Page 49 of 65 FirstFirst ... 39474849505159 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

71 Posts

Firsts

Last year, June Weekend, we won our first cup. As a club we are still young enough to have a few firsts every season - 2008/2009 first time out of cork, first time in AOH last 8 - however, i experienced a horrible first the other day - we got knocked out of that cup. Its very rare for any team to retain any trophy but the dream was there! A sad day.

2 games in 3 days is hard for the squad. It raises the question, what is the ideal number for a squad to have enough to cover all season while trying to remember as amateur players, you owe them fairness too? We have used 26plus players in a season, but, we had 19 win the double second half of last season. All the 19 werent too happy though!!

mossy linnane cup

Blarney Street versus Dunbar off tomorrow. lots of talk of dunbar being in trouble??????
    Doug 89 would that be the same colin mckeown in your match report that played with blarney street for last few years.if so nice solid player you got there

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    Blarney Street versus Dunbar off tomorrow. lots of talk of dunbar being in trouble??????
    Doug 89 would that be the same colin mckeown in your match report that played with blarney street for last few years.if so nice solid player you got there
    Yeah, that's the fella, he's living in Grange now and joined us at the start of the season, good honest player in fairness to him, always gives 100%, he was a great addition to us this year.
    We have a big game on Sunday, at home to Casement, we beat them 4-2 at start of the season but they have rocketed up the table since Xmas, I believe a few of the Ballyphehane lads have come on board and made a big difference. Looking forward to it!!! Love this stage of the season when every point really counts...

our loss was your gain.colin is one of those players you can play anywhere and he will always do a job. we switched our games to saturdays last season and this did not suit him so we lost him but glad to see he is still at it.....
    was wondering where the ballyphehane lads had ended up..casement must be strong so... best of luck in that one

Manager Needed

Hi guys,

Only just came across these forums recently and joined up because like ye (from what I've read) I eat, drink and sleep local football. I'm the founding member of Leeview AFC and due to a horrible 5 months this season I came within a couple of days of folding the club. The wheels had well and truly come off the club. Manager didn't have any interest in training or matches, the players were like kids throwing their toys out after every game. We went 4 months without a win so manager left and we lost a few inspirational players.

I decided to try save the club and took over as manager until I could get something else sorted. first game in charge and we beat Grattan B (sorry littleman) followed it with 3 more wins out of 4. We have a very good structure at the club with some good players.We train twice a week in St.Mary's and thankfully the bad apples have left the club.Things look like getting back on track but I'm only 26 and have no interest in retiring until into my 40s.

So if any of ye guys know of anyone with a bit of managerial experience or someone looking to get into managing a team please let me know. I know it's probably too late in the season to get someone in now but if ye know of anyone that might be interested for next season give me a shout.

Riordan.

Firstly Riordan welcome to the forum.things seem very quiet with the rest of the lads at the moment dont know why nobody is not posting... anyway fair play to you for keeping the club afloat we all know how hard it is to keep things running smoothly.being totally honest with you i dont know a whole deal about your club or where ye are based but regardless of any of that no matter what division you are in a club must be run properly and with organisation..
    trying to find a manager that will come in now is probably asking a lot but hey you never know..your best bet is to try and see the season out yourself and once its over put out the feeders for next year..ideally you want someone who is thinking about retiring but also staying involved and i suppose the most important thing is that he will attract a few new players to your club..what about keeping it on yourself..thats a pretty decent return from the 4-5 games you have been the gaffer...anyway best of luck for the rest of season and hopefully you will get someone.. i honestly think once the word goes out you will get a fe w people interested.. a lot of people out there think they can be the new special one so you will more than likely get a few takers..keep us posted

I see Dunbar have pulled out of the 2nd Div, must say I'm surprised, they were going well until mid January and then seemed to nosedive within weeks, pity really...

Riordan, keep the faith brother! It'll work out for ye I'm sure, we know ye well from last season and ye deserve to do well

41 Posts

Back home to the motherland

Sorry lads for the absence from the thread but I had to go back to the motherland with work for the last couple of weeks an every time I tried to use the internet in the hotel all the txt came out in dutch,the joys.

Sorry to hear that another team has folded but I think it is a sign of the times an its goin to become more an more prevelent next season.Prior to this season startin a team was easy enough because lads could get sponsorship easy enough an runnin costs could be handled easy enough,as long as you had 16 players then home games paid for themselves an away games were money in the bank.But as soon as your down to the 11's or 12's then it start to cost ya,an I'd be tellin a lie if I said the 5 euro per yellow wasnt effectin clubs,it is.

Theres a recession goin on an those in charge dont seem to be changin with the times.Football was an always will be a sport to be enjoyed at junior level,not one to be used to make a few bob.If times were different then it might of been a good idea,but its not an they should realise it at the highest level.The AUL/MFA an FAI all have different views on yellow cards an the attached fines.The AUL say the have to impose it ,the MFA say they dont want to impose it because its a pro rule ment for the pro game an when I asked a senior council member about it recently he was quite surprised it was being implemented at junior level.Just goes to show the problems with communication between our supposed governing bodies.

I have seen quite a bit of the AUL commitee over the recent weeks an it got m thinkin,the supposed 5 year plan we are supposed to be workin on is or should be wel underway,but as I read through the Aul document again last night it had all to do with the clubs improving,an nothin to do with the commitee itself being restructured.A new influx of youth is needed on it.Aul people who want to make the Aul better,Horse comes to mind as an ideal person who would be able to add his undoubted enthusiasim an local junior fooball knowledge to the commitee.Thats just my own opinion by the way,an there are quite a few people out there who again IMO would really shake things up in the Aul for the better.

On to the Gratts,I watched the lads play Tue mornin before I flew out an bein honest though the pitch did us no favours but I thought they played really well.We went 1 down to a commited Kanturk but got 4 without reply,an missed a peno before they had a mini fightback.I left with about 15 mins to play thought that was that but from what I was told afterwords the ref had more to do with Kanturks fightback than Kanturk had,it was a comfortable win from what I saw an what I was told later.All in all we played well an its best to lok at the remainder of the season as an oppertuinity to get a bit of pride back an to just enjoy playin again.

The Killer B's have stumbled a bit in recent weeks but it will sort itself out have no fear,startin Sunday mornin.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

71 Posts

Easter Egg for Littleman

Thanks for the compliment, Littleman. That thought has crossed mine and others minds, but at this moment in time, it isnt a goer. As Streetscene put it, I too think I am the special one and would have done UEFA B this year if there was one on in the south. I have coached a schoolboy team for four years just to keep me ticking over. I had to choose a while back between admin & coaching and decided on coaching. I still stand by that call. Blackstone, whilst we are doing ok as a club, still havent grown enough that the same few heads are needed to keep it growing. We all love it and our aim is to make it bigger and better all the time. Another setback to the commitee idea is the wrench of leaving the Rovers - no way Jose!!

Riordan, well done man. Ye are out next to us with Crescent are ye? Maybe we can help you with the problems we have encountered and the lessons learned. You cant do it alone though - you need to spread the load. You will begin to hate it if its 24/7, and what happens then?

Any takers on my optimum squad number question?

We drew 1-1 with Boscos at the weekend. It may have said goodbye to our slim title hopes. Looking forward to a good game against Kinsale at the weekend. A good club, they have always welcomed us down there, and I expect Sunday to be no different. On the field, cup football has thrown up stranger results over the years.

Welcome Riordan and best of luck in your endeavours, In your post you speak from the heart and want to achieve the best you can from yourself and your club.
    I too was faced with the dreaded Managerial role for a year when no one wanted it but as a senior player was kinda forced to step up to the mark. You can't do it on your own( It's just impossible ). You ( more than likely ) need a more senior figure or else some guy who is prepared to take no s**t from the players to get the best out of them. Player/Managers just doesn't cut it in this day and age.

Didn't see Billy's reports this week and our result wasn't on CorkAul.com so here goes just for those that might be in the same boat.
    We beat Dillions Cross 2-0 last Sun. in the Mossie so at least our fixture against Kinsale will ( in my own eyes ) be a quarter final fixture that is us needing a win. As I said before I think playing the League Cup at this stage of the season just suits those still involved in their league or The Aoh.
    Like most teams mid table or worse off realistically we will just try to keep Kinsale to 3goals or less.

Horse , Best of luck Sun but if I was a betting man ( And I am ) I think ye will come up short.

Free weekend this weekend and looking forward to a couple of scoops.

Riordan, welcome to the party... We played ye about 2/3 years ago in a friendly and ye looked a good side, played some nice football. Do some of your players have links to City Wanderers? Or are you from the same area.

Innishvilla had similar situation this year and it is our old manager (whose held the club together thru some hard times) with one of the senior players running the team...

On that front a bad year so far (staring relegation in the face) was brightened up last week with the team qualifying for the semi-finals of the County Cup (first time for the club I think). Does anyone know anything about Watergrasshill's second team? We've drawn them in the semi, the ironic thing is their 1st team is in the other semi...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Friendly info

Riordan as my fellow members have done before me ,welcome on board.The more teams represented on this thread the better.Our Bside played ye a few weeks back an we were unbeaten at home all season an we got hammered on the day.Was well impressed with the players I saw on the day.I only cmae on for the last 20 mins but the damage was done but in fairness ye liked to play ball an in the 3rd division thats the best complement you can give.

Theres no good time to become a manager,especially if you feel your being pressured into it,it can work an its great when it dose but if it dosent then releationships between players an officals within the club can suffer big time an then the club can suffer worse still.So be careful in your selection,an dont be put off by age,Paddy Martin runs a good ship out in Coachford an Derek Power alike with Blarney St,these are guys who could still easily play if they wanted too but have taken the dip into management.Players can spot a bluffer in the dressin room before a ball is even kicked so you want some one who has both a knowledge of the game an a love of it.Players respect knowledge of the game,an understanding of what to do when it goes wrong an how to fix it an I'd say if you took a good long look at your bunch theres one or 2 candidates that you just may not of thought of.Finding a manager is easy,findin the right manager for your club is the hard bit.

My vine swingin friend from the jungle,with regards to Kinsale,if Misters Varian an Macarthy can be kept quiet then on your day ye are just as good as any side in the league.Too many sides travel down to Kinsale beaten already in their own minds.Its 90 mins plus an anything can happen.

Well lads ye seem to be talking us up on here but I doubt the team will be taking anything for granted on sunday....or from now until the end of the season for that matter. An Aoh cup semi in the offing so that's a major carrot for both teams.

Jungle i reckon that's a bit of psychology on your behalf!! We always have good battles and well you know it! There's never more than a goal between us! Dont believe him when he says the aim is to keep the score down!! I think you spoke too soon littleman! Innish we played watergrass hill b last year up in theirs and to be honest they were horrendous. Ref blew up after 55 mins with the score at 7 i think. That was last year tho and to get to the semi they must have changed something. I'd fancy ye tho but again, they got to where they are now so dont go in with the wrong attitude.

See you sunday Horsey!

Streetwise
    again wellcome riordan its good to have new members best of luck in your pursuit of a manager. as littleman said its easy to get a manager but getting the right one is vital and on that subject we consider ourselfs extremley lucky with who we have.some good games around for the weekend interesting ties where anything could happen.rathcoole at home sunday is going to be a very tough game but a game we are really looking forward to it ,the last round we got through but that was all we could take from the game.with whats at stake i think the lads are well up for it and at this stage a bit of luck don t go astray.so hopefullt same result better performance sunday.

41 Posts

Murphys Law

If it can go wrong it will,Bog you may be right,the 2 Dereks may not score but Cherry an Jermey could do damage alright,you never know.

Talking

Littleman - in the not too distant past I also re-read the AUL 5 year plan. The contents of the plan are a step in the right direction but should now be seen as an aspiration more than a plan! As you said the current financial climate will dictate what a lot of clubs can do! The AUL was keen for clubs to amalgamate (something which i dont see happening as clubs dont want to lose their identities - some would rather fold than amalgamate) to reduce the number of teams to increase the quality of facilities etc - this is a great theory in principal but again i just dont see it happening!

Also once upon a time i considered which avenues I wished to pursue in football - i did the refereeing course a few years ago but never refereed a game - I also considered possibly joining the AUL committee but with Shift work felt it may not be possible

I also considered just becoming a spectator!!

Apparently...............

Innish - apparently the way the draw was a few weeks ago it looked like the two Watergrasshill sides should be facing each other! That way the would have been guaranteed at least 1 team in the final

With my previous club we qualified for the semis twice in the last few seasons loosing to Ballincollig on both occasions - Dont envy ye with the two- legged semi final - that unnesecarry game should be got rid of in my opinion as it doesnt exist in its sister trophy the city challenge cup

AOH Cup Results

Blatney St Ath 4-1 Rathcoole Rvs
    Park Utd 0-1 Kanturk
    Knockavilla Celtic 2-3 Glenthorn Celtic
    Kinsale 4-3 Blackstone Rvs
    "Build it and they will come"

poor result for park especially at home
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Leeside vs Grattan

Caught the second half of the Leeside-Grattan game on Sunday. Good win for Grattan, both sides looked like they were missing a few players.
    The great littleman even made an appearance in the second half.
    Not a great game to be honest, Keith Shaw looked by far the best player on the pitch.

Page 49 of 65 FirstFirst ... 39474849505159 ... LastLast