Kinsale v Wilton Utd
    wilton just about shade it

Coachford 1 - 3 Kinsale

Our plan last night was to chase, harass and win every 50/50 ball,
    Get a goal , Keep a clean sheet and be in the semi finals. Sounds simple thats exactly what happened. ( for 60mins )

Mr. Varian started up front and was excellently marshalled by Ciaran . Chances were far and few between, the closest coming to Kinsale who hit the crossbar in the 1st half. 0-0 at half time.
    Into the second half and we took the lead . Soon after that Mr. Mc Carthy was sprung from the bench and once Varian moved to the wing he had a lot more freedom. The changing point fom my point of view was when one of our younger players threw the ball away and left the ref wih no other option but to give him a second yellow.
    It's tough enough to get the better of Kinsale with 11 lads so this was an ultimate disaster for us. Mr. Mc got the 1st and Mr. Varian got 2 more.

These two players are class as pointed out by Littleman but those are the joys of it. A spirited performance from us but were out done by the better team overall.

I wish Kinsale the best in the semis

Horse :
    The fees for the yellow and red cards is crazy and will see more clubs go under if it carries on in this matter.

Streetscene / Streetwise
    Surprise result last night any match report
    Last edited by junglegym; 03/04/2009 at 4:42 PM. Reason: Extra post

was it coming?

Blarney St Ath 1-2 Macroom

Very disapointing result last night at home. Started the game very poorly, touch was bad, passing was shocking and to many killer passes attempted when the simple pass was on. Took the lead from a free kick on the left whipped in by JP and John betts got his head on it. 2nd half we improved for half an hour then just stopped playing, why? who knows? Macroom equalised with 10 to go 5 to go Conroy was sent off and 90th they got the winner from a header at the back post from a cornor. shocking game and we got what we deserved Nothing.

Was it coming ? Played poor against Castle, poor against mayfield and poor in the 1st half vs rathcoole and won all of them. Hopefully this will drive us on against glenthorn tomorrow but if we play the way we are lately we aint picking up no points. awin last night and tomorow and we were qualified before even heading down to knockavilla.
    "Build it and they will come"

Any predictions?

Premier League:
    Kinsale v Grattan Utd 2-1

Premier A
    Knockavilla Cel v Castleview 2-2

Mossie Linnane League Cup:
    Group A:
    Ballincollig v Park Utd 1-0
    Ballyvolane v Wilton Utd 0-3

Group C:
    Blarney St Ath v Glenthorn 2-1
    Macroom v Dunbar is this on? if so 5-0

Group D:
    Kanturk v Leeside 1-2
    Rathcoole Rovers v Village 2-2

League 1A:
    Park Utd v Hillington 3-0
    Glenthorn Cel v Rylane Cel 2-0

League 1B:
    Carrigtohill Utd v Leeside 2-1
    Springfield v Watergrasshill Utd 1-1
    St. John Boscos v Blackstone Rovers 1-2

League 3A:
    Cathedral Cel v Grattan Utd 3-1

President’s Cup Final:
    Kinsale v Wilton Utd 2-1

Lads can anyone confirm if leeside played glenthorn last night?

Streetwise
    leeside glenthorn 2 each. junglejim only saw firsthalf of game and it was scrappy to be honest,don t know if our fellas were up for the game or not
    but thats no excuse. did nt produce a whole lot on the attacking front but when we scored i thought it was going to drive on from there but it did nt happen.just looking forward to next game and a huge improvment

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    In advance of the AUL AGM, I would like to see what points fellas will be bringing up to give me thinking time:

My List includes:

1) Yellow card fines, crucifying clubs.
    2) Suspensions - players suspended for the weekend ahead should be listed on the website.
    3) 2 promoted at least from every division. AUL say 1st division has only one promoted because they dont want a team to get to Premier League without winning a league. You can get to Premier League in England by finishing 6th in 3 divisions!! A good start by one team leaves 9/10 teams out of the league by Ocotber maybe because guys were on holidays. Is that fair?
    4) I saw a bit on the MSL site about MSL grants - could AUL help clubs out with Pitch or Dressing room development in these trying times? We have plans, but will we have funds?
    5) Should players from folded clubs be punished during non-transfer times for things that happened outside their control?

Thats all I can think of for now.

Those who know me know I dont usually say much at the meetings!!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    How about not letting any team without a 'B' team into the premier leagues? This would prevent the crazy situation in the prem div this year where 2 teams have folded. Bad enough in the lower leagues but it has totally distorted the premier division this season.
    What about neutral venues for the AOH Semis. Bit of a joke to be togging off at grounds with no proper dressing rooms for an AOH semi?
    What about a bigger prize for the winners of the top competitions? Dublin AUL Prem winners get a team holiday, but a set of gear wouldn't be too bad for our winners would it!
    Horse agree with the above but the stumbling block is at 1st div ? The Premier A is a conundrum already- 10 teams 2 up 3 down, that leaves only 5 from the previous year, half the league changes every year. now if you were to promote all 2nd placed teams it would mean only 2 teams staying put and that cant happen. How about making both Premier leagues 12 teams still 2 up 2 down between them. At 1st Div as is champs go up , then take all the 3 2nd placed teams and put the in a hat, draw out a semi final with 1 getting a bye to the final, winner goes up. Premier A 4 relegated.
    On a side point Billy Lyons does a great job but could the website be more than it is and before i get jumped on compare it to this http://www.munsterseniorleague.ie/

Shilts if your point was implemted Blarney St Ath in the premier and 5 in the premier A would all have to stop at 1st Div. the Street have gone through some major changes in these last 5 years with Winning the 2nd, winning the 1st div, runners up in the Premier A and i belive holding our own up Premier but if we do what you say it would have all having to stop 2 years ago in the 1st Div. As posted at the start of the year Littleman counted somewhere close to 14 teams on the Northside and that not including MSL, we would love to have a 2nd team but no point putting a team in if you do not have close to 18/20 players on each panel the odd week you could help each other out but you need 2 completly different panels. Blarney St have a core of 10 who have played all the way up together with a few faces joining each year to hopefully improve the squad, Rome wasnt built in a day

Just read on the AUL website that Billy has deciced to pack it in he will be a great loss to all of us involved in football in Cork, hope it wasnt my post that finished him!!
    Last edited by casilles; 04/04/2009 at 12:47 PM. Reason: New Info

71 Posts

Websites

Casilles, I think the MSL site is way behind Billys one. Much more info and history on Billys one. I have messed around with that league republic site set-up and its very restricted.

Billy leaving at the end of the season - I get the feeling there is no coming back from him this time.

MSL site is terrible, Billy's is pretty poor too. The galway fa website is very good www.galwayfa.net . Sportsmanager do an extremely good job with it.

71 Posts

Website

With just a quick look over it, Billys has the same info. It may be simpler but its also costless!

What would you want from a site if ye could design it?

Lads, The Murphys Brewery do for the Oscar Traynor is on Tuesday night and yet we are still down for a game. Anyone else get notice of their game off?

A chap could get very upset if our club misses it!

With just a quick look over it, Billys has the same info. It may be simpler but its also costless!

What would you want from a site if ye could design it?

Lads, The Murphys Brewery do for the Oscar Traynor is on Tuesday night and yet we are still down for a game. Anyone else get notice of their game off?

A chap could get very upset if our club misses it!
    Horse, we were down for a game Tues night too, but with our keeper Gary involved in the Oscar squad, there was a note in the Echo last Wed saying our game was put back to Wed 8th....

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doug89 View Post
    Horse, we were down for a game Tues night too, but with our keeper Gary involved in the Oscar squad, there was a note in the Echo last Wed saying our game was put back to Wed 8th....
    Doug, did it mention our game?

21 Posts
    [QUOTE=casilles;1137345]
    Shilts if your point was implemted Blarney St Ath in the premier and 5 in the premier A would all have to stop at 1st Div. the Street have gone through some major changes in these last 5 years with Winning the 2nd, winning the 1st div, runners up in the Premier A and i belive holding our own up Premier but if we do what you say it would have all having to stop 2 years ago in the 1st Div. As posted at the start of the year Littleman counted somewhere close to 14 teams on the Northside and that not including MSL, we would love to have a 2nd team but no point putting a team in if you do not have close to 18/20 players on each panel the odd week you could help each other out but you need 2 completly different panels. Blarney St have a core of 10 who have played all the way up together with a few faces joining each year to hopefully improve the squad, Rome wasnt built in a day

QUOTE]

I hear what you are saying but I believe that the stability of the AUL's prem division is more important than any 1 teams progress. We have a situation where wilton could well win the league because of 12 walkover points received (not wilton's fault!). This should never happen again.

Some clubs are living on the edge from year to year (I'm not saying BSA are like this) and could go under at any time. Clubs, if they want to progress up the leagues, should either get a 2nd team together or else join up with a lower league club. If this stopped a team like Ballyphehane, who were formed only a few years ago, rising up through the leagues then so be it!!!

Doug, did it mention our game?
    Not that I can remember Horse, I'd check it out....

[quote=Shilts;1138321]
    Quote Originally Posted by casilles View Post

QUOTE]

I hear what you are saying but I believe that the stability of the AUL's prem division is more important than any 1 teams progress. We have a situation where wilton could well win the league because of 12 walkover points received (not wilton's fault!). This should never happen again.

Some clubs are living on the edge from year to year (I'm not saying BSA are like this) and could go under at any time. Clubs, if they want to progress up the leagues, should either get a 2nd team together or else join up with a lower league club. If this stopped a team like Ballyphehane, who were formed only a few years ago, rising up through the leagues then so be it!!!
    Shilts on your comment about wilton getting 12 points and wining the league.From looking back at results they played villa an beat them 3-0 away an im sure other teams have gained from these two clubs folding.They just happen to be top of the league,an by my calculations would be still there -9 points.If they do win the league it will be down to them beating whats around them an not down to default.Who ever wins the league will have deserved to win it!!!!.

21 Posts
    [QUOTE=BigFella 09;1138489]
    Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post

Shilts on your comment about wilton getting 12 points and wining the league.From looking back at results they played villa an beat them 3-0 away an im sure other teams have gained from these two clubs folding.They just happen to be top of the league,an by my calculations would be still there -9 points.If they do win the league it will be down to them beating whats around them an not down to default.Who ever wins the league will have deserved to win it!!!!.

Thanks for the clarification - I'm certainly not slagging off Wilton or any other team in the running for the league.

However, if some teams have got more points from the withdrawn teams than others, or have had to play more games overall - then the integrity of the league has been badly affected.

If the teams who withdrew had 'B' teams then this would have been unlikely to happen to the Premier League. That is my point.

Shilts i know you are not having a go at us personally but it is a lot easier for you to say that now as ye have a "b" team..i do see the sense of it but in all honestly if kinsale were struggling tomorrow how many of your "B" team would be up to it... i dont see that solving the problem as if a fellow was interested enough in his club then he would want to play in the first team anyway... i agree the situation this year was unacceptable but maybe the aul need to review the every team in the premier league before the season starts and see what position they are in and go from there.. at the end of the day the reason they folded was because of players and their lack of commitment.. you shouldn judge every club with only one team by them..again im not being smart but like i said its easy to say when ye already have two teams and very little competition down your way for the better players.. when a good player or any player becomes available on the northside its like a cattle mart trying to get his signature before someone else...

big fella i agree with you that wilton are on top on merit and that every team gained in some way by those teams folding..the only thing which i would argue is it did give the rest of us 2 to 3 less games to catch them and when ballyphehane folded it did set us back a bit personally.we had just put a good run together and were after slipping into fourth but we really needed those two games.its no secret that wilton have been struggling lately for numbers and stuff and whose to say they would not have slipped up..again i know its not their fault but they did gain out of it that way..we all got the points but two less games was a killer... i have to say we played glenthorn on sat in mossy and it was my first time seeing them this year and i have to say if they had more league games played then it could well be a different story at the top.. they are extremely quick and dangerous up front and in alan greaney they have the best finisher in the league.. altough he was brilliantly marked out of it throughout the game by babsy he still managed to get one chance which he took in some style..the match did finish two all and i felt we were unlucky but it was a great game... they are still in the running and could yet have a huge say...
    dont know why they have so little games played but if i was involved with them i wouldn be too happy with the way its fell

[quote=Shilts;1138510]
    Quote Originally Posted by BigFella 09 View Post

Thanks for the clarification - I'm certainly not slagging off Wilton or any other team in the running for the league.

However, if some teams have got more points from the withdrawn teams than others, or have had to play more games overall - then the integrity of the league has been badly affected.

If the teams who withdrew had 'B' teams then this would have been unlikely to happen to the Premier League. That is my point.
    I understand your point of view completely,an it is a joke the way the league is gone but you have to remember that all the top teams have to play eachother twice an who ever comes out of it,it'll be well deserved.
    Just a question,what happens to the teams that folded?.If they want to start a team again the following season.whats the story?.

Page 51 of 65 FirstFirst ... 41495051525361 ... LastLast