Celtic in the Presidents Cup.
    George Hamilton...

21 Posts

AOH Cup Final

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post

Also have to mention the Street on their victory.

After beating Kinsale in the MJC. Im sure Shilts and Bog will be out for some revenge .. Could be interesting ...
    Revenge is a very harsh word junglegym haha!
    Blarney Street are having a very good season and will probably be favorites for the final seeing as they have beat us twice already, MJC and League, and have now put out a hotly fancied Glenthorn side. We'll have to improve a lot, and get a few breaks, if we are to retain the AOH Cup.

Ha nice try shilts but your fooling no one up here.. we just suffered our biggest defeat of the season to ye(5-1) and are up against the reigning champions who happen to have just the two internationals in their side.. How in the name of god could we be favourites!!!! certainly not in our eyes anyway...nice try sir alex.....

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    Ha nice try shilts but your fooling no one up here.. we just suffered our biggest defeat of the season to ye(5-1) and are up against the reigning champions who happen to have just the two internationals in their side.. How in the name of god could we be favourites!!!! certainly not in our eyes anyway...nice try sir alex.....
    Have to admit I though it was a bit Sir Alex as well. No disrespect to the street, they've been great this year and deserve to be in the final, but Kinsale have to go into it as slight favourites...
    George Hamilton...

Glad you had that medal around your neck Littleman sounds like you definately desreved it!!!! If you have something to say to me post it like eveyone else unless you think your facts are wrong....

Mind Games

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Revenge is a very harsh word junglegym haha!
    Blarney Street are having a very good season and will probably be favorites for the final seeing as they have beat us twice already, MJC and League, and have now put out a hotly fancied Glenthorn side. We'll have to improve a lot, and get a few breaks, if we are to retain the AOH Cup.
    Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Have to admit I though it was a bit Sir Alex as well. No disrespect to the street, they've been great this year and deserve to be in the final, but Kinsale have to go into it as slight favourites...
    Junglegym my friend what i would give to be there. But there is a big differance from not going to work in lets say Sherring Plough and going AWOL in Kosovo!!!! Apples is a fine keeper and from what I hear made a tremendous save to win it for us on Friday night.

The Favourites tag

Kinsale 5 Premier leagues on the trot and current holders of the AOH in the running for league honours this year
    Blarney St Ath R-Up In Premier A last year Mid Table at the moment.

Mr Cashman certanily wouldnt be employing you Shilts to make out his odds

Over 3 weeks to go to the final and a lot can happen between then and now. Hopefully both will have full squads to choose from, it will be an entertaing game and a Street win
    "Build it and they will come"

41 Posts

on tour

well cas whats the weather like,will ya be able to get time off for the final,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,tell forda an johnny the gratts said hello
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts

how it works

Look sham,you posted a couple of things that were lets just say you were mis informed.I told you exactly how prepared the team was before the game in the hope that you might think that you were mis in formed,what you choose to belive i couldnt care less.

Your other comments today,well you do have a valid point.I didnt kick a ball,didnt tog off so maybe I shouldnt have got a medal, so I'll tell ya exactly what I did an then you can make your own mind up.

I watched the group games like everyone else an was only asked about team affairs solely to do with the Grattan players which were on the squad an some of the players from the other teams in Norrieland.It was only when we beat Limerick an had to play Wexford was I asked to help out in gaining any info on the opposition again because the manager knew I had good contacts around the country an forgive me but I think it makes perfect sense..Which I did an the management got plenty of it.We won that game an again I was asked to try to gain some info on the Roscommon team which I again did.We then had unbeliveable trouble with tryin to rent out an all weather facility to enable us play a warm up game.The Aul could do no more because honestly all the pitchs were booked.

I knew the Mayfield manager an was able to talk him into agreeing to play us insted of there usual training session.They kindly allowed us 2 sessions of there own training time for games.I was then asked by the manager to travel to Roscommon but the Friday before we left I was told that the Aul commitee had a slight problem with me travelin so I didnt bother an said no more.We then beat Roscommon an I was again contacted by the manager to again start to pull out all the stops to get as much info on the Dubs as possible.We played Avondale in Blarneys grass pitch,the manager arranged the opposition an I managed by some miracle to get the pitch.Not the Aul.

I didnt expect to travel to Wexford for the final but I was asked to go,I went an on the official match programe I was listed as team co-ordinatior.I didnt do that the Aul an the manager did it .I recived the same award as the rest of the panel in the Kiln,again I didnt play or tog off,what I did for the win was done off the pitch.I'm happy with my contribution an if your not then thats up to your self.

Fair play littleman. I ddnt know you were that involved in the organising of things. The prep and getting info is a vital part of the management process and should not be underestimated.

Will you be there tonight littleman?! The next 5 days will decide our season. Gratts tonight is the toughest away fixture out there. Fingers crossed.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    well cas whats the weather like,will ya be able to get time off for the final,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,tell forda an johnny the gratts said hello
    Weather is good working on an all round tan!!! doesnt look good for getting home, enquirying but those are the joys of been over here. Was talking to Johnny Mac alright during the week, semi of the Mossie ? happy with that, the way the season has gone? { an i aint winding ya up this time} still involved at this time of year is a good thing.
    Ill pass on your hellos to Graham "not playin soccer for 6 months over here" Forde the winge and to Johnny Torres!!
    "Build it and they will come"

41 Posts

somethin out of nothin

The mossie is a bonus alright but its only a bonus if we reach the final.Ballyvolane have knocked us out of the Fai in the 1st round which must rank as the shock of the season,on a par with the other 2 so called shocks Glenvale in the Aoh an Buttervant in the Mjc so we dont exactly have much form this season.We seem to be improvin but I think speakin honestly we are very dissapointed on how its gone for us this season.

Tis a right balls not bein able to get back for the Aoh,especially as its yer first,ye have just as much of a chance as kinsale though an their should be a great crowd.Again tell the lads we were askin for them an stay safe out there.

Page 56 of 65 FirstFirst ... 6465455565758 ... LastLast